Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Creole/Cajun Seasoning Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Creole/Cajun Seasoning Mix

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2010

      I'm making gator bites tonight and ran out of creole seasoning so I decided to give this recipe a try today. I did have to do some substituting, marjoram for thyme (my thyme is still on the drying rack, dang humidity!) and I cut back on the paprika because I only had 3T, but what I made is really good and I look forward to trying the correct recipe.
      This is so good that I've decided to go ahead and use it to make pulled pork for dinner instead of the steak I was planning with the gator bites.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      I was in a pinch to make red beans and rice. I scaled down to try first is great, I had all the ingredients in the pantry. The flavor is awesome, I will keep some on hand thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Instead of 5 Tbsp Paprika and 1 Tbsp, Cayenne, I used 4 Tbsp Paprika and 2 Tbsp Hot Paprika ("Csíp?s" in Hungarian). Hot Paprika has a more savory flavor, IMHO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2013

      This is an excellent combination! I used for a recipe for Creole Shrimp and Rice and it worked beautifully!! Thanks so much again, Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2013

      Thanks Kittencalskitchen for this recipe. I made this and used it for some jambalaya. Wow!! so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2012

      I return to this recipe over and over again!! It is so much better than any store bought version I've tried. For my purposes, I top a thin piece of white fish (e.g., tilapia) with this creole mix and broil it. It comes out perfectly every time, without needing to add anything else. Thank you Kittencal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      I wish I could give this more star! will never buy again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      perfect

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

    • on June 17, 2011

      Wow...this was the best in a cajun chicken pasta.I loved the flavor while not feeling like my mouth was on fire...hubby agreed.I halved it so as not to make too much.I only had 1-TBSP of season salt so I used what I had & added 1-TBSP of regular salt to compensate.I also added 1-TBSP of both cumin & sugar...for balance.Very tasty stuff!Kittencal My Dear,I keep finding that I am using more of your recipes then anything else!Thanks so much for all your postings!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This is very nice - spicy but not so hot you that's all you taste. Used it for Cajun Chicken Alfredo and it was very flavourful. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2010

      My new Tony's replacement. I only used 1 tablespoon of seasoning salt and that was plenty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      Love this seasoning mix. Originally made it for Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta (also delicious). We loved it so much we use it to season all kinds of dishes. Great on meat and veggies. There will be a jar of this seasoning mix in our refrigerator from now on. Thanks for another great recipe Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      Delicious! Vegan, and suits a wide variety of ingredients and cooking styles. Great to make plain healthy vegatables taste better (just add a tiny drizzle of flax seed oil on top to mix). Makes a great-looking gift if you carefully layer the colours and present in a jar without shaking it first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      This is better than the Cajun seasonings I've bought in the past. I've used it in a stew so far and on boiled shrimp, which was really, really good. Fam preferred this spice to Old Bay even!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Just what I needed! I was looking for a Cajun seasoning mix to use when making Jambalaya Style Chicken and Shrimp as well as a recipe for Crispy Cornmeal Shrimp that I wanted to try. I had to substitute black pepper for the white pepper, but other than that I had everything on hand. I did omit the seasoning salt in an effort to cut down on sodium. Thanks so much for posting, I know I'll find many more uses for this seasoning in the future!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      I used this to season Awesome Red Beans and Rice, and as always, Kittencal, you did not disappoint. This will be used in dishes I haven't even thought of, yet! Thnx for sharing, hon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      So easy and delicious! I used it for several recipes thus far and it is divine...only problem is, I bought some cajun seasoning before I found this recipe and now I don't want to use the store bought! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      This was an awesome cajun mix with just the right amount of spice for a varied group of people who range from spice-sissy to spice lover, as I discovered when I use it for a dinner party. I used it with Baked Creole Potato Wedges and Creole-Style Vegetarian Jambalaya and got rave reviews on both! I even used a little in Cajun Baked Sweet Potato and it worked wonderfully. Thanks for ANOTHER awesome recipe Kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      Thanks for the great recipe!! With the help of RecipeZaar I have started to make my own ranch dressing and taco seasoning, now I can add cajun seasoning to the mix! Tonight I made a small batch of this to use for Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta (Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta) and it turned out great! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Creole/Cajun Seasoning Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (5 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 18

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 16.6
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    19%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 0.7 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    seasoning salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites