9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup was completely delicious!! I also sprinkled a bit of ground pepper and cheddar cheese on top for an extra bonus. My 3-year-old daughter, who never eats anything but peanut butter sandwiches, ate it up and asked for more! My ONLY concern was that i think i was expecting something a little thicker or creamier. Which is okay because it definitely wasn't too heavy, just not what i was expecting. Nevertheless, great recipe, i'll be making it again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Posaly August 12, 2009

Good soup....Filling without being heavy....Will make this many more times...Thank You!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Deb July 10, 2009

Rave reviews for this. It is quite heavy, perfect for winter, it will stick to your bones.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
glamorouslife02 April 01, 2009

A very good soup that needed only a grinding of fresh black pepper. I don't think the pot will make it to the second day either, I'm a soup fanatic! Made for New Kids on the Block, a tag game.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive February 25, 2009

Can I tell you how much my husband and I love this recipe? Since I have a hard time following most recipes to the letter (lol), I have tweaked the original with: adding a small amount of whole kernel corn, frozen hash browns, and using the hottest roll sausage I can find. Oh, I've done this with leek and onion with rave reviews!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhogaines November 02, 2014

Used beef bouillon and it gave the stew a nice meaty flavor. We added some lemon and pepper at the table. I think if you added the celery in the last 10 minutes you could give the soup a little "tooth"; topping it with something like parsley would also give it some differential in texture too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito February 25, 2014

Yum! We really enjoyed this soup. I halved the recipe for 2 of us and used Jimmy Dean hot sausage, homemade hash browns out of the freezer, and lots of pepper. I started out with 3 cups of water and added a little more - maybe 1/2 cup during the simmering. It turned out to be a nice thick soup - the way I like it. I wasn't sure if my grandson would like it because of the cabbage, but I no longer get to try it on day 2. He scarfed it all down. lol. Thanks Dantana for a nice keeper on a sunny but chilly day. It really hit the spot. Made for PRMR tag.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme November 26, 2013

This ia Good with Buttermilk Cornbread and Honey Butter, we like it a lot! I'll be making it again! A LOT! ....Grpa Thank You

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHEF GRPA November 23, 2013

some black pepper, and I was hooked. Oh, and a bit of grated cheddar on top was also nice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamtoddicus March 15, 2009
The Best Potato-Sausage-Cabbage Soup