Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Ever Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Ever Waffles

    Average Rating:

    403 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 403

    Sort by:

    • on September 20, 2013

      I don't know what happened but by the time I was done it wassuper runny. When I spooned it in just boiled and made a mess. Added a 1 1/2 cups of flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2013

      Very runny batter. I trusted the recipe and used it as is for the first waffle and it came out crispy, flat, and when I pulled it off my waffle iron it fell apart. I had to add 3/4 cup more flour to thicken it up. I also had to add a little vanilla to increase flavor. After that it turned out very well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2013

      These waffles are delicious on their own but also paired with almost anything. We experimented with a frittata and were delighted with the results. http://randdkitchen.blogspot.ca/2013/06/frittata-with-waffles.html

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      Salty. Either too much salt or baking power.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      Too much butter! Tasted like a mediocre pretzel, not the best waffle. Way too much butter and salt and not enough flour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      Followed the recipe perfectly the batter was runny, even after I folded in the white egg peaks, and they did not rise like typical waffles . The taste was okay but nothing exceptional. I'll keep looking for a better recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      This is an excellent recipe. Thank you food.com and to everyone who posted a review. I tried this recipe this morning and my family loved it. I must admit like some other folks I added my own twist. We eat mostly gluten free, so I opted the regular flour out with all-purpose gluten free flour. I also added 1 tsp on cinnamon and 1/2 tsp on brown sugar. Most excellent. The mix made exactly 8 waffles which was perfect for this mornings brunch since my son had a sleepover. I will be making breakfast for my co-workers next week and this recipe is perfect. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      These are truly the best waffles I have ever had!!! I only used 2 tsp of baking powder (today's bp is much more efficient than it used to be). I also added vanilla. AAA+++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      These were amazing! I also added just a bit of vanilla to the mix and they smelled incredible while cooking. Great texture, great flavor. Best recipe I have tried for waffles yet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2013

      I made these this morning and they turned out fantastic! Though, I had to add a little more flower than called for due to the fact it turned out runny. Other than that, they were light and delicious and melted in my mouth. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      Lies, all lies...The people giving this recipe 5 stars are either paid astroturfers or they take their families to KFC for an IV drip of fryer grease for dinner. This recipe is so incredibly greasy <br/><br/>I feel bad for having subjected my body to eating them. In between waffles I had to dab the waffle iron with a paper towel to keep the waffles from frying in the left over butter vs. browning up like they're supposed to. I'm no over zealous fitness nut but when a single waffle gives your 60% of your recommended fat for the day. There is something wrong. <br/><br/>So regret not having read only the top three reviews. Food.com you've earned you place in sites I don't trust. Too many decent recipe sites out there to waste my time with ones that pad their reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      This recipe is fantastic! I followed the instructions exactly, and my waffles turned out fluffy and golden, crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. I used a regular, square waffle maker (not a Belgian waffle maker) and was so pleased to find waffles that weren't wimpy and cakey.<br/><br/>There seem to be quite a few reviews claiming "thin, greasy waffles" or "batter that is way too thin", and I'd like to know what on earth they did to the recipe to have them turn out so badly. Perhaps they skipped the beaten egg-whites-folding steps? The egg whites add a lot of loft to my batter, which was already plenty thick from the egg/milk/melted butter.<br/><br/>The one criticizm I might have is that the recipe does call for a lot of baking powder, which can leave a film and metallic taste in the mouth. Next time I might try reducing the amount of baking powder, and adding an extra egg-white. I'd sure hate to mess up a great recipe by making a bunch of changes, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      sure EASY and wonderfully YUMMY.. made this with my 2 yr old grandaughter!! wish i had a belgiun waffle press.. came out great and flavorful in reg iron..<br/>all other waffles taste like cardboard now!! thank you!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      This is a very finicky recipe that requires attention to detail and proper technique. The reviewers that have given it negative reviews have made a mistake. If you don't know what "moderately stiff peak egg whites" means, or you don't know how to properly cut and fold beaten whites into a thicker batter, then please google it or watch a video on youtube. You will get a terrible result otherwise. The batter is surprisingly thin. I would suggest people beat the egg whites exactly to stiff peaks without going over. The result if everything is done perfectly is absolutely the best waffles I've ever had. -Chef Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      I was so confused when I read the good reviews on this recipe, that is, until I kept scrolling down and read the ones that echo my same sentiments. I was so excited to make these and thought that the egg whites would be a nice touch. The batter ways WAY too thin and it just looked gross as I tried to fold in the beaten egg whites. I was thinking, "Why did I take the time to beat the egg whites when they were going to be ruined anyways?" I made the 1st waffle and it was greasy and flat....blaaaaah. I gave the rest of it to my dog. I ended up adding my box mix to it and it was salvageable. I was so disappointed and am now having to wash all of the dishes that I needlessly dirtied.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      simplemente deliciosos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      These were good. I did add some cinnamon, but otherwise used the recipe as written. They came out very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      So good! I liked the crisp on the outside and they got a little dark but were still moist and fluffy on the inside. I used my hand mixer for the egg whites to make sure they were stiff enough to not break down completely when they were folded in. Made for Name that Ingredient Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      I made an account just to review these waffles after making them then seeing the one star reviews... I followed the recipe and these came out perfectly. Probably the best waffles i've ever had, definitely the best i've made. Everything people in the one star reviews didn't happen for me. No baking powder taste, they were crispy and fluffy on the inside and rose up as they cooked. They were so good that i ate about half the first one with no toppings at all. They are a little buttery but pancakes and waffles are vessels for butter, so thats a plus as far as i'm concerned. I still topped mine with butter. delicious. I can only imagine the people complaining failed to use the correct measurements and or didn't follow the directions. the batter is very thin and runny until you fold in the properly whisked egg whites. Then its pretty close to any other batter i have used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      The batter was way to thin. We added more flour and a few other things to it as well. After that it was pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Ever Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 312.8
     
    Calories from Fat 178
    56%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 112.6 mg
    37%
    Sodium 630.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes