Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best French Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best French Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on May 11, 2009

      This has a wonderful taste. I do feel that it has too much oil in it, but maybe it is the type of oil I used that made the difference. I used a canola oil, but would take direction for another. This makes alot so I don't have to make another salad dressing for awhile. I will make this again as it was very easy to make and taste very good on a green salad. It didn't have me licking the plate but I certainly made sure that ALL the dressing was sopped up. Thank you for posting Carol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      This is the best dressing for taco salad. I did not change a thing. I always get requests for the recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      I have made home made French salad dressing for over 45+ years that was given to me by my Father who got it from a restaurant head chef friend of his. First, you need to use Heinz Ketchup ONLY. Second, use Wesson Oil or very Virgin Olive Oil. If you don't want the oil to separate, put all the ingredients in a large blender and blend it for 3 to 5 minutes (helps break down the oil molecules). I don't blend the onions in mine and I add them last (you can dice them superfine or you can shred them, either way, the choice about blending them or not is yours. Second, the longer you let this recipe "age" the better it gets. You can add or subtract the amount of each ingredient until you find what you like. I generally make a triple batch as I use it up quite quickly. This recipe is great as is, but I have to replace the lemon juice with apple cider vinegar as my daughter is allergic to citrus acid (especially lemons). I generally don't blend any of my ingredients as I like to shake up my dressing just before I use it. When I know I am having company, I blend all of the ingredients so the dressing is very smooth. DON'T BE AFRAID TO EXPERIMENT, AFTER ALL, ISN'T THAT THE BEST PART OF COOKING? BonAppetite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      This was my first time ever making salad dressing and this recipe was excellent. I went just a<br/>tad bit light on the sugar and would do that again next time. It is kind of like a catalina but just seems to have the right simple blend of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      I found this recipe today and made it for the salad tonight.........it is the absolute BEST I've tasted. I too used Canola Oil and it was delicious. Except for using garlic powder instead of garlic salt, I stuck to the recipe as it was posted........ Next I'm going to marinade a London Broil in it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2013

      Used less oil and added water, but the taste was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      have made this several times, for myself and family. It scales easily, and stays well in the fridge for a long time (just mix before serving).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2011

      I was looking for a dressing for a Taco Salad and this one fit the bill. There is a nice balance of flavor. I used a little less the 1/2 cup of sugar and that was just right for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      This recipe is ON POINT! I even used a fat-free oil substitute (2 tsp cornstarch cooked into 1 cup vegetable broth) and splenda, and it STILL came out aces! I halved it, very easily, and was able to use my mini-4 cup processor without it going on the counter. Another sure winner from Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I made this to go with your Taco Salad and was enough for more than two salads.
      I will cut back on the sugar slightly since I used the full amount and it was a wee bit sweet.
      Other than that it was awesome. I did use the mayonnaise coz i wanted it a lil creamier.
      Thanks Kitten! Your recipes are always a safe, yet tasty, bet :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      Cut the recipe down to 1 cup for the two of us and we still have enough left for another meal. Great flavor especially on Kittencal's Taco Salad for a Crowd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      So good and easy! I have tried many of Kittencal's recipes lately and haven't found a single one not worthy of 5 stars. Can't wait to try more of your recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      Delicious, and better than any store bought bottled dressing! I left out the onion and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2009

      I've been looking for a Catalina dressing and this is PERFECT! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      I don't usually eat French dressing, so I don't have anything to compare this to, but I really liked it. I made it to use on your taco salad. I love making condiments at home because its cheaper, and, in this case, I had everything in my pantry. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2009

      This was wonderful Kittencal! I made it with splenda for the diabetics here and low carb ketchup and he just loves that he can enjoy a sweet dressing without it causing problems...thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      I can't believe it took me this long to rate this! I've made this recipe 3 times now. The 1st time I was making a dip that called for french dressing and I didn't have any, so rather than go to the store I whipped this up. It was the best dip I've ever had! So for the same gathering I made everyone try the dressing and they LOVED it! Thanx for posting another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      This is a good dressing, but not very much like French dressing. It is more like an Italian and French dressing mix. It was more vinegar-ish than I like.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      This is a very good dressing. I did not make the creamy version. I also only used 1/2 cup of sugar which was perfect. I added 1 teaspoon of garlic as we love the stuff and it was not to over powering at all. Much better than the bottle stuff. Thanks, Kittencal for another nice addition to my collection on recipezaar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      This is the best french dressing ever! I like a sweet dressing without being too wangy with alot of vinegar. I forgot to add the onion but we thought it was amazing so I think I will omit the onion next time I make this dressing. I also didn't add the mayonnaise. This dressing reminds me of a good catalina dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best French Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (884 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1053.8
     
    Calories from Fat 869
    82%
    Total Fat 96.5 g
    148%
    Saturated Fat 12.5 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 2.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 827.0 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.6 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 45.6 g
    182%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites