Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The BEST Cranberry Salad! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The BEST Cranberry Salad!

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on November 25, 2006

      I have a similar recipe...we use 1 cup pecans. We whip tbe heavy cream to stiff peaks and then fold in the mini marshmallows and let it sit for at 2 hrs or overnight. Tip: if you freeze your cranberries before you mince them its much easier. When it comes time to mix the two mixtures together we lightly drain the pineapple and fold everything together. We usually get to this point the next morning. This is a special holiday dish, because that is the only time they have fresh cranberries in the store. My mother-in-law use to make this for my husband every holiday, its been 14 years and he has not missed a holiday without this salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2013

      Having growing up and still living in the Midwest, I can't help but love fluff salads. This one is no exception - it is fabulous! I used only 1 1/2 cups sugar and thawed frozen cranberries, which I pulsed several times in the food processor to chop them up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      I was going to post this exact recipe and was happy to see it was already here and so well reviewed. My grandma made this every Christmas and it was always a favorite, especially at the kids table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Delish! I have made this recipe before and lost my copy - this was it! Super fruit salad that everyone always loves. The super tart cranberries mellow during resting time. I used my mini food processor and chopped the cranberries a small amount at a time - very easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Thanks, have been looking for this recipe. I however put in grapes too in mine, gives it a bit more crunch and I add pecans since I don't like walnuts. I too freeze my cranberries, makes them easier to mince, and the cool whip tastes the same. Have been searching for days. THANKS TONS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2014

      Very good recipe. I felt it needed more cranberries for my taste. Maybe 1/2 again as much. That would elevate this to 5 stars.<br/>My mother use to make a similar salad and I have been looking for a recipe to make the salad. I believe I have found it.<br/>Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2014

      Very good! Makes alot! I did substitute Cool Whip for the whipping cream and omitted the nuts, just personal preference. I did reduce the sugar to 1 1/2 C but next time will probably use only 1 C of sugar-the pineapple does add some sweetness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2014

      This recipe has been in my family for years and is always an Thanksgiving tradition. Mine is a little different as I use 2 packages ground cranberries and 1 cup sugar. Let this sit overnight and then drain off the liquid. Then add sliced purple grapes and chopped pecans as many as you would like no set amount then fold in 2 containers cool whip. That's it nothing else and it is so good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      This IS the best Cranberry Salad. It reminds me of my mom's Watergate salad, but it's pink. This is definitely gonna grace our table more than just once a year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      Absolutely wonderful!! Thanks for a great recipe! Everyone in the family ate this even those die hard " I hate cranberry salad eaters" loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      This was so good! My husband and sister don't like cranberries but loved this salad. I will be making this for every holiday from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      YUM YUM! I used what I had on hand. Cool Whip, Splenda and 20 oz can of crushed pineapple. I almost forgot, english walnuts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2008

      Thanks for the fab recipe, Cato. I went to a church party and everyone raved about it! I didn't even have enough time to refridgerate, but it was still great :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      This was wonderful. I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and used light cool whip. Next time I think I will only use 1 cup of sugar. The kids only wanted to eat this at Thanksgiving dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      WOW delicious! This was a hit at Thanksgiving dinner! Great as a dessert also. Could not find black walnuts. I used chopped pecans. Thanks for the recipe H. Cato

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      The kids liked it because it tasted like candy even after cutting the sugar down to 1 cup. Maybe a half a cup of sugar or possibly no sugar next time. The marshmallows and pineapple sweeten it enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      I made this for a quilting group potluck lunch today, and knew that my friends who love sweet salads would like it. My great surprise was that it was not overly sweet, and I thoroughly enjoyed it too! As one quilter said, "It was very refreshing." I even happened to have black walnuts in my freezer, but I imagine that any walnuts or pecans would be as good. I chopped the cranberries (refrigerator temperature) in the food processor. I put them all in at once, and whirred it. Perfect! Thanks a bunch for a new holiday salad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      A girlfriend of mine gave me this very same recipe and I've made this every year since receiving it. It's always a huge hit in our home!! The ingredients and measurements are the same. One word for this recipe ~ DEEEELISH!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This was very good. I too only put a cup and a half of sugar and that was more than enough. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      This was incredible!! So easy to make and was a huge hit at Thanksgiving! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The BEST Cranberry Salad!

    Serving Size: 1 (88 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 230.8
     
    Calories from Fat 96
    41%
    Total Fat 10.7 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 32.6 mg
    10%
    Sodium 18.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 29.0 g
    116%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes