Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Shredded Chicken (Crock Pot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Shredded Chicken (Crock Pot)

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on February 06, 2011

      mmmm this was soooo good!!! I made this for the super bowl and put it on some nachos and they were to die for! Only cooked it for about 6 hours and the chicken just fell apart... using the leftovers on tacos tomorrow night, cant wait!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      Delicious! The recipe didn't specify boneless or bone in but I used boneless,skinless chicken breasts. I was in a hurry so I made this in a dutch oven on the stove and simmered for about 3 hours. I added some diced chipotle peppers for the smokey flavor and it was soooo good! I used this for taco meat but it would be great for burritos, enchiladas or just on it's own.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      Wonderful - used green peppers in place of serrano. Colleagues saw this in the printer and everyone took a copy home - they won't be disappointed. Super easy with nearly no prep time at all. Also had half an onion that went in with a little lime juice too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2012

      Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      This was delicious in the enchiladas I made! I had to eliminate the peppers because we have a toddler, but it was still great flavour!! Only had to cook for 5 hours on low. Used 2 lg chicken breast, 1.5 cups salsa, and 3 cloves of garlic and 1 tbsp of my homemade taco seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      I HIGHLY recommend this recipe! It's so very easy and turns out great! After the chicken is done cooking, I take it out and shred it. I reserve some of the juice and use it to make rice. Put the shredded chicken in the rest of the juice to finish cooking. Now you have flavorful chicken that you can put in enchiladas, tamales, quesadillas, on top of Mexican pizza, or whatever else you might need! Such a versatile recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      This is so awesome. We made a ton and I think it is all we ate for 3 days which was fine with us. If you make this, don't forget to add the following to the burritos after they are done: sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, chopped tomatoes, Mexican rice, shredded lettuce, and refried beans. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

    • on April 26, 2010

    • on February 16, 2010

      Every couple months I get to cook for about 10-15 guys... this recipe by far has been the easiest prep and one of the best tasting meals that I've cooked in bulk. Thanks for sharing - 5 stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      5 stars! Technically I "kinda" made to recipe. I DID NOT add anything new/diferent but it was made for a party and the salsa I happened to use was rather "hot" for a crowd so I did not add the peppers. Also the cloves of garlic I used were large cloves so I added only 3. In my crockpot, the chicken could be shredded after 4 hours on low but I shredded it and just let it marinate in the juices for a couple of hours then reheated it prior to the party. Wonderful, excellent recipe. One just needs to have some common sense regarding "making it to your preference" and knowledge of your crockpot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This recipe is one of those rare finds that combine ease, taste on-hand ingredients, and many use possibilities. I plan to double the recipe next time and freeze in dinner portions. Awesome served on cheese hoagies with lots of Mexican condiments. Yum! Thank you ever so much for posting this KEEPER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Yum! This is really good. Just put it in the Crock Pot and forget it. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      excellent recipe! made as written! used pace salsa instead of 505. thanks for posting this easy, flavorful keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      This is really good and easy! My freezer and fridge went so I've been a cooking machine. I used 6 chicken breasts and I always have jalapenos so that's what I used (all the seeds included). I set my pot for 10 hours and checked it at 5 hours. It was way done, already falling apart. I shredded it and added ck broth to be sure it would soak up nicely. I saved some of this and froze most of it. I threw some of this on a tortilla with cheese for a quick lunch. Very flavorful without adding any other condiments!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This was very good although I will cut the cooking time to maybe 7hrs. when I make it again. It was a little burnt by the the time I got home. Thank you Denver chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      This is amazing! One of the best recipes I have tried from here! Hubby & I both really loved it. It was so quick and simple to make, but came out as a falvour packed, impressive dish. We served it with rice last night, and will be using it to make Leftover Chicken Enchiladas for dinner tonight. Great recipe, and one we will be using a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      this is such an easy and make ahead kind of recipe... right up my alley!!! i love how the chicken just pulls apart with two forks... packed with flavor too!!!! great recipe for a family on the go.... thank you so much!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This was incredibly easy and had great flavor. There's only two people in my house, so I judge a crock pot recipe by how much is left to freeze after we get tired of eating the same thing - there was nothing left of this recipe! It will become a new staple at my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2008

      Excellent flavor, don't be afraid to use the serrano peppers. Used to make tacos and kids loved it (so did my mom)! I used a whole fryer with the mentioned ingredients and didn't have the need to add any additional ingredients

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Shredded Chicken (Crock Pot)

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 265.4
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    47%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 96.8 mg
    32%
    Sodium 96.0 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 31.7 g
    63%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    medium hot salsa

    taco seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites