Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Pan-Fried Tofu Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Pan-Fried Tofu

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on October 09, 2013

      yes people, drain tofo first ...under towels... put weight on top...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2013

      I LOVE this tofu! Made with peanut oil but will try olive oil next time. It was crispy on the outside which I have had trouble doing with tofu in the past. I ate with Potsticker Gyoza dipping sauce and also mixed into a quinoa and lettuce salad with cucumbers, carrots and grapes, delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      on frying tofu...the directions should warn you of the hazard of not draining tofu completely! I drained mine extensively on many changed layers of paper towels. Still I had a LOT of splashing of hot oil from the moisture that remained in the tofu. It did get beautifully crispy but please be sure that the tofu is as dry as it can be!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      These were very good. On half, I used olive oil and seasoned them with a sprinkle of sugar and seasoned salt. On the other half, I seasoned them with a nutritional yeast coating. Both fried up very crispy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2014

      This was delicious, crispy on sides and soft in the middle. I added some Mixed Garlic Spice I had instead of the cayenne. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      Great recipe for crispy, nicely browned tofu. We cut it into smaller pieces after browning and put it in an Asian-style slaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Nice base recipe. The tofu was crispy as promised.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      YUMMY. Perfect low carb snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      It works...soft AND crispy. 'Nuff said!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

      What a fantastic technique for frying tofu!! So simple and yet so effective!! I have pan fried tofu for years, but never went to the trouble of "pressing" the tofu. It makes a huge difference. I wanted tofu to put into a Lo Mein dish and this worked out perfectly! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      I love baked tofu but wanted a change. I tried this recipe with canola, then peanut oil. Way too fattening/oily for me. If I am going to fry something would rather fry a fresh vegetable. Flavor was ok with ketchup, better with a little red miso. If you eat tofu because you are trying to be healthier like me, you may want to try baking the tofu. I would rather eat some fresh french fries if I am going to splurge with my ketchup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

    • on January 17, 2010

      I used TexJoy seasoning (if you can't get this in your area, you can try Tony Chachere's) and it tasted like fried catfish! Yummy!!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Very good! Crisp and yummy. We served them with sweet and sour sauce recipe 76003, some seared pineapple chunks, and steamed broccoli.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Perfect. Crispy not chewy! Used some extra firm tofu that I froze, thawed, then squeezed between 2 plates with a weight on top for about 30 minutes. Really made a good texture. I like that this was not seasoned. The tofu haters were not turned off by taste or texture. Cut the block in half so I had two slabs the same size as they originally were just thinner. Then cut them into strips about 1/2 inch wide so they resembled large french fries or skinny chicken strips. Then we had several sauces they could be dipped in. Hoisin, Sweet & Spicy Sauce, BBQ sauce and the old stand by, ketchup. Great directions. Very clear and easily understandable! Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      This was great! I used olive oil (because of my allergies) and added basil and garlic. Then, I topped the finished product with feta cheese and let it get just a bit soft before eating. Starting with the extra firm tofu made it a very quick and easy dinner. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      Everything was great! We tried frying it in little cubes first, which came out like tofu croutons. They were great on our salad! Then, we tried making them as suggested, and they were also very good, but not as crispy. Next time, I will use olive oil instead of canola (which splattered all over the kitchen and wasn't as flavorful), and experiment with different herbs and spices (they were a little bland for my taste). Thank you for this delicious base recipe! ~ For PAC 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      Came out perfect! (I used a cast iron pan)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2007

      I wasn't sure how hot to set the burner. I think this will be a five star recipe once I get the heat figured out. Crispy, subtly spiced. This is how to get that wonderful crisp firm tofu we all love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Pan-Fried Tofu

    Serving Size: 1 (119 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 251.7
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    71%
    Total Fat 19.9 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 27.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 18.5 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites