9 Reviews

I'm on the South Beach Diet on phase 1, and this really hit the spot for a sweet treat. I added a little extra splenda because it was still pretty bitter with the amount in the recipe. I also used all non-fat milk. YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jackeem January 17, 2013

I made half the recipe for a very easy and good mug of hot chocolate to warm up on a cold morning.Thanks for posting. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ElaineAnn February 09, 2011

This is PURE comfort in a mug! I optes to use 2 cups of lowfat milk as I need all the calcium I can get. I also had Cadburys drinking chocolate as the cocoa. I added an extra packet of splenda as well. SO, so good! This will be nade OFTEN!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. November 19, 2009

Loved this but definitely needed 2nd packet of Splenda. So happy to have found this recipe which will meet my chocolate cravings! Loved the cocoa taste!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaisySunshine February 10, 2009

I like what you're doing in this recipe & for that you get my 5 stars, 'cause it's one I'm going to keep around! However, another time I do want to go whole milk & probably another packet of Splenda, AND definitely the cinnamon (NOT optional for me!)! Thanks for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup cooking game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 16, 2008

As written, I thought this was very bitter. I had to add a lot more splenda to my cup. I used all milk and no water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 08, 2007

This is awesome! I added extra Splenda and cocoa for a sweeter & more chocolatey flavor. I didn't add the cinnamon, but I will next time. I used fat-free milk and it tasted fine. I highly recomend this very yummy hot chocolate!!! Oh, there's also a bonus - it's cheeper than buying the packaged sugar-free stuff, and it tastes much better, too!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mizzlizzita November 06, 2007

This is really delicious! I'd prefer to go a little lower fat, but I do like the creaminess once in awhile, and the cinnamon really brings out the cocoa flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathy S. October 07, 2007

Really good! I've had something similiar to this before. My boyfriend likes this because you actually taste the cocoa - it is not overridden by sugary sweetness and has a more coffee texture to it. I however, like sweet and use all milk (no water) which makes it creamier. I sometimes add an extra packet of splenda. If you want to go more for richer taste, use all milk and no water. We have an espresso machine, so we use it to make it foamy. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tweedledum October 25, 2005
The Best Hot Chocolate Ever - No Sugar