Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Ever Lemon Tart Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Ever Lemon Tart

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2011

      Hi I made this lemon tart recipe last night for a Ladies night in. Very easy and delicious, so my friends said, haven't made pastry like before and it really wasn't any fuss. Reading the other reviews was very helpful, I too had only 10 inch tart dish. I didn't double up the ingredients just used half again so 9oz of Flour, 6oz Butter and so on. Thank you for posting this recipe I am going to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      It may be helpful to US chefs to know that icing sugar is powdered sugar, caster sugar is superfine sugar, and double cream is heavy whipping cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      I made it last evening as a surprise for DH and it turned out to be the best we had.I was also a bit worried as recipe didnt mention the size for the tart pan.I used a 10 inch 'Fluted quiche pan with loose base'. Added 2tbsp flour and 1tbsp butter to the pasrty to ensure it coverered the pan.I also added 2tbsp lemon juice more than what the recipe calls for to add to the taste.And we surely were not disappointed.It was simply YUMMYLICIOUS!!! Will try and upload some photos.Thanks Janette1 for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      After making two time-consuming desserts, I needed something quick to make and a bit different for a birthday lunch celebration. This fit the bill perfectly. I was a bit worried because I didn't see a size tart pan to use. I used a 10 inch pan and doubled the recipe as a previous reviewer did. That did not go quite as well for me. I had a lot of leftover curd. Next time I will use an 8 or 9 inch pan. This tart is so easy, not overly sweet, and has one of the easiest crusts I have ever made. I even was asked for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2012

      The ease of preparation makes this a real winner in my book. I used Xylitol instead of sugar in the lemon curd (hubby is diabetic) and 1/4 tsp. lemon oil in place of the lemon rind (laziness on my part.) I also strained the egg mixture to get rid of any of those pesky egg clots. The taste and texture was incredible! However, the crust really stuck to my tart dish, so maybe I did something wrong there even though I followed the recipe exactly. I was able to get the tart pieces out of the pan, (barely) but I think maybe I didn't cook it long enough - not sure. In any case, it was a beautiful and delicious end to our Thanksgiving dinner 2012. Thank you Janette1.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      Fabulous, easy recipe, just made this for our Pub menu only thing I would do next time is to seive the liquid before adding lemon zest just to get rid of any eggy pieces. Thank you for posting this

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      This tart tasted amazing and was easy. I used a 10in tart pan, so I had to double the dough. I also doubled the rest of the ingredients except for the eggs and lemons. I used 5 egss and 3 lemons total. I definitely plan on making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Just had some and It was absolutely delicious!!!! It is like the expensive tarts you buy off the posh bakery, the base was rich buttery and crunchy and filling was a velvety and smooth custard like texture ,most impressive. I followed the suggestion by adding the juice of an extra lemon to give it that tangy taste. THIS IS A CROWD PLEASER and a KEEPER! !!!!Thank you for sharing this with us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      Woah!! What a lovely, tangy, sensual and smooth tart yummm!!! I am only 13 and i made this and i cant believe how easy it was and how fast it vanished in seconds!!! Also me and my brother where fighting over on who gets the last piece it was like a gladiator contest! I WOULD ADVISE EVERYONE TO MAKE THIS AS IT WILL BLOW OFF YOUR TASTE BUDS TO THE CEILING!!! wonderful, fantastic, extravagant would explain the senses in this tart!! ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Very yummy indeed. The only thing I would change the next time I make this lemon tart is to add more lemon juice. Otherwise I would not change a thing. The pastry recipe was also fantastic and a real winner with my husband. Many requests for me to make it again. Thanks Janette.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Delicious! I used two limes and one lemon and it may have been more tart than the recipe version but oh so wonderful! The dough was too wet so I added more flour and sugar and it turned out very tasty and golden. Easy to make and my first time making a crust like this from scratch, definitely worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Very delicious and fresh. I added some blueberries to the top and bought the tart crust. Also, very easy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2006

      Oh my....this is soooo good! Not to mention easy. It was a hit at the dinner party last night. Will be keeping this recipe! Thanks for posting! Hint: if you can't find caster sugar...what I did was put some sugar in my spice mill (coffee grinder) and let it whirl until fine. Works like a charm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2006

      What can I say? The title says it all. This recipe is absolutely divine and so easy to make! We just can't have enough of it! Yamm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      Spectacular taste, very easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      thank you for the recipe! i can't bake, i haven't never been able to. but i followed your recipe and the tart turned out great! i'm going back for my 2nd slice now :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Ever Lemon Tart

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 349.8
     
    Calories from Fat 183
    52%
    Total Fat 20.4 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 12.2 g
    61%
    Cholesterol 125.7 mg
    41%
    Sodium 36.2 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 19.8 g
    79%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites