460 Reviews

They forgot a key ingredient 2L of ice cream to mask the dispicable taste of the salt/baking powder. In addition the waffles were foppy, however the ice cream helps you forget this.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniel B. February 14, 2015

I'm amazed at the people who claim this recipe is too salty, too bitter, too greasy, too this too that. With a majority giving it four or five stars I have to believe it's the cook not the recipe that is at fault so here are some tips. 1. TOO SALTY. I always use unsalted butter in my cooking, if it's too salty using 1/2 teaspoon of salt and unsalted butter you had best not use any salt at all. 2. TOO BITTER from too much baking powder. I'd suspect your BP is old and past it's expiration, it's the only way it's bitter. TOO GREASY, did you substitute margarine for butter? Not a good idea in this recipe. NOT FLUFFY, if you beat your egg whites to peaks and didn't over mix them into the batter it's impossible to not have fluffy waffles from this recipe. TOO THIN, this one is accurate in my opinion. I always add 1/2 cup more flour and a tablespoon of vanilla (REAL vanilla not that imitation crap). <br/><br/>A cook blames the recipe, a great cook analyzes the failure and adjusts the recipe next time.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark Kovach October 18, 2014

I have to say that I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. They came out flat and floppy. I'm thinking maybe they were too liquidy even though I followed the recipe exactly. The taste was good.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommie Cooks July 13, 2011

These ARE the best waffles ever! I served these up with fresh strawberries and bananas and they were delicious. Prepared as directed with the exception that I did add a little vanilla to the batter. I will definitely be making these again and again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CJBertsch March 05, 2011

Unbelievable! I followed recipe exactly except adding 1 tsp vanilla and they were perfect! I have tried MANY 5 star recipes on here, this one the best so far...the batter is VERY runny, like liquid, and I was worried about that, but the picky kids LOVED them! So light and fluffy...had my Cuisinart WAF-6 waffle iron set to level 5(of 6). Thanks for making me look great LOL!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elisia777 June 07, 2010

I can see this as maybe a crepe recipe, but not waffles. It kinda just tastes like egg...It burned as soon as it hit my waffle iron...i'm going to try and fry it like doughnuts or funnel cake to salvage the batter...I even added more flour :(

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly in the Kitchen January 18, 2010

Great waffles. I am a chef and I made them this morning for my family and they gobbled them up. I made them according to the directions. The only changes I made was added a tsp of vanilla and 3 Tbsp sugar instead of 2 tsp. After reading other unfavorable reviews I have the following suggestions: these are best in a Belgian waffle maker. Melt butter, then let it sit for a few minutes so it is not too hot. Fold in egg whites. The batter is thin, but once egg whites are gently folded in the batter becomes full and fluffy. It's ok if small lumps of egg whites remain. The batter should not be oily. I have no idea how that happened unless egg whites where not stiff enough or if they were stirred in too much. Hope this helps

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook With Kim September 01, 2014

I wish I had read ALL the reviews before I attempted to make these. No good. Waffles came out floppy and soggy, not fluffy at all. I followed the recipe exactly as directed. I will try something else next time.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reynosogm1 April 12, 2013

Yuk. Big problem with this recipe. 4 teaspoons of baking soda --NOT!!!! I served myself last when company visited. Way too much soda. They only ate to be polite. No wonder they used half the bottle of syrup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Name---- November 02, 2012

I agree. The BEST EVER WAFFLES! I usually hate waffles, but these were crispy, light, and delicious. And it was easy to mix up. This was a print worthy recipe that I will keep in my personal favorite recipe collection.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Oliver March 11, 2012
The Best Ever Waffles