Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best (Do-Ahead) Turkey Gravy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best (Do-Ahead) Turkey Gravy

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on December 15, 2002

      I printed this recipe at Thanskgiving time and misplaced it, so I came back to Zarr today just to get it again, so I can make it again for Christmas dinner. Since deep frying turkey at Thanksgiving has become a rather new tradition in our home, making a good gravy without the drippings from a roast turkey had become a challenge. Until I found this recipe!! Thank you, thank you, thank you Dee!!! It's simply delicious! I didn't change a thing and it's great to be able to make this the day before! This gravy will become a tradition along with the deep fried turkey. And Dee514 will forever be known as my gravy HERO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2002

      I found this gravy to be very easy to make except I only got approximately 3 1/2 cups and had to make more.This is a great do ahead gravy for turkey especially at Christmas when there just isn't enough time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      This was so good! My SIL especially couldn't stop raving about it and asked for some of the leftovers! (We had 15 for dinner and had plenty left!) This was easy to make though definitely time consuming. The only thing I did different was use a sweet wine and it didn't seem to cause any problems. I'll be making a double batch next time just to freeze and have on hand! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I'll be honest - I'm 57 and am gravy-making impared - jarred gravy was better than mine. ;) Gave this a whirl & my husband said it was the best ever (great compliment as both our late mothers were fabulous cooks). I also had the problem of reduction after simmering, but supplemented it with some commercial roasted chicken broth while whisking into the desired consistancy. As we brine & rotissiere our turkey, removing the (usually) unwanted wings ahead of time worked well. Froze a small portion of leftover gravy - will be interested to see how it thaws/reheats. THANK YOU, DEE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      This recipe makes a delicious gravy with the convenience of being able to make gravy ahead of time. I added the neck and giblets to the broth and simmered everything for about an hour. The gravy was frozen until the day of the dinner. Update Dec/09: This year I made this using 2 lbs of neck pieces. The resulting gravy was wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      i just tried this over thanksgiving and it was wonderful! fresh thyme instead of dried and all homemade chicken stock instead of the wine. it was great, and so nice not to worry about the gravy at the last minute! thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2003

      This is wonderful gravy for people who have time constraint issues and very small kitchens (me!). I originally came in here to post this and found that Dee had already, considerately, posted it so now I'm doing a review. This is the second year I'm using this recipe for Thanksgiving gravy and, boy does it save my life on THE DAY. I do this pretty much as posted except that I slash the turkey wings 2-3 times on each piece in order to get more of the full essence of the turkey flavor. Also, I use my own homemade chicken broth, rather than canned. When I roast the turkey on THE DAY, I degrease the pan drippings and add them to the gravy while reheating in the microwave. I save (freeze) the neck and giblets from the turkey to use for my next batch of broth. My guests are very impressed with my gravy and nobody guesses it was made two weeks before Thanksgiving, frozen and then reheated :) Thanks Dee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      excellent make ahead gravy. wonderful flavor and i warmed it up in the crockpot saving me stove space and any fussing on tgving day. it saved me a couple hours in the kitchen on tgiving day. i tripled the recipe as i was feeding nearly 30. i used four big turkey drumsticks as the store was out of wings. the only adjustment i had to make was to increase the flour. i have always used a one to one ratio of fat/butter to flour. i was teaching my future daughter in law how to make gravy so she did the fat/flour stirring and bubbling, then stirred in the broth to thicken. after a long time stirring, but still not thick, i showed her how to add cornstarch (blended into warm water in a cup first). at the end, i told her how to add a bit of soy sauce to darken the color (but to taste and be sure it wasn't too salty). i had to convince my hubby to let me use the nice chardonnay! this is the gravy recipe i will use from now on. thanks!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      OUTSTANDING!! DH wanted gravy & mashed potatoes on the menu for Christmas dinner, however, the problem is we always deep fry our turkeys. I decided to try this recipe and I have to admit we were both a little skeptical as to how it would taste. We were both blown away at the flavor. I browned my wings VERY WELL and then I browned my vegetables just as much. I didn't have any fat to skim off so I just made a roux with 1/4 cup of flour and 1/4 cup of oil. Since we're from South Louisiana and like our roux dark I cooked the roux more than golden, but not real dark, however, I think it added more flavor. We didn't discard the meat from the wings either. DH removed the meat from the bones and we added some to the gravy. In fact, we like this so much we are going to make a meal out of this and serve the gravy over the cooked wings. Thanks for posting such a great recipe, Dee!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      I just made this and it took more than 1hour and 40 minutes but I have the gravy ready for bird day. A couple of suggestions to help other cooks. I used a large 12 " high side fry pan and it was too small for all of the liquids. A Dutch oven would have been the BEST choice. I had to add the water after I added the flour, not a big thing. I also saved the wing meat for the gravy.<br/>Good luck with your try at making the gravy before hand, it is going to be a BIG time saver and I will do it again for Christmas. ENJOY

