19 Reviews

This is some pretty potent stuff!! Very pretty to serve in a glass pitcher. After the first glass I cut it down with some seltzer and 7 up to make a kind of sangria spritzer.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 June 24, 2003

I was somewhat surprised at the other reviews. Maybe what these people were looking for was a wine cooler rather than sangria. This was excellent. We served it at a cocktail party with rave reviews. Obviously it is strong, being basically only wine and triple sec with some fruit thrown in. If you are looking for sangria look here, if you are looking for a wine cooler, go to the grocery store!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trixiecat July 01, 2003

I made this after visiting the America's Test Kitchen site. The sangria turned out to be very strong, even after sitting for six hours. I guess I prefer a more diluted sangria. I ended up diluting the mixture with orange juice and sprite. I also didn't care for the lemon slices (maybe I wasn't supposed to eat them?) They were too tart, even after floating in the wine for a long time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas June 27, 2003

This is the best recipe! Now this is what I am requested to bring to any party. I usually squeeze a lemon with the orange, and try to make it the day before I need it because the longer it sits the better! I made a quadruple batch for my housewarming party tonight!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Hey February 08, 2008

This is the recipe I've been using for a long time now....it's a great way to use up that bottle of wine that you opened but didn't really like the flavor of. Tastes even better the next day!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn February 22, 2007

Wonderful! I didn't have any triple sec so I substituted brandy. I had the first glass after it had chilled for about 3 hours, and it was good. The next glass was a couple of hours later, and it was even better. We will definitely make this again and again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC June 09, 2006

Excellent. A fast recipe with a great taste. Strong enough, but hey it is Sangria. It drew raves from my guests Edward (chef)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ted Kissick July 04, 2003

I made this (doubled it!) for a recent family gathering and there wasn't a drop left! Great recipe! Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shoppond August 13, 2014

I thought this was an excellent sangria and my dinner party guests agreed. For me it was the perfect potency - I added a couple cups of ice to the pitcher so as they melted it also would have mellowed the alcohol content. I managed to fit a double recipe in a big pitcher. I will make this again for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
harpchick July 14, 2014

I'm giving this five stars because it got devoured when I took it to a small get together (I think the host drank at least half of this by himself!). I doubled the recipe and then added another bottle of wine (we used cabernets...two bottles of 3 Blind Moose). I also added a couple handfuls of cherries and 7 key limes cut in half in addition to the oranges and lemons. It sat for roughly six hours before serving. I thought the flavor was nicely balanced and I really enjoyed it and I got a lot of compliments!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
darthlaurie June 14, 2010
The Best Sangria