Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Jiffy Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Jiffy Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on January 09, 2011

      Awesome!! Made a few changes that in my opinion made it even better!
      1. I used half&half instead of milk.
      2.I sprayed my metal pan with a generous amt of cannola cooking spray and put it in the oven for a few minutes prior to adding the batter. This really makes the bottoms beautifully brown.
      3. I added 2 tsp sugar to the mix.
      4.I added about 3/4 of a small can of chopped chiles to the batter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      Amazing classic cornbread recipe! Moist and yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      I added a little honey, thinly sliced green onions & some melted butter... SUPERB!!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      I baked this in a 9x13 pan and we added Pepper Jack cheese, which gave it a little kick-and I added a little more than 1 cup:-) This was my first time adding corn to the Jiffy mix, we weren't fans of it, but it was still yummy! Simple and quick!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      I have been making something like this for years! I thought I created the recipe. LOL. I have always added one 8 oz. container sour cream along with the small creamed corn. I have from time to time added the cheddar or chopped spinach or jalapenos or chopped ham or any combination of those!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      I made this tonight after reading the reviews, which I do on most of my recipes. I did not have jalapeños so I added pepper jack cheese to replace the cheese and jalapeños that people added. It was a nice subtle addition of a little spice and cheese. I also used half and half instead of regular milk. One person cooked it in a cast iron skillet so I also did this. I did use a 12 inch cast iron skillet. I let it heat up in the oven first then added butter to coat the pan and added the corn bread mixture. I baked at 400 for 20 minutes and it was perfect!! It turned out a little sweet, a tiny bit of a kick and toasty in the cast iron pan. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      Super easy and super tasty! Added 2 tbsp of sugar to the mix, poured into my cast iron skillet, drizzled with honey and baked at 350 for 30 minutes. DH LOVED it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      Not sure what I could have done wrong...followed the recipe exactly, put it in a 400 degree oven at 7:00 PM...after 25 minutes it was still runny! Checked it every 5 minutes after that and it never set up. Officially pronounced it's time of death at 7:40 PM :-I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2013

      Delicious.

      I placed a 10" cast iron skillet in the oven to warm while I was mixing the batter. When the batter was ready I put about 2T of butter in the pan and ensured that the butter covered the bottom and the sides. I put the batter in the pan and cooked for 25-30 min. (because the pan was probably smaller than ideal. A 12" cast iron skillet would work wonderfully and probably only take 20-25 minutes)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2012

      This was really simple and good. Even my grandson who doesn't like cornbread enjoyed this. Thanks for sharing. Made for the Help a Naked Recipe event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      Don't get me wrong I love Jiffy cornbread, but its a Northern not a Southern thing. Southern Cornbread is made with white cornmeal and is dry, crumbly and not sweet at all some might say a tad bitter.

      Northern CB is moist, sweet and made with yellow cornmeal and buttermilk. Matha White makes a white cornmeal nearer to the southern style.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2012

    • on June 14, 2011

      this recipe is SO GREAT!!! my boyfriend asked me to make cornbread "like kfc" because they dont sell it anymore, and its one of his all time favorite foods... i googled "perfect cornbread with jiffy" and stumbled upon this one... i got so grossed out when i saw the creamed corn (i had never seen it before haha), so i put it right in the food proccessor, and made it more of a liquid, then i said i guess ill put everything else in there?! so i did, and let it mix and then put it in the pan (which i had covered in a thin layer of evoo so it wouldnt stick,didnt have anything else..) and my boyfriend thinks this tastes just like kfc! it is sooo moist, perfect salt/sweet combo and it definatly does not need any butter or any other added ingrediants! you cant fix perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      The hard part will be stopping at just one...I didn't have any creamed corn, so I defrosted a block of white shoepeg corn from the Jolly Green Giant, and made them into muffins. They look good, they smell good, and better yet, they are DELICIOUS!!! I'm with Fronie...addictive!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Can you say addictive? LOVE IT! I added in the jalapeno like someone suggested and then added about a 1/4 cup finely chopped onion. Was so yummy! Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Delicious - I omit the cheese and make into muffins for a side with soup. It always gets rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      Yum, this was delish and so easy. They were moist, sweet, and the cheese made the sides crispy. Be careful trying to get them out of the pan as the creamed corn makes it stick a little bit in some areas. I want to try to add these same ingredients to a cornmeal recipe instead of jiffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2008

      oh man is this a good way to make cornbread!!! i checked out a few other recipes and i'm glad i chose this one...one thing i did do was to add a chopped jalepeno to the batter for the second batch of muffins...wow! i'll never go back to plain ol' cornbread again. thanks alot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      DH went batty for this! Said it was the best he's ever had. I thought it was awfully yummy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Jiffy Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 694.7
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    35%
    Total Fat 27.3 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 11.2 g
    56%
    Cholesterol 130.6 mg
    43%
    Sodium 1334.0 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.5 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 25.3 g
    101%
    Protein 20.5 g
    41%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites