586 Reviews

When you call yourself the Best, you have alot to live up to and this chili just doesn't live up to the hype. Way too sweet and far too much emphasis on beer and coffee for flavor. Chili should taste like chili.. smoky, slightly sweet, spicy and a warm bite. This just doesn't cut it for me. Sorry.

79 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BellesArizona October 05, 2010

This why i hate some3times trying to find recipes on the internet. I actually found this recipe on allrecipes and i it sounded good but after trying it i beg to differ. Like some other reviews said its way to sweet. Ive used 1-2 tbsp of brown sugar before which is just fine but 1/2 cup is WAY to much. I do admit it does get a little better the next day but its still not that great.

36 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ncage October 05, 2010

This is a sweet version of chili and doesn't compare to a true smoky Texas chili.

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophisticated Taste Buds! July 08, 2010

I have made this recipe several times with a couple of slight modifications, and everyone who has tasted it has loved it - many people have asked me for my version of the recipe. For starters, I use chuck instead of sirloin for superior beefy flavor. I also do not use any of the sugar. I also add 1 tsp of hickory flavored liquid smoke. Here's the whole ingredients list:

2 onions, chopped

10 or more cloves garlic, minced

2-3 lbs ground beef

2-3 lbs chuck steak, cut into small cubes, most of the fat removed.

2 (14 1/2 ounce) cans fire-roasted diced tomatoes

1 cup strong coffee or a couple of teaspoons of instant espresso

2 (12 ounce) cans tomato paste

1 can beef broth (or 1 TBsp of "better than broth" beef base and 12 oz of water)

3 1/2 tablespoons Heinz chili sauce (about 1/2 of a regular-sized bottle)

1 tablespoon ground cumin

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 tablespoon dried oregano leaves

1 tablespoon ground cayenne

1 tablespoon ground coriander

1 tablespoon onion powder

1 - 2 tablespoons crushed red pepper

1 tablespoon salt (or to taste)

1 teaspoon hickory flavor liquid smoke

6 - 8 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, black beans, pinto beans etc - make it as beany as you want - don't drain them unless the chili is already too runny

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian Damage November 05, 2010

I have never rated anything before and wasn't even signed up with food.com but I was so dissapointed with this recipe that I changed my mind and signed up. Too sweet and too much cumin. Just not right. Won't make again. Definitely not the best chili I ever tasted.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dblock33 January 09, 2011

Not good. Way beyond too sweet. Sorry but this not a keeper.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DendoBendo October 08, 2010

Meh. Didn't taste very much like chili to me, and I follow the instructions to the T. I didn't find that the sweet and spicy flavors complemented each other very well- the beer has enough sugar in it that you don't really need to add the brown sugar. It *was* easy, but I won't be making this again.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melilia June 09, 2010

Seriously the best chili I've ever had or made. I also cut down the brown sugar to 2 TB - may just do 1 TB next time. But I found the sweet a good compliment to the heat. I was really drawn to this recipe because of it's lack of chili powder - which ruins chili in my opinion. I didn't use the sirlon & switched out two cans of pinto beans for the (light) kidney beans. It was AWESOME! I only used 1 serrano pepper & 1 jalepeno & it was super hot - & I can take some heat. I also simmered it for several hours and on day 2, LOOK OUT, it's even better! My 5 yr old who "hates" chili ate this like a champ after seeing how good we thought it was. (Used decaf but wasn't sure about the beer for her to be eating....???) THANK YOU! This is my new favorite recipe!!!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boofus7 December 14, 2010

This may be due to my preference, but I love my chili ... but I wanted to try something different. I loved the beer and cocoa since I do use that in other recipes, but I am not sure what didn't work. But WAY WAY too sweet, just not like chili should be. The sirloin was nice but there just was a lot missing for me and the sweet just took over. I saw this a few weeks ago and printed it out and was taking it to a friend today. I actually threw the entire pot out and started over. For me it was nothing I wanted to eat. My friend tasted it and felt the same way. I'm sorry. Just didn't think it was good.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook October 07, 2010

This was a bit too sweet for my taste, but I'm going to try to make it again without the brown sugar.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeAnna Owens August 09, 2010
The Best Chili You Will Ever Taste