409 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Worst waffles ever! I followed the directions exactly and they turned out terrible. No taste and no structure. I don't know how anyone came out with 5 star waffles, this isn't even close.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigdaddy316 October 28, 2012

I'm not sure what went wrong, but I carefully followed food.com's conversion of this recipe for 10 and it totally tanked. Wayyy too buttery (even for my southern husband), oddly thin, and stuck to the waffle iron soo bad we had to abandon it and make pancakes using bisquick.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EmcW October 21, 2012

my waffles turned out soggy and didn%u2019t raise at all. I followed recipe exactly. Taste wise wasn%u2019t bad, but not what I was looking for, fluffy and crispy waffles.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jtatiana21 August 31, 2012

i was SUPER disappointed in this recipe. the waffles came out flat and greasy and very eggy. after the awesome reviews i was so excited. what a let down.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gvnsmm August 21, 2012

I agree. The BEST EVER WAFFLES! I usually hate waffles, but these were crispy, light, and delicious. And it was easy to mix up. This was a print worthy recipe that I will keep in my personal favorite recipe collection.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Oliver March 11, 2012

My family enjoyed these. My husband says he likes to have vanilla in his waffles, so I may add 1 tsp of vanilla next time. These waffles were just the right crispness, not too soggy and not too tough. I kept them on a cookie sheet in an oven at 200 degrees until I was ready to serve them. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose September 11, 2010

Excellent waffle recipe! This is the one I will use from now on. I mixed ingredients by hand and beat egg whites with my Kitchenaid, then folded them in. I added a tsp. vanilla and upped the sugar to 1 tbsp. They were very light and fluffy-much better than I have had at restaurants as well. Try the cinnamon syrup listed on zaar with these! Excellent on a cold winter day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin kell December 13, 2009

These waffles turned out absolutely perfect, browned so nicely and I cooked some a bit longer to crisp them. I did add 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract, a nice added flavor. I used my Belgian Waffle Iron, makes 2 waffles at a time. Thank you so much for sharing. I made them 3 times now and will continue in the future. "Uncle Bill"

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
William (Uncle Bill) Anatooskin July 10, 2009

These waffles are very good. As suggested by podapo, I used 2 tbsp of sugar. Also, I use a combination of oil and butter. These remind me of the waffles my father used to make, which is why I like them so much. The flavor is outstanding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fola_08 September 04, 2006

Wow!! These are the best waffles ever. I did try making pancakes out this batter, they were a little thick so I added additional milk, perfect pancakes. Light fluffy, excellent taste. I will be making this for both my waffle and pancake breakfasts. Thanks for sharing this yummy recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sidd September 03, 2003
The Best Ever Waffles