25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I don't care for chunky salsa. I love the salsa you get at Mexican Resturants. This is the perfect salsa. I love to fry my chips and make this salsa! That is a perfect combo for company also!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
don.arnold May 12, 2010

Yum! My restaurant style loving 15yo chowed this down. Snooze ya lose! We added a dab of honey (a scant 1/2 t. or less) and that took this over the top! Thank you for sharing this recipe as now I will always have enough for the breakfast tacos everyone loves. In the past I had to share my lil tubs that you get at the breakfast taco place -- not any more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn March 31, 2010

This is a great base recipe for salsa. We've tweaked it a bit to our liking --following the recipe but also adding some fresh cilantro, a bit of oregano, some green onions or grated fresh onion, lime juice, a bit of sugar. We haven't purchased bottled salsa since discovering this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CA.TN August 16, 2009

My go to salsa! So easy - takes two minutes to make. I share the author's frustration with jarred salsa and now only make it at home. I do add a couple tbs of chopped onion and some sprigs of cilantro if I have it handy to up the freshness. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fatnice May 02, 2009

WOW!!! I was a bit hesitant to use this recipe due to the fact that it does not use any "fresh" ingredients, although it seemed extremely easy so I went for it and boy am I glad I did! It tastes amazingly authentic like the salsa you would get at your neighborhood Mexican resturaunt. This salsa tastes fresh and AMAZING. I varied the recipe slightly and did what a previous reviewer did--I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalepenos and one with green chilis, put it in the blender, added chopped onion and garlic powder. mmmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
944889 September 04, 2008

thats an insane amount of sodium written in the nutrition facts. using canned tomato and pickled jalapenos AND adding extra salt?! please be careful! if we go throug the trouble of making homemade salsa thye might as well be healthy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purplekuntfairey March 09, 2008

Wonderful recipe, best so far.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cmk_381 January 12, 2008

This is similar to a recipe I already use except I use chopped red onions as well. Instead of garlic powder, I use fresh chopped garlic (sometimes minced or crushed depending on my mood). I like to add fresh herbs from the garden if I don't have cilantro. This time I used three types of basil, chives and thyme which were available. Since I didn't have jalapeno peppers, I substituted sweet Thai chili sauce which adds a nice sweet, hot flavour to the salsa. Overall, a very delicious salsa which is quick to make and much tastier than store-bought. (A food processor makes it extra speedy or I like to use my handy 'Pampered Chef' chopper)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fiji Haze August 01, 2007

saw this in the "new reviews" and just knew I had to try it.. very glad I did..am AMAZED that just a few simple ingredients give such a great flavor...I'm sure I'll be making this again..once you've made this it is so easy the recipe will stay with you and if you have unexpected guest pop in you can whip this up in a flash..thanks for sharing this recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gruntlady July 07, 2007

Excellent!! Im not sure my canned tomatoes were the best choice for this, but it will be easily taken care of by using some fresh cilantro next time to perk it up. I will not buy store bought salsa again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarraMamba July 06, 2007
The Best Restaurant Salsa Made at Home