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2012

      I inadvertantly bought SMOKED turkey wings... so I had to cook them a bit longer in the liquid, and when all was said and done I did not have enough fat to make into gravy, so I had to add butter in order to get it to thicken.
      After this, it turned out great-has a very nice flavor- and I think the smoked turkey enhanced the flavor even more. Thanks for the idea to make the gravy ahead! Every year making gravy at the culmination of the Thanksgiving meal is when I get most stressed about the meal! Tomorrow it will be so much less stressful! **afterthought.. It seemed so wasteful to toss the celery, carrots and other solids... so I chopped them up to use in my Stuffing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2011

      I roast my wings first - adds a deeper flavor to the "stock" love having the gravy made ahead. I also make a roux then add in the roux to thicken - that will prevent lumps. Roux is butter and flour - melt the butter then add in flour until it is a paste - cook until golden brown - lighter for a white sauce darker for a deeper flavor (such as cajun food)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Amazing! I am so thrilled with this gravy. I goofed up the first batch I made so when I made the second batch I didn't have turkey wings but I was able to get turkey necks (abt 2.5 lbs). I've never, ever used turkey necks for anything so I was skeptical but I forged ahead none-the-less. I was determined to make a gluten free gravy for my sister. I browned the turkey necks for 10 minutes and then followed the instructions except for the flour part. When it came time to add the flour I instead mixed 1/4 Cup corn starch in about 1/4 cup of cold water until there were no lumps. Then I slowly wisked it into the broth mixture that I had brought to a boil. If you're serving the gravy right away you might want to make it a little thicker but I was serving a few hours later so it had time to thicken up. In fact, I had to add warm chicken stock to thin it out a little later in the day. The plus side to using the corn starch (other than no gluten) is that you don't need the fat which is good because using the turkey necks produced almost no fat at all but it did give me a really dark gravy from all the lovely goodness on the pan bottom. I will make this gravy each and every year. My mom even said she no longer had to worry about making the gravy. My sister was so happy to be able to have gravy with the turkey dinner. Thanks for posting this recipe Dee, I am forever grateful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      This is amazing. I just finished making it. I'm so thankful to have it done two days early! I did use turkey necks as it was what I had on hand and it worked out great! Will do this at every Thanksgiving from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      This is great!!! Thanks for sharing !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      I have been making this recipe for the last few years. Best gravy ever and its super easy. I love that I can make this before the kitchen gets crazy with the rest of the holiday cooking. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      Great Recipe.. Im an AuPair for a family in germany and this year I decided to host a thanksgiving feast! Only thing I needed was a good recipe for gravy & this was my choice! All that changed was I added 1 tsp salt because I used Low sodium Chicken broth.. thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Dee514,

      I am so excited to try this recipe; thank you sharing it. Plus I found the video that Good Housekeeping posted on their site . Again, thank you Dee for listing the ingredients and directions!

      Warmly,
      Sharon Anne

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      I have been making gravy for over 30 years....this is the best I have ever had! My family thought so to! And easy! I ran out of gravy the day after thanksgiving, and found this recipe. The only thing I altered was the turkey wings (our was already cooked)I cut up some dark meat instead....Our dressing with this gravy was better than Thanksgiving! Whooohooo! We are BBQing a TriTip tonight, off to try and alter it for beef. Thanks soooooo much! this is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      I gave it four stars because the taste was good. Some how I really blew the recipe. After it sat for a day it turned into gelatin. I have never been good at making gravy and this just proves it. I used chicken wings because I couldn't find turkey wings. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best (Do-Ahead) Turkey Gravy

    Serving Size: 1 (2626 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 286.2
     
    Calories from Fat 124
    43%
    Total Fat 13.8 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 59.7 mg
    19%
    Sodium 513.0 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 21.8 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites