Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on January 11, 2006

      This is, indeed, the best tortilla soup! I made this last night with homemade chicken stock, added some corn, and crockpot chicken taco meat (#4957) to produce the most incredible soup. YUM! My DH couldn't stop eating this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      The reason I love zaar is for reasons like this. I love tortilla soup, and I depsarately wanted to like this soup, but it was too bland for me. Really no depth of flavor and if I do make this again I will cut the oil in half -- not for health reasons but the broth was too oily after cooked. I added more cumin but that did not help the flavor. My favorite tortilla soup still is 4627

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      I followed the recipe exactly, and it was awesome! Very flavourful and just the right amount of kick. I made Junebug's Seasoned Tortilla Strips (#100646) and sprinkled them over top as well, delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      This was SO good! I was worried because I was making it for dinner guests, but had never made it before?! I was so happy when it came out GREAT! Everyone raved about it - even the kids liked it, whom it was not too spicy for. Great flavor. I will make it again soon! I should note I doubled it, which worked fine. I also added corn as suggested - a nice addition, but did not have black beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2005

      Great recipe! I halved the recipe for just me and my husband and it came out nicely. Next time I need to make sure the strips of corn tortillas are nice and crispy before adding other soup ingredients. It all got soggy and broke down this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

    • on November 18, 2005

      Made this soup last week, husband loved it, son loved it, and picky girlfriend loved it. They raved to my daughter in AZ who has begged me to make some and bring it to her when we visit. Will make this again and again!! Berniluvstocook

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2005

      The soup wasn't quite what I was expecting, but it was still very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      EXCELLENT! I would give it 10 stars. I was really blown away with how flavorful this soup was. I hesitated to put in 2 Tablespoons of cumin, but I did and it was perfect. This will become a signature dish of mine. Absolutely LOVED IT. Thank you LorenLou.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2005

      I had my dad over for dinner, and he has to limit his sodium for health reasons. I used low sodium chicken broth and didn't add the salt and the result was still outstanding. I think with all of the other spices, the salt wasn't missed. I had leftovers for lunch today, and the soup was even better than it was last night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      Great recipe, really easy to make. Great flavor, so hearty! Will use this recipe again very soon! Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2005

      Great recipe with great flavor! Very easy to make. I had no corn tortillas so I reduced the amount of oil in the beginning and added broken taco shells while it simmered and later as a garnish. I also used canned tomatoes and green chilies instead of just plain tomatoes. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      Indeed, the best Tortilla Soup! My husband is sensative to overly hot foods, but he said this is now his favorite. Spicy - but just on the brink. The chopped tortillas and the chicken make for a thick hearty soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      Great recipe. I finished it off this morning, thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      This was hearty and fabulous. I made a few changes to suit our tastes. I omitted the bay leaves and I added 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp black pepper, and 1 tsp worcestershire sauce. I also added corn and black beans per a couple of the other reviewers suggestions. The best compliment of all was that my teenage daughter went back for seconds. She doesn't do that very often! The only change that I will make in the future is to add the shredded chicken breasts at the beginning of the cooking time and let the meat simmer in the soup. I think that the meat would be more tender that way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      This was very good and we made it exactly as stated EXCEPT I made a mistake and used flour tortillas instead of corn which lended a very mushy slimy texture in every bite that contained flour tortillas. Don't do that! Read the label of your product! The only thing I might change is not using quick as much garlic next time because my breath was really 'kickin' the whole night after eating this soup. Never mind, though. Bad breath or not as a result, this one is going in my 'tried and true' folder. Thanks for submitting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2005

      This recipe is really yummy. I added black beans and corn towards the end and it was delicious. I highly recommend this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      This was really good! I simmered it for several hours instead of 30 minutes. It just got better and better the longer it simmered. Topped it with sour cream, tortilla strips, avocado, and Mexican farmers cheese. YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2005

      Absolutely wonderful soup..I really enjoyed the flavours..I only had 1 Tbsp of cumin but that didnt make the soup any less tasty. I served with the grated cheese, avocado and sour cream..a favourite for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2005

      I never realized that I had never really had tortilla soup until I tried this recipe. We were going to make some sort of chicken something or other, but my wife said she didn't really feel like making it. I had seen this recipe scroll by in my zaar RSS feed, so I suggested we make it together. We had all the ingredients except cilantro on hand (and the soup suffered as a result), but oh, was this good. We miscalculated on the size of the pan we would need and had to leave out 2 cups of broth, which made us worry that we would have to figure out a way to dilute the soup after it was done. Our concerns were misplaced - this soup is delicious even if you mess it up like we did. The true test of a good soup is how well it does when reheated. This soup has raised the bar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.6
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    51%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 778.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked chicken breast halves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes