33 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

mmmm this was soooo good!!! I made this for the super bowl and put it on some nachos and they were to die for! Only cooked it for about 6 hours and the chicken just fell apart... using the leftovers on tacos tomorrow night, cant wait!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mystic2827 February 06, 2011

Delicious! The recipe didn't specify boneless or bone in but I used boneless,skinless chicken breasts. I was in a hurry so I made this in a dutch oven on the stove and simmered for about 3 hours. I added some diced chipotle peppers for the smokey flavor and it was soooo good! I used this for taco meat but it would be great for burritos, enchiladas or just on it's own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovestocook #6 May 20, 2013

Wonderful - used green peppers in place of serrano. Colleagues saw this in the printer and everyone took a copy home - they won't be disappointed. Super easy with nearly no prep time at all. Also had half an onion that went in with a little lime juice too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI May 04, 2013

Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
priscilla2012 May 21, 2012

This was delicious in the enchiladas I made! I had to eliminate the peppers because we have a toddler, but it was still great flavour!! Only had to cook for 5 hours on low. Used 2 lg chicken breast, 1.5 cups salsa, and 3 cloves of garlic and 1 tbsp of my homemade taco seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u March 11, 2012

I HIGHLY recommend this recipe! It's so very easy and turns out great! After the chicken is done cooking, I take it out and shred it. I reserve some of the juice and use it to make rice. Put the shredded chicken in the rest of the juice to finish cooking. Now you have flavorful chicken that you can put in enchiladas, tamales, quesadillas, on top of Mexican pizza, or whatever else you might need! Such a versatile recipe! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laup547 February 09, 2012

This is so awesome. We made a ton and I think it is all we ate for 3 days which was fine with us. If you make this, don't forget to add the following to the burritos after they are done: sour cream, shredded cheddar cheese, chopped tomatoes, Mexican rice, shredded lettuce, and refried beans. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittynoises December 16, 2011

Every couple months I get to cook for about 10-15 guys... this recipe by far has been the easiest prep and one of the best tasting meals that I've cooked in bulk. Thanks for sharing - 5 stars!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nathan.ziehnert February 16, 2010
The Best Shredded Chicken (Crock Pot)