Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best (No Kidding) Buttermilk Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best (No Kidding) Buttermilk Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on February 18, 2013

      Just made these, they're great. I got kisses and thank you's!
      I'm trying to incorporate coconut oil into my husband's diet so I used 3 T melted organic extra virgin coconut oil instead of butter. The coconut oil adds nice, subtle flavor to the taste. Served with butter and maple syrup, nobody noticed the difference. Taking cues from other reviews, I increased the sugar to 3 T & added 1-1/2 tsp vanilla extract 1/2 tsp lemon extract. The griddle does NOT need to be higher than medium, in fact, a bit lower. Since the batter is so thick and fluffy, the cakes take longer than standard pancakes to cook through before they're ready to turn, and the first batch I made were too dark. Turned off the heat, wiped the pan, started over at setting 4.5 (5 being Medium), and the rest were beautful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Amazing! Best pancakes for sure. They are fluffy, cloud-like, and delicious. It's the first recipe I've tried where the pancakes are fluffy and cooked all the way through. I have been searching for a buttermilk pancake recipe I'd care to make more than once, and this is it. I like the mild flavor as is, but it's also good with chocolate chips or blueberries or any other add-ins you'd normally toss in a pancake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      ok, so I tried the 66241 pancake recipe by Nimz, and thought those were delicious. In a quest for good recipes I decided to try this one too. Both recipes are outstanding...but alas there are problems....Nimz pancakes taste better than these. BUT these pancakes are much much fluffier. These pancakes are like heaven, but are actually rather bland. I learned a lesson though to not always listen to your peers. Do not use 1 tsp. of salt!!! Use 1/2!! Even my mom tasted too much salt, and she didn't know I added more. I don't really taste salt, nor really like it...so it didn't make a difference to me. I think this needs a little bit more sugar, and some vanilla extract (2 tsp. would be good). While cooking they browned perfectly though, and usually it's a little hard for me to flip pancakes but these were really easy to flip. I've never had that before! Nevertheless....these pancakes need *something* although I'm not sure what. Oh yeah, and this recipe made 12 medium pancakes for me (since I bet people are wondering)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      I've been making been making these pancakes for the last few weeks and I just love how fluffy and thick they are. So good! This morning I decided to make them for breakfast and I completely forgot to add the butter! Just spaced it completely. I was a little worried about how they would turn out but decided to go ahead and make them, hoping for the best. They were wonderful. I couldn't even tell a difference. So, if you are looking to cut a little fat, feel free to leave the butter out!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      Awesome recipe! I think whipping up the meringue and folding it is really the secret!! I subbed whole wheat flour, coconut oil and added about 2 tsp Madagascar vanilla. Super fluffy and gorgeous - even though they're whole wheat! Served with maple syrup, Greek yogurt, berries and bacon. Snow day breakfast of champions!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      My daughter works for a restaurant. She said these are way better than what they make. Forget the boxed stuff this is way better and simple. The 20 minute wait was just enough to clean up and heat the pan :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      These literally are THE best pancakes ever!!! I have tried so many recipes but this one is the best. The only change that I make is I add 2 tbsp of sugar and a splash of vanilla. If you try these you will not be disappointed!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2011

      I don't get it. Not at all. Tons of work compared to other pancake recipes, for pancakes that don't taste one bit better than any of the other recipes I have tried. In fact, I'm not sure these really taste any better than a bisquick pancake. Maybe I did something wrong, but I can't imagine what - followed the directions exactly. Just wasn't worth all the extra effort.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      These are the only pancakes that have turned out well for me! Slightly more work but the taste and texture is great! I froze half the batter so will see how that works.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      I must hand it to you....these are flat out the best buttermilk pancakes I have ever made- nice and light, they do not make you feel "heavy" once you eat them. I want to try making waffles from this recipe soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      What great pancakes! My picky son didn't even know they contained buttermilk and he gobbled them up. Thanks, no point in ever using a different recipe for pancakes now.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      Absolutely the best pancakes in the world! They are truly the lightest, fluffiest, melt in your mouth best.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      My family loves these pancakes. My picky toddler asks for seconds and thirds! I use 2 egg yolks and 3 egg whites, and I also add a little vanill extract too. thanks Kate for sharing this great recipe. Next time I need to freeze some like some other reviewers have done, great idea.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      Very good pancakes! Texture is great. I doubled the recipe and I plan to freeze the batter for later. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Great Pancakes - one of the best I have ever made - or tasted! I think the baking powder/baking soda combination along with folding in those whites make for fluffy and browning to that golden - brown ... and yes wonderful with real maple syrup. Made as posted. Along with the syrup - peach & passion fruit, strawberry and raspberry jam for those who prefer that to the syrup. Added to my 'Weekend Cookbook' to have on hand when we have our special pancake breakfasts ... enjoyed by the teenager and his brother ... and me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      I made a double batch of these this morning and the kids loved them. Didn't end up with as many to freeze as I had wanted. I substituted 1/3 of the flour for whole wheat. I applaud this recipe because I never had to thin it out because the batter was too thick (I get this all the time) and they came out light and wonderful. I will definitely use this recipe again. Served it with Maple-Orange Syrup. Made for ZWT4.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      My family and I would have to agree! By far, best pancakes we have ever cooked at home, texture, taste and looks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2007

      We really enjoyed these,we just added ham

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      I love how lightg and fluffy these pancakes are. Like crepes, just slightly thicker. Excellent recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      These are the best buttermilk pancakes! I have always used a boxed pancake mix and these pancakes taste so much better. The pancakes are very light and the buttermilk flavor is perfect! Easy to make and great tasting, thank you Kate!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best (No Kidding) Buttermilk Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (819 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 70.9
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    34%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 33.3 mg
    11%
    Sodium 189.8 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites