16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is an ideal way to ruin a good piece of meat. The marinade flavor does not go with beef and with no salt, what little flavor tenderloin has is masked by the overbearing flavor of the marinade. <br/><br/>If you relish the flavor of beef, avoid this recipe. Instead, brine tenderloin to add moisture and enhance its flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rollincoswald May 28, 2014

Absolutely fantastic!!! I had never cooked a tenderloin before...purchased a whole one from GFC, watched a couple Youtube videos on how to prepare meat for cooking, followed this recipe to a T and it was amazing. So tender and delicious...Leftovers were wonderful! Loved it and will make it again next holiday or fancy dinner party.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Patricia N. January 13, 2014

Best Beef Tenderloin I ever made. I recieved more compliments and request for the reciepe than any other dish I have made.Marinated it overnight>.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bigmcred December 30, 2013

This marinade/rub gently penetrates into the meat with the final result being a subtle permeating flavor deep through the entire tenderloin. No ingrediant overwhelmes another and all blend perfectly. You still taste all the flavors of the beef tenderloin that make it special with a special flavor booster from the marinade. Using the leftovers today to make tenderloin sliders with bernaise sauce. Putting in my make again file!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Cameron December 02, 2013

I've tried several different recipes for my Christmas Day beef tenderloin. This one is absolutely the best yet! My two grandsons, ages 20 and 19 said this is the best meal they've ever had. Of course, that made my day. The flavors are fabulous. I cooked mine 28 minutes (6.5 lbs) at 500 degrees, removed from the open and sealed with foil. I let the meat stand for 20 minutes sealed. It was perfect. I may try cooking as this recipes calls for next time, but just knew that my standard 28 minutes and then 20 minutes of resting had always been perfect, so it was hard for me to change. I'd give this recipe a 10 rating!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Weekend Chef Bev December 26, 2011

Wonderful!! I made this yesterday for Christmas and everyone loved it! I had a 4 lb tenderloin, and it was completely gone. No leftovers at all!!! I made the recipe exactly as written and I've decided this is our standard Christmas dinner from now on. Thanks so much for the fabulous recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kris in ks December 26, 2007

Outstanding! I just made this for dinner with rave reviews. Next time I will actually marinade it overnight! I omitted the ginger (never liked ginger) and bay leaf and used white wine (I realized too late that I was out of red wine!) Still very, very good. I will be making this a lot in the future! As I used a fairly thin steak instead of a roast, I reduced the cooking time quite a bit.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BurgyJ December 16, 2007

Easy! Rave reviews by !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coopann March 24, 2013

Just tried this recipe last night for my brother's birthday. It came out perfect!!!! I highly recommend this recipe. The only thing I would do different is add the 3 tablespoons of corn starch to some water and slowly pour that in the medium sauce pan, as soon as I spooned the three tablespoons all the liquid dried up, the cornstarch acted like a human sponge, but then I added some water and wisked it and it was fine. I am definitely using this recipe again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meccpro February 20, 2013

I made this yesterday for our family Christmas dinner. It was amazing! I marinaded it for 2 days. I followed the suggestion from a reviewer and cooked for 30 minutes at 500 degrees then covered it with foil for 20 minutes to rest. It came out medium to medium well. Today I sliced some that was left over for grilled sandwiches, heated the marinade and used it for dipping.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kim.philip_11336681 December 23, 2012
The Best Ever Beef Tenderloin (Filet of Beef)