580 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe easily rivals the beef & broccoli found at ANY local Chinese restaurant. So delicious, but I made a few minor changes: I used 2 minced garlic cloves in addition to garlic powder, minced fresh ginger rather than ground, and I added sesame oil. I also let the beef (I used thin sirloin steaks) marinate for about 30 mins. before cooking. This is so delicious - can't wait to try it next w/ chicken and/or shrimp.

45 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blackindia2 January 18, 2011

Excellent...finally a recipe for beef and broccoli that is great!!! Only thing I did differently was skip the dredging of the beef in cornstarch/water/garlic powder. Only because I felt my round steak strips needed marinating, I made the sauce mixture and marinated the steak strips in it for a few hours. Made a huge difference. Then proceeded with the cooking process as described. Also, added 2 garlic cloves minced and 1/4 tsp of crushed red peppers to the sauce as suggested by others. Outstanding recipe, thanks for sharing....still saying "yummy"!

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue's Kitchen June 05, 2011

I've made this twice, the only changes were using chicken and doubling the sauce, and my whole family loves it! That's quite an accomplishment in this house! Thanks so much for the recipe!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SukeyNY March 23, 2011

I would give this 6 stars if I could. I made this for myself, my husband and my mother for dinner and made the kids fish sticks. The kids tried it and it all went. I use 1 1/2 lbs of chicken and doubled the sauce. Everyone couldn't get enough. This is rare at my house, there is always a complaint at dinner time that someone doesn't like the meal. Not this time!! This recipe is a keeper. Very simple to prepare and I would imagine leftovers would be just as good...if we had any!! Next time I will try with beef.

My youngest thought I bought it from a Chinese restaurant and reheated it.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wkst March 02, 2011

I am not a very good cook. Baking, I'm super comfortable with but cooking? Not so much. So when I was determined to make my boyfriend (who is an excellent cook) dinner for him when he came home from work, I knew I needed to find a good recipe. This is it!!

I marinated the beef like a lot of people before me did and cooked up a bunch of pasta noodles instead of rice but it turned out SO amazing! My boyfriend not only had seconds but ate it for lunch at work the next day! This recipe gave me the courage to try cooking more. Thank you so much for this recipe!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chibi Usa March 26, 2012

Great stuff! I substituted the broccoli with red peppers, carrot shreds and green onions since I'm not a huge fan of broccoli. The sauce was thick and sweet and delicious. I've been having difficulty lately cooking Chinese food that tastes authentic but this recipe tasted like the real thing. I tossed it on top of some homemade fried rice and it became a feast I will continue to cook and perfect in the future!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Porksoda December 20, 2010

Loved this recipe. I didn't have beef so I used some left over boneless pork loin chops that I had chopped up and frozen. It was absolutely delicious.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canadianjo May 26, 2012

OMG this is so good. As the reviewers before me, I used the sauce to marinate the london broil steak I used for several hours and then made another batch of sauce for the cooking. I used fresh ginger grated but next time I will use more then I added, didn't measure but I could have used more, I am a little afraid of ginger as it can be overpowering if too much is used. I added scallions at the very end of cooking and everything was just delicious. My husband could not get over how tender the meat was, as well as flavorful. I want to thank all the previous reviewers for their hints and opinions, they were very helpful. I want to try with chicken and shrimp in the future. Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
unitygal January 21, 2012

this was a pretty solid recipe, i followed exactly but at the last minute added some red pepper flakes to the soy sauce mixture..good move!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ozz54 March 29, 2011

this was exactly what it said it would be! EASy and amazing. iwas wary of ingredients but when it was done, my husband thought i put Take out in a bowl!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teach4ys February 14, 2011
The Best Easy Beef and Broccoli Stir-Fry