25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My first job was in a Mexican restaurant. I was the only American and the only girl - best job I've ever had. This is just how we made it, only with a little dried oregano. Love it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinnamon Turtle April 17, 2011

I wish you would have posted the actual recipe they posted on the wall.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cook time May 08, 2010

Excellent!! However, I did add about 1/2 a red onion, 1 tbsp plus of cilantro(fresh), and about a clove or more of garlic, plus a 1/2 of fresh tomato.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki S June 27, 2009

Perfect! Except instead of crushed tomatoes I used a salmon filet. And I broiled it in the oven with olive oil, salt and pepper. And I didn't do anything else in the recipe. WHAT A PERFECT RECIPE.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Si K. April 24, 2014

I, too, have come to loathe jarred salsa. I had taken to making my own, but the chopping, slicing, peeling, roasting, etc., was becoming more than I could take. This recipe is the best. Liker other reviewers, I added red onion, cilantro, and minced garlic and adjusted the salt to suit my taste. Note the the reviewer who commented on the "insane" amount of sodium, I probably quadrupled the recommended amount and I'm still alive. Perhaps my palate prefers the spicier, but I used 30 "rings" plus juice from the jar in the batch, and it is absolutely perfect. Thank you, Aggiezoey. This is a lifesaver.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Pallack August 07, 2012

Delicious! I used a half of the can of crushed tomatoes, a can of Rotel with green chilis, fresh jalapenos and garlic (minced), some chopped cilantro and also some red and green onions chopped. I also added a little oregano, a pinch of sugar and some lime juice. DH loved the consistency and this will definately go into our recipe box! Made for Let's PARTY 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf December 06, 2011

This is terrific! I consider myself picky about salsa and I loved this. As others have said, it's hard to believe something so good is so easy, and made from such simple ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annheim September 23, 2011

Soooo yummy and on point. I'm a mild fan and I don't care for salt that much and even I had to use a great deal more salt and jalapeno rings (maybe 3 or 4 cranks of the salt grinder maybe 3 or 4 more times after the initial salt was added, tasting between, and between 10-15 jalapeno rings total), than were suggested, to get the right taste and heat (w/ 4 good sized tomatoes and 1/2 tsp garlic powder) but when I got it there it was the best I've ever made. You are right, the juice for the pickeled jalepeno jar is what makes it. Don't leave it out!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissGiddy September 09, 2011

This really is just like a restaurant salsa. Smooth and not chunky. I made it just like the recipe said to except used minced garlic from a jar instead of garlic powder. Thought it would be better. I combined all ingredients and run it through the blender to chop the jalapenos and garlic. I didn't add anything suggested by other reviewers but might later. Great just the way it is.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barbacious April 20, 2011

Aggiezoey! AMAZING!!!! I tried the recipe as you wrote it and it was fantastic! I did go ahead and add cilantro and chopped onion, simply because we prefer it. Either way, this is now my all time favorite, and it's now our go-to recipe for salsa. I still can't believe this few ingredients can taste so good, and so much like an actual restaurant salsa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3doxiesmom April 05, 2011
The Best Restaurant Salsa Made at Home