11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

June 16, 2012: Since stumbling across this recipe 7 years ago, I have not tried ANY other baked cheesecake. This is the BEST cheesecake ever! And, I do use it with your recipe http://www.food.com/recipe/graham-cracker-crust-116887 for the crust. Simply amazing! I am making it again per DH's request for Father's Day. Thank you!!!
April 17, 2005: What a cheesecake! And I do think this is the best baked plain cheesecake I have ever had. I saw the picture on the front page of Zaar, and knew I had to have it. Mine didnt turn out as brown as yours is, but it was browned a little and it was wonderful! Creamy and perfect in every way for me! Thanks so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Miss Diggy*~ June 16, 2012

I agree that this is a really good cheesecake, but of course I forgot the water bath and it cracked like a big star in the middle. I had made it for my son's 23rd birthday. Anyway, this cake got ate up crack and all. I don't know if gas stove had anything to do with the cracking,I just have to make a mental note not to forget the water bath.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
icanbme41 March 03, 2011

My first time to try a cheesecake recipe with heavy cream. So rich, creamy and just delicious! Just a tad too sweet for my palate, so I'll try with a little less sugar for the filling next time. Sari#2: What I do to prevent cracks is 1) Do not over bake; the middle should have some jiggle when you take it out of the oven; 2) Line bottom of pan with foil and bake cheesecake in a water bath (I added an extra 20 minutes to cooking time) and 3)Run a knife around the edge of the cake about 5 minutes after taking it out of the oven. Then cool and chill for 6 hours before releasing the spring.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mind_84 August 30, 2005

WONDERFUL! Enough said!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ItalianDelia August 07, 2009

So very very yummy. Soft and smooth and ohh so good. I didnt know it would make so many pies. I got 3 out of one batch! This is the reason I gain wieght!!! I love it thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mekalucha! February 09, 2009

I was disappointed by this. The cheesecake didn't have the that velvety, silky texture common to cheesecake. Rather, it was had a mushy, soggy texture. It was also a bit too sweet. If you do decide to make it, I would suggest upping the cream cheese to 24 ounces, and using less heavy cream and sugar. I think this would help rectify the textural issues.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jcrewgirl January 14, 2009

I can not believe you posted the *secret* family cheesecake recipe! At least now everyone on Zaar can benefit from it. This is the best cheesecake. Everyone who has tried it begs for more. I use crust Graham Cracker Crust. Also note that this cheesecake freezes wonderfully. I have frozen individual slices and when thawed they are as rich and creamy as the original.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommyMakes February 13, 2006

This cheesecake is amazing. I used the crust suggested by the other reviewers. I thought my springform pan was 10 inches, but it turned out to be only 9 inches and just about held the filling. I baked it for an extra 15 minutes as it was deeper, due to the smaller pan. I had a bit of trouble getting it out of the pan and also when slicing it, so maybe dipping your knife in water would help with that. It didn't really matter that the slices looked a little messy though, as the taste was just fabulous and made more than up for it. I will definitely make this one again, when I want a decadent treat. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sylvie- February 12, 2006

I made this and it was really easy to make.... I loved it, my husband loved it too... will def make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaliwags November 04, 2005

Frist let me say - THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR SHARING!! This was by far one of the best cheesecakes i've ever had. I found the recipe easy to follow and the flavors were just PERFECT!!! I too would recommend crust Graham Cracker Crust - My only little issue i had with the cheesecake was that it cracked in the middle towards the end of baking so i would welcome any suggestions as to what i did wrong? Other then that... I give this recipe 5 stars!!! Thanks again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sari #2 August 15, 2005
The Best Ever Cheesecake