Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Dipping Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Dipping Sauce

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 07, 2002

      I got adventurous today and made homemade eggrolls for the first time. For the sauce, I was able to find both kinds of oil at a local gourmet store that stoks a whole line of TV chef Ming Tsai's products. The only minor change I made was to add a little garlic. Why? well, because my fresh ginger seemed to have some garlic cloves inseparably glued to it. Instead of whisking the ingredients, I threw them all in the food processor - this emulsified the mixture somwhat so that, when one dipped the egg rolls, one got the full benefit of all the wonderful flavours in the sauce. I had never used fresh ginger before - I used ground ginger in the past. Oh, what a delightfully different and more subtle taste the fresh stuff lends to the sauce. You have made a convert out of me, Lennie - only fresh ginger from now on - it is most assuredly worth the time and effort to peel and grate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2002

      The title is the exact description of this dipping sauce. The sesame oil and chili oil can be found in gourmet or oriental food stores. The sauce also goes well with "dim sum" (Chinese Brunch).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2002

      this is great! you have to try it!! it's very tasty and easy to make.thanks lennie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2003

      This was very tasty. I added some extra rice vinegar and a little minced hot pepper. We used this with steamed chinese dumplings and chinese greens. Thanks Lennie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Good.. but not the best

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Enjoyed this but I too found it strong on the soy sauce. I think next time I'll add a larger proportion of the other spices and maybe even a little sugar. But I was looking for a quick dipping sauce to serve with Lumpia and Tom Ka Kai (Thai Coconut Chicken Soup) and this was it. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      I thought this was a little on the strong side with all the soy sauce. I'll try it again and add some garlic as a couple of the other reviewers suggested. I added a "tad" of sugar also. We had a hard time tasting the chili oil and sesame oil. I used the grated ginger in the jar -- I've always had good luck with it, but maybe the "ultra" fresh ginger would be better. It's a recipe I'll definitely keep -- and try again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2006

      4 from me, 5 from DH. Wickedly hot. A little went a long way on sping rolls. DH almost guzzled it down. Easy to make and I had everything in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Dipping Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (23 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 23.1
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    23%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1062.7 mg
    44%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rice vinegar

    chili oil

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites