Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best One-Bowl Hash Brown Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best One-Bowl Hash Brown Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2009

      This was pretty good. I cut it in half, used lowfat ingredients, and added a handful of sliced mushrooms. It needed a bit more spice - and I think less potatoes. Maybe my proportions were off? I will keep playing with this recipe -it's a great jumping off point! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      Yummmmy! Tastes even better the next day. Would recommend the cheese topping. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      Great side dish for company and we loved eating the leftovers with eggs for breakfast the next day. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2009

      What could be easier than this! These potatoes are fantastic! So easy to put together, and absolutely delicious! I added a can of sliced mushrooms and about 1 cup of frozen peas. I love the added flavor of the parmesan cheese - I used fresh grated. Just wonderful! Thank you for another winner! Yummy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Wow! This was the hit of my Mother's Day brunch. I had to print out the recipe for them right then and there. I used chunk style hash browns (not potatoes o'brien) I used cream of cheddar soup since I was out of mushroom soup, and I used a pre-shredded mix of cheddar and jack. I used half and half instead of milk. We will be making this on a regular basis, but I plan to try it as written. What a great recipe. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      I made this for Easter this year to go with the ham, it was fantastic! Doubled the recipe, baked as directed but left off the cheese. Reheated the day of after topping with some sliced green onion and the cheddar cheese. It wasn't as creamy as I would have liked, thanks to the potatoes soaking up a lot of the moisture, but was still soooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2009

      I was looking for the recipe for Cracker Barrels Hashbrown casserole recipe, but this is better than Cracker Barrels ! You can always trust a good recipe from Kittencal ! Thank you Kittencal : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2009

      Thanks Kitten! I have made this twice. The 1st time I followed recipe exactly, the second time I reduced the garlic powder by half. I think our family liked it better with less garlic powder. It's a great recipe. Easy to make. I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Fantastic! We loved, loved, LOVED this. It went together super fast which was great. I served this for Easter Brunch and we loved it so much I served it for my luncheon bookclub the next day. I served it with: #223393, #59635, #41264, and a simple fruit salad. Wonderful recipe. Next time I'll double it to make sure we have leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      I'm rating it a 4 because: too oniony for us... we like a light onion flavor, this was too much onion. Too much going on in this one, as far as flavors go... a lot of spice. Also was a little looser than we would have liked, I think we'll leave some of the milk out next time. Other than that, after tweeking some, I'm sure we'll have it again. Not too bad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      I made this for a BBQ side dish and it went SO FAST!! I'll definitely be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This was very good. I had to cook it longer because the potatoes and the onions were too crunchy. My kids ate it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      I tried this at home and my husband loved it so much he served it in his restaurant to rave reviews. The only change I made (and it is rare I only make one change as I never have been able to follow directions ; ) is to omit the onions. My husband also omitted the onions because he liked my version so much and used home made cream of mushroom soup. We also discovered that it is MUCH better if you cook it the day before and top it with some shredded cheddar cheese when you reheat it. Bottom line, this is the BEST Hashbrown Casserole out there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Excellent. Great make ahead casserole and easily doubled for a crowd. Served at family party with spiral ham and corn souffle. Excellent. Have given out the recipe 3 times already ! Another winnter by Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I am giving this 5 stars because I personally loved it. For a large gathering it might be a little too heavy on the onion so if I take it somewhere I will most likely do either the green onion or the diced and not both. I also used re-hydrated hash browns, which made this very economical. I will most certainly make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      Tasted great! Used it for a side dish on Easter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      A good recipe test is how fast it goes at a potluck...well this one was gone, fast - with lots of compliments. Very good. I used 3 fresh garlic cloves minced fine instead of the garlic powder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Another Kittencal winner! We made this without the added cheddar topping, and it didn't seem to need anything. DD14 wants me to try the variant with chicken soup and leave out the onion. Scrumptious! Made for Zaar Stars 2/08.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      Kittencal came through for me again. As usual a wonderful tasty easy recipe. Made a couple of changes using half and half instead of milk and ommited the butter. And sprinkled with crushed potato chips. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I am bringing in the New Year with Kitz' Hash Brown Casserole and oh if the rest of the recipes taste like this the rest of the year; what a lucky family we are. I made this exactly as written, (although I am sure you can lighten this up) because we were having a nice get together for a late lunch. I did make it all in one bowl, and added some special artisan cheddar with some sliced green onions on top. Oh yes, the only other small change was using frozen tater tots, instead of hash browns. Truly a yum-O sensation, and will continue to make this a lot! :D Thanks, kitz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best One-Bowl Hash Brown Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 563.8
     
    Calories from Fat 359
    63%
    Total Fat 39.9 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 21.0 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 703.5 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites