Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Chili You Will Ever Taste Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Chili You Will Ever Taste

    Average Rating:

    554 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 554

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2010

      When you call yourself the Best, you have alot to live up to and this chili just doesn't live up to the hype. Way too sweet and far too much emphasis on beer and coffee for flavor. Chili should taste like chili.. smoky, slightly sweet, spicy and a warm bite. This just doesn't cut it for me. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2010

      This why i hate some3times trying to find recipes on the internet. I actually found this recipe on allrecipes and i it sounded good but after trying it i beg to differ. Like some other reviews said its way to sweet. Ive used 1-2 tbsp of brown sugar before which is just fine but 1/2 cup is WAY to much. I do admit it does get a little better the next day but its still not that great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      This is a sweet version of chili and doesn't compare to a true smoky Texas chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      I have made this recipe several times with a couple of slight modifications, and everyone who has tasted it has loved it - many people have asked me for my version of the recipe. For starters, I use chuck instead of sirloin for superior beefy flavor. I also do not use any of the sugar. I also add 1 tsp of hickory flavored liquid smoke. Here's the whole ingredients list:

      2 onions, chopped

      10 or more cloves garlic, minced

      2-3 lbs ground beef

      2-3 lbs chuck steak, cut into small cubes, most of the fat removed.

      2 (14 1/2 ounce) cans fire-roasted diced tomatoes

      1 cup strong coffee or a couple of teaspoons of instant espresso

      2 (12 ounce) cans tomato paste

      1 can beef broth (or 1 TBsp of "better than broth" beef base and 12 oz of water)

      3 1/2 tablespoons Heinz chili sauce (about 1/2 of a regular-sized bottle)

      1 tablespoon ground cumin

      2 tablespoons cocoa powder

      1 tablespoon dried oregano leaves

      1 tablespoon ground cayenne

      1 tablespoon ground coriander

      1 tablespoon onion powder

      1 - 2 tablespoons crushed red pepper

      1 tablespoon salt (or to taste)

      1 teaspoon hickory flavor liquid smoke

      6 - 8 (15 ounce) can kidney beans, black beans, pinto beans etc - make it as beany as you want - don't drain them unless the chili is already too runny

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      This may be due to my preference, but I love my chili ... but I wanted to try something different. I loved the beer and cocoa since I do use that in other recipes, but I am not sure what didn't work. But WAY WAY too sweet, just not like chili should be. The sirloin was nice but there just was a lot missing for me and the sweet just took over. I saw this a few weeks ago and printed it out and was taking it to a friend today. I actually threw the entire pot out and started over. For me it was nothing I wanted to eat. My friend tasted it and felt the same way. I'm sorry. Just didn't think it was good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Meh. Didn't taste very much like chili to me, and I follow the instructions to the T. I didn't find that the sweet and spicy flavors complemented each other very well- the beer has enough sugar in it that you don't really need to add the brown sugar. It *was* easy, but I won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I have never rated anything before and wasn't even signed up with food.com but I was so dissapointed with this recipe that I changed my mind and signed up. Too sweet and too much cumin. Just not right. Won't make again. Definitely not the best chili I ever tasted.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Seriously the best chili I've ever had or made. I also cut down the brown sugar to 2 TB - may just do 1 TB next time. But I found the sweet a good compliment to the heat. I was really drawn to this recipe because of it's lack of chili powder - which ruins chili in my opinion. I didn't use the sirlon & switched out two cans of pinto beans for the (light) kidney beans. It was AWESOME! I only used 1 serrano pepper & 1 jalepeno & it was super hot - & I can take some heat. I also simmered it for several hours and on day 2, LOOK OUT, it's even better! My 5 yr old who "hates" chili ate this like a champ after seeing how good we thought it was. (Used decaf but wasn't sure about the beer for her to be eating....???) THANK YOU! This is my new favorite recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      Not good. Way beyond too sweet. Sorry but this not a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2010

      This was a bit too sweet for my taste, but I'm going to try to make it again without the brown sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      Just finished eating this for supper. Not even close to the best chili I've ever tasted. My DH only ate 4 or 5 bites. The flavor is initially good (we like the spice combination), but it finishes on a bitter note that neither of us found very palatable. Will try to make again some day with out the beer and coffee. We are very disappointed that we didn't like this as much as everyone else does.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Sorry, did not like this at all! It was far too SWEET for one and the flavor was weak.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Outstanding chili with a flavor that is far different from typical chili. Imagine- a chili recipe with no chili powder! I used only two cans of beans and added three finely chopped jalapenos for a little heat. This was the winning recipe at my school's chili cook-off this month! I thought the sweetness was a welcome change from the chili I've been used to. Folks who might not like theirs as sweet could cut down on the brown sugar and still have a delicious chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2010

      I have to feed 30 hungry train[wo]men and multiplying this recipe by 7 following the same cooking directions still turned out wonderful. I experimented and used pinto, black and kidney beans for added color and texture. This recipe was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Has any one tried the Metric version? Who the hell measures 9.52 mL? Here is the Real Metric Version

      Ingredients -
      The recipe is Metric - one cup = 250 mL, one tablespoon = 15 mL, one teaspoon = 5 mL
      2 teaspoons oil
      2 onions, chopped
      3 cloves garlic, minced
      500 g lean ground beef
      375 g beef sirloin, cubed
      1 (425 g) can diced tomatoes
      1 can dark beer
      1 cup strong coffee
      2 (170 g) cans tomato paste
      1 can beef broth
      1/2 cup brown sugar
      3 1/2 tablespoons chili sauce
      1 tablespoon cumin
      1 tablespoon cocoa
      1 teaspoon oregano
      1 teaspoon cayenne
      1 teaspoon coriander
      1 teaspoon salt
      4 (425 g) cans kidney beans
      4 chili peppers, chopped

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      This was too sweet for our taste. I used only 2 cans of kidney beans and one can of black beans for variety and only 2 chili peppers. Will definitely make this again, but with only 1/4 cup brown sugar. Loved the texture and consistency, nice and thick with just the right amount of sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2011

      This is way too sweet. I doubled this recipe and could not hardly bear the sweetness. Made this for a group and they all said the same thing. I will try it again but use little to no sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      Too sweet and as other reviewers have said, too much beer and coffee flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      Obviously I'm in the minority here, but I don't see what all the fuss is about. This chile tastes more like baked beans with meat in it and although it's nice, I like my chile to taste like chile. The sweetness was the only drawback for me--it had a nice flavor otherwise & you couldn't even tell there was beer, coffee and chocolate in it. But that might be because of the sweetness! If I ever make it again, which is doubtful, I would omit most or all of the sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      Sorry just didn't do it for me, maybe it was that I used a crockpot ?I
      used 3 seeded jalapenos, and two cans of beans was plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 28

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Chili You Will Ever Taste

    Serving Size: 1 (610 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 705.7
     
    Calories from Fat 171
    24%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 91.6 mg
    30%
    Sodium 2178.4 mg
    90%
    Total Carbohydrate 84.3 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 20.2 g
    81%
    Sugars 36.0 g
    144%
    Protein 47.3 g
    94%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites