16 Reviews

Hi I made this lemon tart recipe last night for a Ladies night in. Very easy and delicious, so my friends said, haven't made pastry like before and it really wasn't any fuss. Reading the other reviews was very helpful, I too had only 10 inch tart dish. I didn't double up the ingredients just used half again so 9oz of Flour, 6oz Butter and so on. Thank you for posting this recipe I am going to make it again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M Taggart April 16, 2011

It may be helpful to US chefs to know that icing sugar is powdered sugar, caster sugar is superfine sugar, and double cream is heavy whipping cream.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxi June 14, 2006

I made it last evening as a surprise for DH and it turned out to be the best we had.I was also a bit worried as recipe didnt mention the size for the tart pan.I used a 10 inch 'Fluted quiche pan with loose base'. Added 2tbsp flour and 1tbsp butter to the pasrty to ensure it coverered the pan.I also added 2tbsp lemon juice more than what the recipe calls for to add to the taste.And we surely were not disappointed.It was simply YUMMYLICIOUS!!! Will try and upload some photos.Thanks Janette1 for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tania Seal September 19, 2009

After making two time-consuming desserts, I needed something quick to make and a bit different for a birthday lunch celebration. This fit the bill perfectly. I was a bit worried because I didn't see a size tart pan to use. I used a 10 inch pan and doubled the recipe as a previous reviewer did. That did not go quite as well for me. I had a lot of leftover curd. Next time I will use an 8 or 9 inch pan. This tart is so easy, not overly sweet, and has one of the easiest crusts I have ever made. I even was asked for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog January 17, 2009

The ease of preparation makes this a real winner in my book. I used Xylitol instead of sugar in the lemon curd (hubby is diabetic) and 1/4 tsp. lemon oil in place of the lemon rind (laziness on my part.) I also strained the egg mixture to get rid of any of those pesky egg clots. The taste and texture was incredible! However, the crust really stuck to my tart dish, so maybe I did something wrong there even though I followed the recipe exactly. I was able to get the tart pieces out of the pan, (barely) but I think maybe I didn't cook it long enough - not sure. In any case, it was a beautiful and delicious end to our Thanksgiving dinner 2012. Thank you Janette1.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest November 22, 2012

Fabulous, easy recipe, just made this for our Pub menu only thing I would do next time is to seive the liquid before adding lemon zest just to get rid of any eggy pieces. Thank you for posting this

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lindseylcw December 06, 2008

This tart tasted amazing and was easy. I used a 10in tart pan, so I had to double the dough. I also doubled the rest of the ingredients except for the eggs and lemons. I used 5 egss and 3 lemons total. I definitely plan on making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ham'nTully August 22, 2008

Just had some and It was absolutely delicious!!!! It is like the expensive tarts you buy off the posh bakery, the base was rich buttery and crunchy and filling was a velvety and smooth custard like texture ,most impressive. I followed the suggestion by adding the juice of an extra lemon to give it that tangy taste. THIS IS A CROWD PLEASER and a KEEPER! !!!!Thank you for sharing this with us!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muslimauk July 24, 2008

Woah!! What a lovely, tangy, sensual and smooth tart yummm!!! I am only 13 and i made this and i cant believe how easy it was and how fast it vanished in seconds!!! Also me and my brother where fighting over on who gets the last piece it was like a gladiator contest! I WOULD ADVISE EVERYONE TO MAKE THIS AS IT WILL BLOW OFF YOUR TASTE BUDS TO THE CEILING!!! wonderful, fantastic, extravagant would explain the senses in this tart!! ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alessa_the_demonessa July 24, 2008

Very yummy indeed. The only thing I would change the next time I make this lemon tart is to add more lemon juice. Otherwise I would not change a thing. The pastry recipe was also fantastic and a real winner with my husband. Many requests for me to make it again. Thanks Janette.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
850730 May 31, 2008
The Best Ever Lemon Tart