Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Ever Waffles Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Ever Waffles

    Average Rating:

    394 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 394

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2013

      I made these this morning and they turned out fantastic! Though, I had to add a little more flower than called for due to the fact it turned out runny. Other than that, they were light and delicious and melted in my mouth. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2013

      Lies, all lies...The people giving this recipe 5 stars are either paid astroturfers or they take their families to KFC for an IV drip of fryer grease for dinner. This recipe is so incredibly greasy <br/><br/>I feel bad for having subjected my body to eating them. In between waffles I had to dab the waffle iron with a paper towel to keep the waffles from frying in the left over butter vs. browning up like they're supposed to. I'm no over zealous fitness nut but when a single waffle gives your 60% of your recommended fat for the day. There is something wrong. <br/><br/>So regret not having read only the top three reviews. Food.com you've earned you place in sites I don't trust. Too many decent recipe sites out there to waste my time with ones that pad their reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      This recipe is fantastic! I followed the instructions exactly, and my waffles turned out fluffy and golden, crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. I used a regular, square waffle maker (not a Belgian waffle maker) and was so pleased to find waffles that weren't wimpy and cakey.<br/><br/>There seem to be quite a few reviews claiming "thin, greasy waffles" or "batter that is way too thin", and I'd like to know what on earth they did to the recipe to have them turn out so badly. Perhaps they skipped the beaten egg-whites-folding steps? The egg whites add a lot of loft to my batter, which was already plenty thick from the egg/milk/melted butter.<br/><br/>The one criticizm I might have is that the recipe does call for a lot of baking powder, which can leave a film and metallic taste in the mouth. Next time I might try reducing the amount of baking powder, and adding an extra egg-white. I'd sure hate to mess up a great recipe by making a bunch of changes, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      sure EASY and wonderfully YUMMY.. made this with my 2 yr old grandaughter!! wish i had a belgiun waffle press.. came out great and flavorful in reg iron..<br/>all other waffles taste like cardboard now!! thank you!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2013

      This is a very finicky recipe that requires attention to detail and proper technique. The reviewers that have given it negative reviews have made a mistake. If you don't know what "moderately stiff peak egg whites" means, or you don't know how to properly cut and fold beaten whites into a thicker batter, then please google it or watch a video on youtube. You will get a terrible result otherwise. The batter is surprisingly thin. I would suggest people beat the egg whites exactly to stiff peaks without going over. The result if everything is done perfectly is absolutely the best waffles I've ever had. -Chef Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2013

      I was so confused when I read the good reviews on this recipe, that is, until I kept scrolling down and read the ones that echo my same sentiments. I was so excited to make these and thought that the egg whites would be a nice touch. The batter ways WAY too thin and it just looked gross as I tried to fold in the beaten egg whites. I was thinking, "Why did I take the time to beat the egg whites when they were going to be ruined anyways?" I made the 1st waffle and it was greasy and flat....blaaaaah. I gave the rest of it to my dog. I ended up adding my box mix to it and it was salvageable. I was so disappointed and am now having to wash all of the dishes that I needlessly dirtied.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2013

      simplemente deliciosos

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      These were good. I did add some cinnamon, but otherwise used the recipe as written. They came out very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      So good! I liked the crisp on the outside and they got a little dark but were still moist and fluffy on the inside. I used my hand mixer for the egg whites to make sure they were stiff enough to not break down completely when they were folded in. Made for Name that Ingredient Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      I made an account just to review these waffles after making them then seeing the one star reviews... I followed the recipe and these came out perfectly. Probably the best waffles i've ever had, definitely the best i've made. Everything people in the one star reviews didn't happen for me. No baking powder taste, they were crispy and fluffy on the inside and rose up as they cooked. They were so good that i ate about half the first one with no toppings at all. They are a little buttery but pancakes and waffles are vessels for butter, so thats a plus as far as i'm concerned. I still topped mine with butter. delicious. I can only imagine the people complaining failed to use the correct measurements and or didn't follow the directions. the batter is very thin and runny until you fold in the properly whisked egg whites. Then its pretty close to any other batter i have used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      The batter was way to thin. We added more flour and a few other things to it as well. After that it was pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2013

      Glad this recipe works for some. WAY too buttery for my family. Insides WAY too battery. Yuck

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      This is the BEST recipe for waffles hands down. This is the third time I've used it, and this time I used buttermilk. OMG! Sooooo good. Everyone loved them. Next time I'll add some vanilla to see if it makes a difference, although I can't imagine how they could get any better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

    • on April 07, 2013

      I substituted 1/3 cup of the flour for whole wheat, and I was impatient for the waffle iron to heat up, so I made a pancake. The batter is good for that too! Light and fluffy, crispy on the outside, melt in your mouth. A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2013

      Fluffy waffles beat those heavy boxed pancake batters! I tried using chocolate milk. They were delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      Made these for the family. Just as others said, fluffy with a little crisp! Loved them... Will add a touch of vanilla or cinnamon the next time. Definitely a keeper...Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2013

      I have made these time and time again. ALWAYS turn out amazing. In fact it is the only waffle recipe my kids request. I have tried many a recipe over the years and this is it! I don't know what those other reviewers are doing wrong for it to turn out so badly. I have never had a bad batch. Maybe they are over folding the egg whites in? Just doesn't make sense. I give these 5 stars and 8 thumbs up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      I would have given this a 5 star but I had to make some changes to the recipe. I only put in 1 tsp of baking powder. Changed 2 tsp of sugar to 2 TBSP. I halved the melted butter and used 1/4 cup oil. I sifted all the powder ingredients, tempered the melted butter with the milk. I added 1 tsp of vanilla. Then I added the egg yolk and whisked into the dry. I folded the egg whites in. The batter was not to thin at all. They turned out perfect. I read other reviews that the batter was thin, they weren't fluffy, and they burned. All of which is "user error". If you do what the instructions say and set your waffle iron appropriately then you won't have a problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2013

      This recipe is great. Follow the directions exactly except I added 1 tsp vanilla. Very delicious! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Ever Waffles

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 312.8
     
    Calories from Fat 178
    56%
    Total Fat 19.8 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 112.6 mg
    37%
    Sodium 630.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites