Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Crispy French-Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Crispy French-Fries

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on July 18, 2012

      Outstanding! We didn't make it easy. We used Yukon Gold potatoes, which, although they're better for you--don't like to crisp up when they fry, and we tried a new oil, thanks to Dr. Oz--Rice Bran oil. They were PERFECT! I missed the Oregano; I'll try it next time. We salted them fresh out of the fryer, then sprinkled them with a little black truffle oil. THANK YOU for this technique. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Rating the method, as my dear husband crinkled his nose up when I mentioned putting oregano on fries... so I caved and just sprinkled on some fry seasoning. I used the Cuisinart with the 6 mm fry blade and this may have been a bit too thin, but just cut back on cooking time. It's been over an hour since I made these, and they are still crisp at room temp, and the picky 4 year old ate them for dinner so these are a winner in my book! Will outvote husband next time and try the oregano, cause I think it sounds great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      Wow, I never knew that fresh Greek Oregano could be so *good* with french fries! To be honest, I was skeptical at first about including this ingredient, but I am glad I did. The aroma after the oregano heats up is fantastic. I had some trouble keeping my oil's heat regulated, but that was due to my electric stove and not anything to do with the recipe, but my fries got too brown too fast, and I actually skipped the second frying step. The fries still turned out just fine. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      Yum! We had these with Houdini Burgers tonight for a "better than a restaurant" meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

    • on February 03, 2006

      One of the BEST ways I know to achieve crip French Fries EVERY time, is to cover them fist with a FINE coating of cornstarch. Then, fry once, drain and fry again. I got this idea from David Rosengarten, and it has not failed me in 10 years. GA Gutekunst, Medford, NJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      Great fries. I especially like the fact that they can be frozen after the first frying, until you are ready for them. I have been told by DW to throw out all my other french fry recipes!! Thanks for posting this great technique for us. jim

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      Perfect Fries!!! I made them in the afternoon and fried them right before dinner the second time... they were crisp and wonderful... but they were done in seconds, not minutes the second time LOL - I must have had the heat up too high! Thanks ev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2004

      This is a great way to make French Fries, I even half-fry them, then freeze them in bags, then just take out as needed, (defrost in microwave) and fry again for just a just couple of minutes, much better then the store-bought bagged fries that are really dry, and have no taste...yes, they are good with oregano!.....Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2004

      I agree with the recipe poster about the oregano being a must in this recipe. Oregano on these potatoes rocks! I've made it several times and we all LOVE eating these. This recipe is a must try!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Crispy French-Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.0
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    42%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 18.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.8 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 6.6 g
    26%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites