Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Hummus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Hummus

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2009

      This came out really great (even with my screw ups) I accidently grabbed the garam masala thinking it was cumin. If anyone really likes the "40 spices" hummus at the store give it a try. I added about 1/4 tsp cumin after the fact. And I used cottage cheese for the sour cream. I really like the result. From now on I'll always add sour cream/cottage cheese/yogurt to my hummus mixture. Only needed a little of the reserved liquid. The only problem I had was that it ended up to salty (and I use a lot of salt) I would suggest trying it with 1/4 tsp on your first try. You can always add more. Thanks for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2007

      This was so much better than any other hummous recipe I've ever tried. Came out creamy and light... not grainy. The only changes I made was substituting low-fat yogurt for the sour cream and cutting down just a smidge on the cumin. I took 1/2 of the hummous and blended in some leftover roasted veggies (eggplant, peppers and onions). Thanks Chris.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      Chris, I really enjoyed this hummus. I used fat free plain yogurt rather than sour cream since I didn't have any. Rather than using the reserved bean liquid, I used more yogurt, and I added an extra tbsp of lemon juice. I like a loose hummus so I added some water, and based on prior experience, I used the blender rather than food processor since it results in a much creamier product. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2004

      This was fabulous! I did add an extra clove of garlic and some fresh cracked pepper along with some hot sauce for a little spice. After blending this in my food processor I pushed the mixture through a sieve with a flat spoon and it made for a silky texture that I get from my local mediterranean restaurant, only better. I also make a well in the middle and drizzle with a good olive oil, diced tomato and finely minced parsley. It makes a great snack with celery sticks and best of all its SBD friendly! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      I make this hummus time and time again for home and work! Always a hit! Once you make this recipe you'll never be able to eat the store bought again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      So very delicious! Nicely seasoned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      Thank you for sharing your recipe, Chris! Wow, is this good... and terribly addictive!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2012

      I love the taste! But I added too much reserved liquid! ;'( It turned out way too watery and it kind of looked weird . . . . I also felt like it was missing something . . . .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2012

      This is so good! I added a splash of olive oil during processing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2012

      This recipe was so tasty! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      This is a fabulous recipe. I love "Sabra" hummus and am still working to achieve the smooth texture of their hummus. Taste wise, this recipe is great. I made it w/ 3 cloves of garlic then added minced roasted red jalopeno to the center. So enjoyable & easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2011

      I was looking for a good hummus base recipe and this fit the bill. I modified it to fit our vegan diet by substituting tofu for the sour cream. I made the following changes: 3 tsp of minced garlic, 1/4 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. paprika, 2 tsp yeast flakes, 1 1/2 T tomato paste and about 8 leaves of fresh basil. Deliscious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2011

      This is a great basic recipe, and accepts changes well! I doubled the recipe, using a can of black beans and a can of garbonzos, and added a little bit of cayenne pepper to add some spice! I also topped it with fresh parsley from the garden, and enjoyed it with celery, carrots, gluten free crackers and olives. Great snacking dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Excellent! Great balance of flavors. The whole family enjoyed this, in fact my 10 year-old asked that I pack it in his lunch!! Will make again. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

    • on September 15, 2009

      I love this recipe! It is so easy; I use my immersion blender and it's done in a matter of minutes! Even my 2-year-old niece loves to eat it by the spoonful! I use as a dip, on wraps, sandwiches, with veggies and also by the spoonful! I have also added a couple of sun-dried tomatoes for a little extra pizzazz, although the original recipe is fine by itself. Thanks so much, this is my stand-by hummus recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      I dipped pretzels for a snack and it was outrageously good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2009

      I typically use 3-4 cloves of garlic and only enough of the reserved liquid from the chickpeas to reach the consistency I am looking for. My kids love eating this with pita bread or tortilla chips and my husband really enjoyed eating it with raw vegetables. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It's definitely a keeper with our family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Delicious! Very similar to what you buy at the store. After initially making this I ended up combining this and a lower calorie 'hummus' (made with hominy rather than garbanzos). Love it- thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Excellent recipe! I'm lebanese so the thought of adding sour cream to hummus was weird but it didn't over-power or anything. I like my hummus with a bit of 'Zang' so i added an extra tablespoon of lemon juice and a little extra cumin. End result? NO LEFTOVERS! My husband who doesn't normally like hummus dip actually liked this. His comment and i quote "Mmmmmm Mmmmmmm!!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Hummus

    Serving Size: 1 (64 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 87.1
     
    Calories from Fat 21
    24%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 1.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 309.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.6 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites