Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Chocolate Cake (Really!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Chocolate Cake (Really!)

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2011

      Talk about CHOCOLATE HEAVEN!!!!!
      Made this for my daughter's bday. It was an AMAZING hit! We haven't tried the caramel frosting yet. We had a chocolate mousse center and a chocolate ganache on top. Definitely a keeper. In fact, I'm about to make it again. I love bdays, so I can justify making something so sinfully divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      If you need to make a chocolate cake and you're all out of cocoa, this is the one to pick! The only variation I made to the cake was to use butter-flavored shortening rather than butter. The cake was chocolately and moist, definitely a keeper. Thanks Roosie :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      I don't know what "andthebrave" is talking about. They must not know how to follow a recipe. But this recipe was delicious!! I think its the best chocolate I have came across yet. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2014

      No joke, this recipe landed me a boyfriend!<br/><br/>It's so rich and moist and fudgey, it truly is THE best chocolate cake ever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2014

      Loved it Roosie, Thanks for sharing!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      This is so moist. I made this for DS's birthday cake and we loved it. I frosted with the caramel frosting and about licked the pan clean!!!! So good. Thank you for this great cake recipe. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Amazing. A cake that lives up to its name! So rich and moist, but not terribly sweet -- perfection!

      Very tasty with the icing recipe provided or with ganache.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      I've made alot of chocolate cakes and although this one was good it wasn't great to us. It had a dense texture which made icing it very easy but it wasn't the best tasting cake that we have ever made. We love fluffy, soft chocolate cakes and this one was a significant diversion. I would recommend trying it however because I think with carmel glaze it's good, but it's not well suited, IMO, for a traditional iced cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Well, it cooked evenly, the icing was pretty good and the finished article looked ok but this was probably the most revolting thing that any of us have had the misfortune to attempty to eat since my wife's failed attempt to make scallop mousse. It is fairly safe to say, after one taste of this, that sour cream should not accompany chocolate in the same mixture. Ever. To see if the grown ups taste was not accommodating enough we gave some to our youngest daughter who eats absolutely everything. Except this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      this was delicious and turned out very well-no crumbling.I made it for my sons 11th birthday.When we sliced into it it cut very cleanly.Also had a lovely delicate chocolate taste.I was not looking for a dark chocolate cake but this turned out moist-yet slightly lighter in taste. I will make this again.All the children enjoyed it.Mt 2 year old was so excited about it he was squealing!!Thankyou!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I'm going to have to agree, this really IS the best chocolate cake! Very rich, but worth every bit of effort. I made this for my wife's birthday this year, and she liked it so much she wouldn't even share it with ME! I made this as a layer cake, and I must say that on top of being delicious, it made for a gorgeous cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I just made this cake for my boyfriend's birthday. His sister doesn't even like chocolate cake, but she tried it for my benefit.. She said it was the BEST cake she has ever had! I used traditional buttercream frosting as a filling and a frosting and it came out wonderful! I definitely recommend this cake to everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      This cake is AWESOME!!!!!!!!! I've made it for quite a few occasions now and it's always a hit- friends and family have started requesting it for parties! Thanks Roosie!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      This cake turned out really dry and crumbly. The taste was good, but it was just too dry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      This cake is WONDERFUL!!! It reminds me of the chocolate prune cake from a bakery near my house. My family, and myself, absolutely LOOOOOVE this chocolate cake. I'm not a huge chocolate fanatic, but I crave this cake. The only thing, I don't care much to use the glaze. It's really good, but I prefer a frosting. Thanks so much for this awesome recipe, Roosie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      Delish! I added a 1/2 tsp. of instant coffee to the boiling water to bring out the chocolate flavor. It was so good! Thanks for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2009

      This cake was really delicious. I saw that some reviewers said that it wasn't chocolatey enough, so i added 100% more bakers chocolate (6 ounces altogether). it ended up super moist, chocolatey and awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      Very tasty and moist. I got three layers out of it and used Easier Stabilized Whipped Cream with sliced strawberries between layers and iced the whole thing with Nana's Chocolate Frosting. Delicious! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      My daughter made this cake for her daughter's 2nd birthday. It was fast and easy to make and was delicious and very moist, almost fudgy. We did a vanilla frosting but would love to try the caramel frosting next time. When we served it, everyone commented on how good it was so thanks for a great chocolate cake recipe that I plan to make again very soon. I'm sure it will be one of my family's favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      If I could give more stars, I would. I made this cake for a friend's birthday. He absolutely loved it. His wife and mother begged for the recipe. Absolutely LOVE it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Chocolate Cake (Really!)

    Serving Size: 1 (259 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 783.9
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    32%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 17.0 g
    85%
    Cholesterol 136.9 mg
    45%
    Sodium 710.0 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 128.7 g
    42%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 102.6 g
    410%
    Protein 7.1 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes