49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

GREAT recipe. Made for a church brunch and it was the first dish gone. I omitted onions. Topped with about 1 cup of cheddar jack cheese (that's all I had). Such good flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NancyB November 13, 2011

Loved by everyone on Easter Sunday! The only thing I'd change for next time is pull back a bit on the seasoning salt and sub in regular salt. (A funny note: my son asked what the "little white round things" were in the potatoes..the white parts of the green onions...I gasped and said "So that's where all my tiny rubber bands went!")

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick April 25, 2011

Love this recipe. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 May 30, 2010

Great recipe! However, I shred my own potatoes with a coarse shredder and soak them in water first to remove the starch. I also sometimes use a Velveeta cheese sauce instead of cheddar - omitting the cream of mushroom soup. Comes out a bit more creamy. Also, as I always do, I sub out the sour cream for plain Greek yogurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
commercesd May 12, 2014

A perfect, comforting and creamy casserole that goes with just about anything. Super easy to make with not many ingredients to gather makes this one of those dishes that get so many compliments - people think you slaved in the kitchen, it's that good!! I did double the recipe (twin 16 yr old boys with hearty appetites!) using frozen cubed potatoes, but added an additional can of cheddar cheese soup with the 2 cans of cream of mushroom since I was out of milk. I also sautéed sweet onions with 4 or 5 cloves of minced garlic before mixing it all together since we are garlic freaks.<br/><br/> Absolutely awesome recipe that lends itself well to changing things up a bit due to preferences or not having listed items.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Enchntress January 29, 2014

Kittencal, Have come to the decision, when I see your name.....I already know, I can count on the recipe. it's pretty bad, when my family says "is Kittencal cooking today"?<br/><br/> The first time I made these, I forgot the butter, and only had frozen French fries in the house...it was yummy! great recipe for brunch, pot lucks and Christmas Morning. The only thing I. Have changed, is I use cooking spray instead of butter and I add in bacon bits (forgot the brand I use, I. Buy them from Costco, they taste like fresh cooked bacon, and cuts down on the fat). thank you again, for visiting my kitchen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis December 29, 2013

This was wonderful ! I used chicken soup and omitted any extra salt,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDebs October 31, 2013

FANTASTIC recipe! changed it just a tad, added bacon bits probably a bit more cheese, cut the butter in half (based on other reviews) and only used the green onion. OH! the smells coming out of the oven :) Hubby absolutely loved it. Next time going to try to bake in cupcake tin and freeze individually for future weekday breakfast. Will update with results. Thanks again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slynnk82 September 14, 2013

Kittencal, I love your recipes, but this is the first one that I really didn't care for. It turned out really greasy and salty, and although the overall flavor of it was good, I just couldn't eat more than a spoon (shame, since there's now a whole pan of it). My husband liked it, though, so I split the difference and went with 3 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KVasanth February 04, 2013
The Best One-Bowl Hash Brown Potato Casserole