Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Sangria Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Sangria

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2003

      This is some pretty potent stuff!! Very pretty to serve in a glass pitcher. After the first glass I cut it down with some seltzer and 7 up to make a kind of sangria spritzer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      I was somewhat surprised at the other reviews. Maybe what these people were looking for was a wine cooler rather than sangria. This was excellent. We served it at a cocktail party with rave reviews. Obviously it is strong, being basically only wine and triple sec with some fruit thrown in. If you are looking for sangria look here, if you are looking for a wine cooler, go to the grocery store!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      I made this after visiting the America's Test Kitchen site. The sangria turned out to be very strong, even after sitting for six hours. I guess I prefer a more diluted sangria. I ended up diluting the mixture with orange juice and sprite. I also didn't care for the lemon slices (maybe I wasn't supposed to eat them?) They were too tart, even after floating in the wine for a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This is the best recipe! Now this is what I am requested to bring to any party. I usually squeeze a lemon with the orange, and try to make it the day before I need it because the longer it sits the better! I made a quadruple batch for my housewarming party tonight!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      This is the recipe I've been using for a long time now....it's a great way to use up that bottle of wine that you opened but didn't really like the flavor of. Tastes even better the next day!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      Wonderful! I didn't have any triple sec so I substituted brandy. I had the first glass after it had chilled for about 3 hours, and it was good. The next glass was a couple of hours later, and it was even better. We will definitely make this again and again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2003

      Excellent. A fast recipe with a great taste. Strong enough, but hey it is Sangria. It drew raves from my guests Edward (chef)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2014

      I made this (doubled it!) for a recent family gathering and there wasn't a drop left! Great recipe! Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2014

      I thought this was an excellent sangria and my dinner party guests agreed. For me it was the perfect potency - I added a couple cups of ice to the pitcher so as they melted it also would have mellowed the alcohol content. I managed to fit a double recipe in a big pitcher. I will make this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      I'm giving this five stars because it got devoured when I took it to a small get together (I think the host drank at least half of this by himself!). I doubled the recipe and then added another bottle of wine (we used cabernets...two bottles of 3 Blind Moose). I also added a couple handfuls of cherries and 7 key limes cut in half in addition to the oranges and lemons. It sat for roughly six hours before serving. I thought the flavor was nicely balanced and I really enjoyed it and I got a lot of compliments!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      This literally is the best sangria - especially on hot summer nights. I love how versatile this recipe can be - you can make it with red wine or champagne, and pretty much any fruit combination works (but my favorite is the citrus listed as is). Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      Had the neighbors join us for a MOST quiet Fourth - fixed this with Peach Brandy (no Triple Sec available on the holiday), added some sliced peaches to the goblets. The 4 of us polished it off in short order, everyone exclaimed "What a shame!", when it was gone -- but we continued with another bottle of Zin with dinner, so they were worried about Tai Chi in the morning - but we all enjoyed the summer drink on a hot, humid evening. Thanks for posting, G.W.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2007

      This was just wonderful! We had company for the weekend and ended up making two batches. I used the lemon, cherries and nectarines. We even ate all of the fruit! This is something I have always wanted to try and thanks to you I did. Anxiously awaiting the next batch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      Yum!! It's definitely got a kick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2004

      This was my 1st attempt at Sangria and we all loved it! I used a red table wine and added some sliced green apples in addition to the oranges and lemons. I picked this recipe because I've never had a Sangria that had soda in it so this seemed like the right mix for us. It sat in the fridge for about 7 hours before serving and I forgot the ice cubes - not needed. I made a point to scoop some of the fruit into each of the glasses for a nice presentation. We found our winner here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2004

      We've made this several times now - it really is a terrific recipe. It's refreshing and is a nice change of pace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2004

      This really is the best Sangria. It has the perfect balance of sweetness and fruitiness. It is potent and refreshing. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2004

      Great and Refreshing, not as strong as others say. Would make again, we used a cheap table wine with it and turned out well. We couldn't resist and dove in after an hour of making, still good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2003

      Wow! Strong yes, excellent definitly. The guests loved it, it was surprisingly strong but not overearing. Creating a winning recipe. Alos, if you would rather have a more bubly light taste, throw about 1 cup 1/2 in there, it tastes great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Sangria

    Serving Size: 1 (309 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    75%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 22.2 g
    88%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    triple sec

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes