Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Honey Cornbread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Honey Cornbread

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2009

      I can't have enough of this cornbread. I used butter since i had no crisco. This really is a good cornbread. I highly recommend making this

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2009

      This is the most delicious conbread I have ever made!!! I used buttermilk in place of half and half, (after asking KITTENCAL) and butter, slightly less than a full teaspoon of salt. I baked the cornbread in my 10-in cast iron skillet at 375 degrees for 25 minutes. I will use this recipe often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2007

      Very good! We like to eat this topped with a little butter and maple syrup. I didn't have butter flavor shortening so I used butter. Not overly sweet, I might actually add a couple TBSP of sugar next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      Moist and firm (but not too dense), a good cornbread for pouring beans or stew over, it holds together well when soaked. To me it has just the right amount of sweetness without being over-sweet. I will make this again but next time I may omit 1 egg because I like cornbread slightly less firm, the eggs I use are pretty big so smaller eggs may be just right. Great taste, I liked it a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Excellent and so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      As you can see I made these into 12 delcious sized muffins instead of using a cake pan. In this way I can put them in the freezer to take out individually for any-time. The addition of the honey is such a + in my book as I tend to like my cornbread on the sweeter side. Wunnerful, Wunnerful~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      This was very good!! I baked it for 20 min,but I think I'll leave it in for another 5 min next time. I used buttermilk instead of cream or milk,because that is all we had,and it was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2009

      This was very good served with honey-butter spread, in spite of the fact that I am relearning to cook with a gas stove after 15 years. I tend to overcook everything in this oven, which i did with this cornbread and it was still very good. I plan to add a bit more honey next time as I like a sweeter cornbread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2009

      This was super it was gone in no time. I will make again. Easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      i used butter, whole wheat flour and whole milk. this was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      Easy to prepare and everyone loved it..Sweet and moist..I doubled the recipe and added 8-10 minutes to baking time..Definitely a keeper.. Sue S.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2007

      Very sweet! The kids loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      Delicious! I do like my cornbread on the sweet side but I don't like cornbread cake. This was a perfect balance. I baked this in a muffin pan for perfect corn muffins that I served with chili. Thanks Kitz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2006

      Awsome cornbread thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      Sweet and moist corn bread, really just the way we will make it again. I made this with butter and milk and golden syrup instead of honey. Wonderful with hot chili! The sweet and savory is so delicious together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      This is my favourite cornbread recipe to date! I used half butter and half shortening to make up the 1/3 cup required; I made "buttermilk" (with vinegar) and used that......It made 12 muffins and 1 pan of those moulds that look like corn cobs (they are small and make about 4 cornbread sticks)...both pans went into the oven at the same time. The mould came out 5 minutes earlier than the muffins. Was easy and the texture is perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2005

      Yum! This is very nice textured cornbread and just the right sweetness for our family. I discovered I didn't have any eggs, so used Eggbeaters and it was just as good. Good for breakfast, with chili, or just sneaking a late night snack! Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      I used butter and 1% milk, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The results were great. The cornbread had the wonderful honey flavor of Marie Calendar's, but neither the "lighter than air" texture nor the tendency to crumble to pieces. Instead it was very moist and had a very "real" texture. without being "heavy". We really liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      Yes this is THE recipe for cornbread, I added in more honey than it called for. thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      I'm not rating this because I probably just made a mistake, but my cornbread took 40 minutes to bake, and I'm still not sure whether it's done in the middle... I used a round 9" pan and baked it at 200C, which should equal 400F. I used butter and milk instead of shortening and half-and-half because that's what I had... I think maybe the baking powder was too old (it was an open package), my cornbread didn't seem as thick as the one in the picture - and my pan was smaller. Could that be the problem? Other than that, the taste was quite corn-y but good when I got used to it. Might try again with baking powder from a new package.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Honey Cornbread

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 496.4
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    23%
    Total Fat 12.9 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 161.8 mg
    53%
    Sodium 944.7 mg
    39%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.9 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 35.3 g
    141%
    Protein 12.3 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes