Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Ever Cherry Hamentashen Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Ever Cherry Hamentashen

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on April 04, 2010

      Very easy to make and delish! I used a full cup of butter and sugar along with the 1 egg. Just to add a little change, and because I didn't have a lemon, used a squirt of lime juice, and a 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract with the vanilla. I also used the strawberry filling and it was a suprise hit with the family. Next time I am going to use homemade apricot preserves. Why wait for Purim?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Graet recipe! Thanks! I didi midify it a bit. First I used less sugar (2/3c), secondly, instead of regular flour I used whole wheat flour in one batch and whole spelt flour in the second batch. For those looking for whole grain, I highly recommend spelt. Whole wheat dough needed water, was not elastic and baked looking rough, although taste-wise both were great. Thanks for some a good dough recipe! (I used mashed steamed prunes with walnuts for a filling)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      I may have reviewed this recipe before since I've made it every Purim for several years, but this year posed some new challenges as I'm currently living in China. Since no pie filling was commercially available, I made fresh strawberry filling using this recipe (http://www.recipezaar.com/raspberry-blueberry-blackberry-or-strawberry-filling-385533), and Lekvar (prune) filling using this recipe (http://www.recipezaar.com/Lekvar-Prune-Plum-Filling-or-Apricot-54692). I accidentally used whole wheat flour, which actually worked out very well, especially with the prune. They were certainly a hit at this year's Purim dinner party.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      I used unsalted butter rather than margarine and made 8 batches for enough cookies for the entire 3rd grade. Thank you! Yes, after 40 something years of hamentaschen baking, this is the best recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      WOW! No more buying Hamentashen for me. We went to a Purim party yesterday and these cookies were a hit. We used various pie fillings and each came out great. I think the apricot are the best. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      i am not a baker at all and this was the easiest and yummiest recipe i have baked in a long time. i used blueberry, raspberry and the cherry filling and all were delicious. i have the two extra pounds i put on to prove it. i feel like the best christian mom raising jewish kids ever. they loved helping me make them and eating them too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      Amazing Hamentaschen! The dough is perfectly rich and stands up remarkably well to a variety of fillings. I filled half with cherry pie filling and filled the remaining hamentaschen with some home-made apricot preserves; both came out phenomenal! Like most cookies (and most ovens), the cooking time varies significantly depending on the number of cookies in the oven and the oven's ability to maintain its temperature. This recipe has become an instant Purim tradition!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I love these. I doubled the recipe b/c the picture was so pretty i was sure they would go fast. I was right! Family could hardly keep out of them. I did have to add quite a bit of water b/c the dough still looked crumbly. I added enough to make the dough come together but it was more than 1 TBS. I didn't have a round cookie cutter so I used a 6 oz regular size soup can that was empty and very clean. I used one of those safe can openers that take off the whole lip of the can so there are no sharp edges. It worked perfectly and was the right size for 2 cherries and a little filling. The first batch I made too thick so they took longer to cook. But you get the feel for the size they should be. Mine looked just like the picture. I will definitely be experimenting with different pie fillings. Thank you so much for sharing this I just know they will be a hit at the Purim party. =)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2008

      I used butter and doubled the recipe. They were wonderfully soft and tender. Easy to roll and kept their shape well. We made poppyseed and rasberry and I have photos of the kids making them to post. Thank you for helping our holiday along!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2007

      These really are the best. I used cherry confiture, fig jam and raspberry jam and they were great. The fig and raspberry jam bubbled a lot and settled some but still great. I sent everyone this recipe and they all loved it. I didn't have the patience to put the dough in the fridge which meant that I had to use a baking spatula to separate them from the counter which worked great. I also used half whole wheat and they tasted great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      Exactly the texture I was looking for! Instead of the cherry filling (which sounds great) I used a chocolate brownie type filling -- see my post for it. I love that the solid filling is still soft, but doesn't ooze out. This dough made a perfectly cookie that retained its shape. I found it a little soft to work with and did have to refrigerate it periodically throughout the preparation process so the dough was workable. Excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2004

      Nice, easy and tasty recipe. And they look wonderful with the bright cherry filling. I wasn't sure how big to make these so I used a water glass. They were not big enough to get in any filling and close the tops so I just turned up the sides and pinched the corners to make triangles. However, on some of them, the sides fell during cooking so they aren't the best-looking hamentashen. Still taste fine though. Next time, I will make them bigger. I did get about 3 dozen from the recipe. I also needed to periodically refrigerate the dough as it would get too warm and sticky to work with. I will be making these next year with DS. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      This is my first time making Hamataschen so I can't compare it to baking other recipes. I used gluten free flour and will talk more about that in a minute. I liked using margarine as I know traditional recipes have oil. I also really enjoyed using real lemon zest, you can taste it in a very aromatic way in the cookies. The water thing was difficult. I kept adding one drop at a time and it took a lot of drops. I imagine this is due to using gluten free flour, which is basically starch. The dough was a bit sticky but totally manageable by using flour on the surface and rolling pin. I agree that the dough is perfect for supporting the filling. The cookies wrapped up very nice. I used Bon Maman Cherry Preserves. Probably a bit to tangy. Wanted to do traditional poppy seed but could not find affordable poppy seeds. I also brushed mine with an egg and water mixture and sprinkled the sugar - both were a nice touch. The cookies taste great. The are very light and also fluffy and dense at the same time as deli cookies are. For me, using the gluten free flour made the cookie a bit starchy and I'd like to try the recipe again with normal flour though for purpose of being gluten free it is a great recipe to accomodate the substitution.

      I only had time to refridgerate for two hours, I recommend more time. I used a standard circle cookie cutter, it was on the big side and too big. Also, it is true that you need just a small amount of filling - another recipe suggested a teaspoon. Possibly because mine were on the big side, it took about 17 minutes or so to cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      I'd been on the hunt for a good hamantashen recipe for years. Once I came across this one, I never searched again. The dough is PERFECT - they never open and spread!! i LOVE this recipe - thank you, thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2012

      These were wonderful! I wanted to make something with cherry pie filling and this was the perfect treat. Was going to bring them to work but they didn't last long enough! Easy to make and even easier to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      I made these this week and they were wonderful! The perfect texture, it was a delicate and tender cookie dough. I used 1 Tbs of orange peel instead of lemon peel and used drops of orange juice in place of the water. Everyone loved them. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      Amazing recipe. The hamentashen turned out so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I haven't made this recipe yet, but I wanted to respond to the review that was left on March 13th. The problem that you encountered was because, as far as I know, light butter is not suitable for baking. That was probably why the dough was so sticky. In order to make butter "light" they add in either air (whipped) or water to lessen the calories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2009

      After reading all the positive reviews, I was very disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, only substituting light butter for margarine. After refrigerating the dough overnight, the dough was very sticky and hard to work with. I ended up adding a lot of extra flour so I could shape the cookies, which made the final cookie bland. Also, the baked cookies were very pale in color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      The best cookie hamentashen ever! I filled mine with apricot preserves and these cookies stayed closed unlike so many other recipes that I've tried where they open up mid-baking and the jam spills out. Delicious! I also put some flour on my hands prior to shaping and didn't bother with the glass at all which worked out great; I had no trouble with a sticky dough at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Ever Cherry Hamentashen

    Serving Size: 1 (69 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 248.5
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    22%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 15.5 mg
    5%
    Sodium 130.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 12.6 g
    50%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites