410 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The butter content is too high for the ratio of dry ingredients making for a very thin batter and a rubbery waffle. I think if you halve the amount of butter (and even replace with canola oil), it would probably be an outstanding waffle. The flavor was good, just the texture wasn't what we'd hoped it'd be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau January 06, 2015

Worst waffle ever! Too much butter makes for heavy, flat waffles. Any waffle recipe that omits vanilla should be a red flag. Don't waste your time!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elizabeth M. January 03, 2015

I found the batter liquidy compared to another recipe I use. They were light but there was not much flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rrneifer January 01, 2015

Wow! Thank you so much! Now I don't have to go out and buy artificially made waffles! Followed the instructions to the last period and it was great! Now I can savor all the yummy recipes for waffles!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dindo S. December 30, 2014

Not good! Way to thin, and mine turned out too fluffy. They were like air and would collapse with the weight of another waffle on it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelsyB December 30, 2014

Worst waffles ever! I was going to make these for Christmas morning but since it was a new recipe I always try it out first. So happy I did!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patty71259 December 11, 2014

Totally decent recipe. I'm wondering if a lot of the complaints people have about the batter being too runny are from people who don't know how to fold egg whites into the wet mixture. I added two extra teaspoons of sugar. Makes the waffles crispier but does make them stick to the griddle A LOT more so make sure you use lots of pam or other non stick spray.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tyson December 01, 2014

These were terrible. I am a great an excellent baker and I followed this recipe correctly. They are heavy and greasy from all the butter. I eventually added more flour to make them less so. The flavor was decent, the texture not so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle D. November 10, 2014

I'm amazed at the people who claim this recipe is too salty, too bitter, too greasy, too this too that. With a majority giving it four or five stars I have to believe it's the cook not the recipe that is at fault so here are some tips. 1. TOO SALTY. I always use unsalted butter in my cooking, if it's too salty using 1/2 teaspoon of salt and unsalted butter you had best not use any salt at all. 2. TOO BITTER from too much baking powder. I'd suspect your BP is old and past it's expiration, it's the only way it's bitter. TOO GREASY, did you substitute margarine for butter? Not a good idea in this recipe. NOT FLUFFY, if you beat your egg whites to peaks and didn't over mix them into the batter it's impossible to not have fluffy waffles from this recipe. TOO THIN, this one is accurate in my opinion. I always add 1/2 cup more flour and a tablespoon of vanilla (REAL vanilla not that imitation crap). <br/><br/>A cook blames the recipe, a great cook analyzes the failure and adjusts the recipe next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Kovach October 18, 2014

These are easily the worst waffles I have ever had. They were flat, oily, and tasted like baking powder. Don't waste your time with this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffany C. September 21, 2014
The Best Ever Waffles