29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have a similar recipe...we use 1 cup pecans. We whip tbe heavy cream to stiff peaks and then fold in the mini marshmallows and let it sit for at 2 hrs or overnight. Tip: if you freeze your cranberries before you mince them its much easier. When it comes time to mix the two mixtures together we lightly drain the pineapple and fold everything together. We usually get to this point the next morning. This is a special holiday dish, because that is the only time they have fresh cranberries in the store. My mother-in-law use to make this for my husband every holiday, its been 14 years and he has not missed a holiday without this salad.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildinwy November 25, 2006

Having growing up and still living in the Midwest, I can't help but love fluff salads. This one is no exception - it is fabulous! I used only 1 1/2 cups sugar and thawed frozen cranberries, which I pulsed several times in the food processor to chop them up.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks July 31, 2013

I was going to post this exact recipe and was happy to see it was already here and so well reviewed. My grandma made this every Christmas and it was always a favorite, especially at the kids table!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiffanylynn444 March 02, 2010

Delish! I have made this recipe before and lost my copy - this was it! Super fruit salad that everyone always loves. The super tart cranberries mellow during resting time. I used my mini food processor and chopped the cranberries a small amount at a time - very easy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW December 27, 2007

Thanks, have been looking for this recipe. I however put in grapes too in mine, gives it a bit more crunch and I add pecans since I don't like walnuts. I too freeze my cranberries, makes them easier to mince, and the cool whip tastes the same. Have been searching for days. THANKS TONS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KristenSD November 15, 2007

Very good recipe. I felt it needed more cranberries for my taste. Maybe 1/2 again as much. That would elevate this to 5 stars.<br/>My mother use to make a similar salad and I have been looking for a recipe to make the salad. I believe I have found it.<br/>Thank you

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roger/OH December 05, 2014

Very good! Makes alot! I did substitute Cool Whip for the whipping cream and omitted the nuts, just personal preference. I did reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 C but next time will probably use only 1 C of sugar-the pineapple does add some sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharj364 November 28, 2014

This recipe has been in my family for years and is always an Thanksgiving tradition. Mine is a little different as I use 2 packages ground cranberries and 1 cup sugar. Let this sit overnight and then drain off the liquid. Then add sliced purple grapes and chopped pecans as many as you would like no set amount then fold in 2 containers cool whip. That's it nothing else and it is so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kansa November 18, 2014

This IS the best Cranberry Salad. It reminds me of my mom's Watergate salad, but it's pink. This is definitely gonna grace our table more than just once a year!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Booshman November 28, 2013

Absolutely wonderful!! Thanks for a great recipe! Everyone in the family ate this even those die hard " I hate cranberry salad eaters" loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whittingtonkari November 25, 2011
The BEST Cranberry Salad!