Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Ham Sandwiches Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Ham Sandwiches Ever

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on July 16, 2011

      I have made these a few times ... not this recipe, but from another site, however I saw a post thread on this so I thought I would write a review because it is helpful.

      This is the same recipe, but a few helpful notes.

      Honey baked ham is too sweet for me. A good baked if best
      Thin sliced, not thick and about 1 1/2 lbs is plenty, 2 lbs was too much IMO
      Swiss, use good swiss. Just get some slices from the deli
      Hawaiian rolls are best to use for this
      If you think they are too greasy, before you reheat them, put them on a cooking rack on a pan and heat them up that way. The sauce the rolls were in a still heated up and served as a dip. This way the bottoms crisped up a bit and not as greasy, but you still had the butter which you could use as a dip or just drizzle over the top or just discard. I personally just discarded. Most of it was absorbed anyways.

      Just a couple of thoughts. The flavor was great, and wonderful snack food.
      After they sit all night, right before you reheat ... remove the rolls from the pan and put on a

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      This recipe is excellent. I have made it several times. Helpful tips: 1- Instead of using the stovetop, you can just microwave the butter and seasonings for 1 minute or less in a pyrex measuring cup, then stir well and pour in the sandwiches. 2-You can use any meat and cheese you like and they will still be amazing. My family loves mozzarella and uncured ham. (My hubby loves fried hot dogs and even pepperoni on his, believe it or not.) Feel free to get creative! (Next I am going to try a breakfast version of this sandwich...) 3-There is truly no need to marinate any time at all. I have done it both ways and can't tell a difference. 4- I prefer the Hawaiian sub rolls in a larger pan. (Don't cram too many in one pan or they are less crispy.) Also, make sure to pour a little sauce on the already made bottoms before you add the tops. Then pour most of it on the tops, rubbing it into the bread with the fork you used to stir the sauce. Amazing every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Very yummy! I couldn't find the Hawaii style rolls, so I just used a small roll from the bakery...I don't think it matters that much what kind of bread. Otherwise made as directed, even managed to marinate them overnight. These are super good! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      These were tasty, but greasy. I also can not see how in the world you could use 2 lbs of ham on these? One pound piled them high! I'm sorry that I had bought $12.00 worth of ham, that I did not need.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2013

      I also tried this using roast beef, and substituting cheddar for the Swiss cheese. They came out great that way too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      I don't cook a lot and needed something to take to a potluck dinner. I always found the Hawaiian roles a little sweet so was reluctant to try them with this recipe. They turned out wonderfully. They were hit of potluck and they were all gone in no time. Recipe very easy and quick. I used Virginia ham and put 2 slices on each mini sub and then 1/2 slice of packaged swiss cheese. I cut each mini sub in half because they seemed a little large. (people like to load up their plates and women like me like smaller portions.). Mine did not get greasy but I did have a little sauce left but thought there was enough on the subs as they were. Just use your judgement. Oh, and I made them 1 hour before so they didn't sit overnight. Watch so tops don't burn. Definitely will try again. Good with ketchup too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2013

      Lordy, these are good. I cut the recipe in half for dinner for our family of four. ( along with a salad). I had to leave the poppy seeds out, because they were almost five dollars for a tiny container, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. YUM. I could eat twenty of these!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2014

      Tried this at a friends house and they were a huge hit with everyone. just went online to get the recipe myself so I could make it again this week. Yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      Awesome! I first had these at a friends house and went straight to. Food.com to find the recipe. I made these today with leftover ham from Christmas. What a great way to use up those leftovers! I admit that I cut a little bit of each roll out of the middle make them a little bit smaller to cut down on calories. Thanks for posting this new favorite recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2013

      Delicious! And so easy! Reading the other reviews helped. I used only half the ham required if that much; you can control how much you put on. I dipped each sandwich into the butter mixture before baking - got them covered better than pouring it on. I baked them on an aluminum foil lined cookie sheet, and the bottoms got a bit brown. Next time I'll try putting them on a cooling rack to bake to raise them above the foil. Delicious!!! Hubby could have eaten 6, but he was using manners since we had a lunch guest. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      I only made four sandwiches but were they ever good. Used Hawaiian Sweet Rolls (Bread Machine) for the buns. Loved the topping and flavor of the meat and cheese when melted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      These are absolutely the best sandwiches ever! I had them at a church potluck and couldn't wait to make them for our family. Only changes I made were to not mix the mustard with the butter; but to put a dot inside each sandwich. I also omitted the poppy seeds/dried onion and we didn't miss it. Next time, I think I will cut the amount of butter in half as we won't miss the extra. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2012

      I made these several times and they were a hit. I plan to make them again for a Christmas party. They are very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      We call these Don Ho Rolls where I work, because of the Hawaiian rolls. We use very thin sliced deli ham or turkey and thin sliced Swiss cheese....delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      these were very easy & very good. i think the thinner the meat is sliced, the better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2010

      Wow these we're FABULOUS.... Will def be making again, great crowd pleaser.Thank you for posting such a QUICK AND EASY recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      My Husband and I loved this recipe. When I first baked them they were wonderful. But warming them up the bottom was a bit soggy. So next time I will half the recipe and only make what we can eat while they are hot. Thank you for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2010

      Omg!!! I fell in love with these. The house smelled so good while baking them to. I waited to make these for over a year cause I couldn't find Kings Hawaiin Sweet bread,,,so I got tired of waiting and had a big bag of sweet dinner rolls ( from Sams club). I ended up getting 8 sandwiches per pan,,,and so glad we did. I get all the leftovers lol!!! I only let it sit for 5 1/2 hours,,other than that I followed recipe exact. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      A definate success at our house! I served these on Christmas Eve on the appetizer table and they came out delicious. In fact my daughter snatched up the leftovers to take home. So I made more. Definately something I will make in the future. Donna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Great little sandwiches! We had these for dinner last night and really enjoyed them. Even the young kids liked them. I do agree though that they were a little on the greasy side on the bottoms. Maybe next time I will use less butter. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Ham Sandwiches Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (100 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 439.9
     
    Calories from Fat 304
    69%
    Total Fat 33.8 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 20.0 g
    100%
    Cholesterol 128.7 mg
    42%
    Sodium 1545.3 mg
    64%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.8 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 30.5 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hawaiian rolls

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites