Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Restaurant Salsa Made at Home Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Restaurant Salsa Made at Home

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2011

      My first job was in a Mexican restaurant. I was the only American and the only girl - best job I've ever had. This is just how we made it, only with a little dried oregano. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      I wish you would have posted the actual recipe they posted on the wall.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Excellent!! However, I did add about 1/2 a red onion, 1 tbsp plus of cilantro(fresh), and about a clove or more of garlic, plus a 1/2 of fresh tomato.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2014

      Perfect! Except instead of crushed tomatoes I used a salmon filet. And I broiled it in the oven with olive oil, salt and pepper. And I didn't do anything else in the recipe. WHAT A PERFECT RECIPE.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2012

      I, too, have come to loathe jarred salsa. I had taken to making my own, but the chopping, slicing, peeling, roasting, etc., was becoming more than I could take. This recipe is the best. Liker other reviewers, I added red onion, cilantro, and minced garlic and adjusted the salt to suit my taste. Note the the reviewer who commented on the "insane" amount of sodium, I probably quadrupled the recommended amount and I'm still alive. Perhaps my palate prefers the spicier, but I used 30 "rings" plus juice from the jar in the batch, and it is absolutely perfect. Thank you, Aggiezoey. This is a lifesaver.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2011

      Delicious! I used a half of the can of crushed tomatoes, a can of Rotel with green chilis, fresh jalapenos and garlic (minced), some chopped cilantro and also some red and green onions chopped. I also added a little oregano, a pinch of sugar and some lime juice. DH loved the consistency and this will definately go into our recipe box! Made for Let's PARTY 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2011

      This is terrific! I consider myself picky about salsa and I loved this. As others have said, it's hard to believe something so good is so easy, and made from such simple ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      Soooo yummy and on point. I'm a mild fan and I don't care for salt that much and even I had to use a great deal more salt and jalapeno rings (maybe 3 or 4 cranks of the salt grinder maybe 3 or 4 more times after the initial salt was added, tasting between, and between 10-15 jalapeno rings total), than were suggested, to get the right taste and heat (w/ 4 good sized tomatoes and 1/2 tsp garlic powder) but when I got it there it was the best I've ever made. You are right, the juice for the pickeled jalepeno jar is what makes it. Don't leave it out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      This really is just like a restaurant salsa. Smooth and not chunky. I made it just like the recipe said to except used minced garlic from a jar instead of garlic powder. Thought it would be better. I combined all ingredients and run it through the blender to chop the jalapenos and garlic. I didn't add anything suggested by other reviewers but might later. Great just the way it is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      Aggiezoey! AMAZING!!!! I tried the recipe as you wrote it and it was fantastic! I did go ahead and add cilantro and chopped onion, simply because we prefer it. Either way, this is now my all time favorite, and it's now our go-to recipe for salsa. I still can't believe this few ingredients can taste so good, and so much like an actual restaurant salsa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      I don't care for chunky salsa. I love the salsa you get at Mexican Resturants. This is the perfect salsa. I love to fry my chips and make this salsa! That is a perfect combo for company also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      Yum! My restaurant style loving 15yo chowed this down. Snooze ya lose! We added a dab of honey (a scant 1/2 t. or less) and that took this over the top! Thank you for sharing this recipe as now I will always have enough for the breakfast tacos everyone loves. In the past I had to share my lil tubs that you get at the breakfast taco place -- not any more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      This is a great base recipe for salsa. We've tweaked it a bit to our liking --following the recipe but also adding some fresh cilantro, a bit of oregano, some green onions or grated fresh onion, lime juice, a bit of sugar. We haven't purchased bottled salsa since discovering this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

      My go to salsa! So easy - takes two minutes to make. I share the author's frustration with jarred salsa and now only make it at home. I do add a couple tbs of chopped onion and some sprigs of cilantro if I have it handy to up the freshness. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2008

      WOW!!! I was a bit hesitant to use this recipe due to the fact that it does not use any "fresh" ingredients, although it seemed extremely easy so I went for it and boy am I glad I did! It tastes amazingly authentic like the salsa you would get at your neighborhood Mexican resturaunt. This salsa tastes fresh and AMAZING. I varied the recipe slightly and did what a previous reviewer did--I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalepenos and one with green chilis, put it in the blender, added chopped onion and garlic powder. mmmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      thats an insane amount of sodium written in the nutrition facts. using canned tomato and pickled jalapenos AND adding extra salt?! please be careful! if we go throug the trouble of making homemade salsa thye might as well be healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Wonderful recipe, best so far.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This is similar to a recipe I already use except I use chopped red onions as well. Instead of garlic powder, I use fresh chopped garlic (sometimes minced or crushed depending on my mood). I like to add fresh herbs from the garden if I don't have cilantro. This time I used three types of basil, chives and thyme which were available. Since I didn't have jalapeno peppers, I substituted sweet Thai chili sauce which adds a nice sweet, hot flavour to the salsa. Overall, a very delicious salsa which is quick to make and much tastier than store-bought. (A food processor makes it extra speedy or I like to use my handy 'Pampered Chef' chopper)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      saw this in the "new reviews" and just knew I had to try it.. very glad I did..am AMAZED that just a few simple ingredients give such a great flavor...I'm sure I'll be making this again..once you've made this it is so easy the recipe will stay with you and if you have unexpected guest pop in you can whip this up in a flash..thanks for sharing this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      Excellent!! Im not sure my canned tomatoes were the best choice for this, but it will be easily taken care of by using some fresh cilantro next time to perk it up. I will not buy store bought salsa again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Restaurant Salsa Made at Home

    Serving Size: 1 (801 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 257.3
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    86%
    Total Fat 2.2 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2256.6 mg
    94%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.5 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 15.2 g
    60%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 13.1 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes