27 Reviews

Awesome!! Made a few changes that in my opinion made it even better!
1. I used half&half instead of milk.
2.I sprayed my metal pan with a generous amt of cannola cooking spray and put it in the oven for a few minutes prior to adding the batter. This really makes the bottoms beautifully brown.
3. I added 2 tsp sugar to the mix.
4.I added about 3/4 of a small can of chopped chiles to the batter.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnZavala January 09, 2011

This recipe was originated by the owner. It astounds me when people rate an original recipe that they doctored up, i.e., "add to it" or take away from it." When you do this, this is no longer the original recipe ingredients. It is now another recipe. How can you give a recipe 4 or 5 stars when you changed the recipe? You rate a recipe according to what the original recipe ingredients entails.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2ufromme_ October 26, 2015

Amazing classic cornbread recipe! Moist and yummy!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbiebug September 09, 2012

I added a little honey, thinly sliced green onions & some melted butter... SUPERB!!! :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Randella June 10, 2010

I baked this in a 9x13 pan and we added Pepper Jack cheese, which gave it a little kick-and I added a little more than 1 cup:-) This was my first time adding corn to the Jiffy mix, we weren't fans of it, but it was still yummy! Simple and quick!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lola926 February 18, 2010

I really like this recipe. I've made it several times. I add 1 cup chopped green onions, 1 cup red bell peppers, cinnamon (to my taste), and 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese to the mix. About 5 minutes till its done, I add the cheese to the top to make crispy. My husband and family love this additions every time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beatrice J. February 22, 2015

I have been making something like this for years! I thought I created the recipe. LOL. I have always added one 8 oz. container sour cream along with the small creamed corn. I have from time to time added the cheddar or chopped spinach or jalapenos or chopped ham or any combination of those!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim I. January 05, 2014

D-lish-us (Delicious)!!! I tweaked the recipe a little. I used 1 box of Jiffy mix because I was only cooking for two. I substituted the cream corn for 1 c. fresh corn off the cob because I had it around. I also substituted the milk for sour cream. I just kept adding the sour cream until it looked like the right consistency. To make it really moist, I added about 1/4 c. oil. I started out cooking it at 350° for about 20 min but it wasn't cooking fast enough and I didn't want it to dry out so I cranked the temp up to 400°until it was a light golden brown. I checked the center and it needed to cook a smidgen longer so I turned the temp back down to 350° until the center was cooked. I cut it up into serving sizes as soon as I took it out the oven and coated it with butter. OMG! I don't know if I'll ever be able to cook Jiffy Cornbread the same way again! Thank you so much for such an AWESOME recipe!!! :-D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L80nRed May 02, 2016

I make this recipe for an older southern lady who is my neighbor. She doesn't cook anymore, but says it better than her own. I, too, use half and half instead of milk. I think the folks who said it was way too runny possibly made the cornbread as directed on the box and then added the ingredients in the recipe. That'd do it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cecilia53 September 14, 2015

This is okay, certainly nothing special. Mine needed about 30 min in the oven, not a fan of the creamed corn in the bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous June 12, 2015
The Best Jiffy Cornbread