Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best One-Bowl Hash Brown Potato Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best One-Bowl Hash Brown Potato Casserole

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2011

      GREAT recipe. Made for a church brunch and it was the first dish gone. I omitted onions. Topped with about 1 cup of cheddar jack cheese (that's all I had). Such good flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      Loved by everyone on Easter Sunday! The only thing I'd change for next time is pull back a bit on the seasoning salt and sub in regular salt. (A funny note: my son asked what the "little white round things" were in the potatoes..the white parts of the green onions...I gasped and said "So that's where all my tiny rubber bands went!")

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Love this recipe. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      Great recipe! However, I shred my own potatoes with a coarse shredder and soak them in water first to remove the starch. I also sometimes use a Velveeta cheese sauce instead of cheddar - omitting the cream of mushroom soup. Comes out a bit more creamy. Also, as I always do, I sub out the sour cream for plain Greek yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      A perfect, comforting and creamy casserole that goes with just about anything. Super easy to make with not many ingredients to gather makes this one of those dishes that get so many compliments - people think you slaved in the kitchen, it's that good!! I did double the recipe (twin 16 yr old boys with hearty appetites!) using frozen cubed potatoes, but added an additional can of cheddar cheese soup with the 2 cans of cream of mushroom since I was out of milk. I also sautéed sweet onions with 4 or 5 cloves of minced garlic before mixing it all together since we are garlic freaks.<br/><br/> Absolutely awesome recipe that lends itself well to changing things up a bit due to preferences or not having listed items.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Kittencal, Have come to the decision, when I see your name.....I already know, I can count on the recipe. it's pretty bad, when my family says "is Kittencal cooking today"?<br/><br/> The first time I made these, I forgot the butter, and only had frozen French fries in the house...it was yummy! great recipe for brunch, pot lucks and Christmas Morning. The only thing I. Have changed, is I use cooking spray instead of butter and I add in bacon bits (forgot the brand I use, I. Buy them from Costco, they taste like fresh cooked bacon, and cuts down on the fat). thank you again, for visiting my kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      This was wonderful ! I used chicken soup and omitted any extra salt,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      FANTASTIC recipe! changed it just a tad, added bacon bits probably a bit more cheese, cut the butter in half (based on other reviews) and only used the green onion. OH! the smells coming out of the oven :) Hubby absolutely loved it. Next time going to try to bake in cupcake tin and freeze individually for future weekday breakfast. Will update with results. Thanks again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2013

    • on February 04, 2013

      Kittencal, I love your recipes, but this is the first one that I really didn't care for. It turned out really greasy and salty, and although the overall flavor of it was good, I just couldn't eat more than a spoon (shame, since there's now a whole pan of it). My husband liked it, though, so I split the difference and went with 3 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2012

      I've made this recipe many times. I usually add some crispy cooked bacon to the casserole and decrease the onions. I then top with French's fried onions for a nice flavorful crunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      Excellent potato casserole. Very cheesy. I didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      This is SO GOOD! And couldn't be easier. I made it tonight and couldn't even wait til it cooled down to try it. So yummy! I had to leave out the onion as mine had expired... next time I'll add it to see which variaton I like better. Thank you for sharing this one :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      This was delicious, Kittencal! My in-laws came for Easter dinner and everybody loved it...and a break for me not having to peel potatoes! The seasoning was spot-on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      Yum! Great for pot-lucks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      This recipe was super tasty! My husband thought we should have added some bacon to it, but it was packed full of flavor. It definitely is a huge casserole, and could easily serve eight and allow for seconds. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      The flavor was yummy but the consistency of my casserole was mushy and a bit greasy. I will make it again and try cooking it longer. I will also let it come to room temp before I bake it (it was refrigerated for about 2 hours and didn't sit out for longer than 15 minutes). I may also cut the butter back a little as well. Easy and tasty though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Really good. I make this once a month now. I would make it more often, but we are all trying to lose a little weight. We look forward to this dish every month as a treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Absolutely delicious! Kittencal, I've already come to the conclusion that if you post a recipe and say it's good, I can count on it. :} I decided to make a brunch for Christmas Day and included this. It was a huge hit. I'll be making this again and again....and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2009

      Made these tonight for dinner with a baked ham. This casserole was a snap to make and very, very delicious. I used fresh garlic instead of the garlic powder, cream of chicken soup instead of mushroom (was out of mushroom soup), added a can of sliced mushrooms, only used 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese (because we don't like too much parm) and did not add the green onions because yet again, I was out of those. It was still wonderful! Comfort food at its finest. Thank for for yet another wonderful recipe Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best One-Bowl Hash Brown Potato Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 563.8
     
    Calories from Fat 359
    63%
    Total Fat 39.9 g
    61%
    Saturated Fat 21.0 g
    105%
    Cholesterol 72.6 mg
    24%
    Sodium 703.5 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    15%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites