421 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

sure EASY and wonderfully YUMMY.. made this with my 2 yr old grandaughter!! wish i had a belgiun waffle press.. came out great and flavorful in reg iron..<br/>all other waffles taste like cardboard now!! thank you!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitedove1968 May 25, 2013

This is a very finicky recipe that requires attention to detail and proper technique. The reviewers that have given it negative reviews have made a mistake. If you don't know what "moderately stiff peak egg whites" means, or you don't know how to properly cut and fold beaten whites into a thicker batter, then please google it or watch a video on youtube. You will get a terrible result otherwise. The batter is surprisingly thin. I would suggest people beat the egg whites exactly to stiff peaks without going over. The result if everything is done perfectly is absolutely the best waffles I've ever had. -Chef Mike

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MikeTheChef8 May 24, 2013

I was so confused when I read the good reviews on this recipe, that is, until I kept scrolling down and read the ones that echo my same sentiments. I was so excited to make these and thought that the egg whites would be a nice touch. The batter ways WAY too thin and it just looked gross as I tried to fold in the beaten egg whites. I was thinking, "Why did I take the time to beat the egg whites when they were going to be ruined anyways?" I made the 1st waffle and it was greasy and flat....blaaaaah. I gave the rest of it to my dog. I ended up adding my box mix to it and it was salvageable. I was so disappointed and am now having to wash all of the dishes that I needlessly dirtied.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweetseren80 May 18, 2013

simplemente deliciosos

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tollcell_9406106 May 13, 2013

These were good. I did add some cinnamon, but otherwise used the recipe as written. They came out very nice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debx2_7200287 May 09, 2013

So good! I liked the crisp on the outside and they got a little dark but were still moist and fluffy on the inside. I used my hand mixer for the egg whites to make sure they were stiff enough to not break down completely when they were folded in. Made for Name that Ingredient Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH May 07, 2013

I made an account just to review these waffles after making them then seeing the one star reviews... I followed the recipe and these came out perfectly. Probably the best waffles i've ever had, definitely the best i've made. Everything people in the one star reviews didn't happen for me. No baking powder taste, they were crispy and fluffy on the inside and rose up as they cooked. They were so good that i ate about half the first one with no toppings at all. They are a little buttery but pancakes and waffles are vessels for butter, so thats a plus as far as i'm concerned. I still topped mine with butter. delicious. I can only imagine the people complaining failed to use the correct measurements and or didn't follow the directions. the batter is very thin and runny until you fold in the properly whisked egg whites. Then its pretty close to any other batter i have used.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aladdyn May 05, 2013

The batter was way to thin. We added more flour and a few other things to it as well. After that it was pretty good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terter_B May 05, 2013

Glad this recipe works for some. WAY too buttery for my family. Insides WAY too battery. Yuck

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mbreech May 05, 2013

This is the BEST recipe for waffles hands down. This is the third time I've used it, and this time I used buttermilk. OMG! Sooooo good. Everyone loved them. Next time I'll add some vanilla to see if it makes a difference, although I can't imagine how they could get any better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Taz's Mom May 04, 2013
The Best Ever Waffles