Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2007

      Very, very good. I did not have the large can of diced tomatoes on hand, so I added 2- 14.5oz cans of petite diced tomatoes instead. I also added a can of "summer crisp" corn and a drained can of black beans. I froze half the batch in single servings for lunches. It was great the day I made it, and also again later in the week. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Excellent! This soup is so hearty, it makes a perfect meal on it's own. I just make a few revisions to suit our own taste buds: I prefer a little less diced tomato (only about 2/3 of a 28 oz. can instead) since the tomato causes the broth to be a little too sweet for our taste. Also used petite diced tomato (as per another reviewer). We like our tortillas in our soup to be a little crunchy, so I bake them separately in the oven and then add tortillas towards the end of the cooking time instead. I have made this recipe about 4 times so far, and it is always a hit with the entire family. The sliced avocado, crispy tortillas and jack cheese make a fantastic garnish to an already superb meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      I made this soup two times because the first time didn't work out so well for me. I used flour tortillas which didn't work and made the soup a bit slimy tasting. The second time I used unsalted corn tortilla chips because I couldn't find corn tortillas anywhere. Much better! I really liked the taste of the soup - nice and spicy. The soup is easy to make. I added corn niblets and next time I will also add black beans. I definitely recommend the avocados as a garnish which really adds to and completes the taste. I am going to keep making this soup for sure! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      Wonderful recipe -- I especially like that this one doesn't use already canned soups in order to make... a soup! I had all these ingredients in my pantry. My alterations: I only used one bay leaf, and instead of chile powder, I tossed in one dried chile, cut in half (I fished it out before I served it). One thing that I didn't realize before making tortilla soup is that the corn tortillas do not actually STAY whole -- they are meant to be a thickeners. You can essentially adjust the thickness of the soup to your liking by adding or removing the amount of tortillas (I sliced them before tossing them in). You can go up to about 3 tablespoons of cumin before it gets to be too much. A can of drained, rinsed black or pinto beans would be a great addition as well. The longer you let the cook simmer, the more intense the flavors. This soup is excellent the next day. I made little corn quesadillas to eat along with this soup. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Wonderful! Just as all the reviews said. I did add a can of black beans. Delicious. Froze half the batch and it reheated beautifully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      I make this quite a bit with green bell peppers and jalapenos or poblanos. This is perhaps the best thing you can do with leftover chicken, in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Wow!!! We sure enjoyed this wonderful soup!!! This will be a staple on the menu. Thanks LorenLou

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Very very good! I followed the directions exactly and it was wonderful. I do wish I had used petite diced tomatoes but that's just a personal preference. Served with a big dollup of sour cream. This was so easy too. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      This is an excellent recipe! I've never made this kind of soup before and it was a pleasure to make such a tasty recipe my first attempt. I questioned the amount of cumin but trusted the submitter and it wouldn't be the same without it. I also added about 1/2 cup each of sliced carrot, celery and frozen corn because we like our veggies. Didn't add any salt, the canned items were salty enough for our tastes. I also used just two chicken breasts; those girls must have been blessed because it was just the right amount for us. Thanks for the easy, delicious recipe and the good experience!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      Loved it! Made exactly as directed except didn't add salt because the broth I used was salty. It came out perfect. I cut a few tortillas into strips and baked them to sprinkle on top with the avocado and cheeses. My daughter added a dollop of sour cream. We both loved it. Thanks LorenLou.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      This soup was really tasty! It really hit the spot tonight as we are all under the weather :) I didn't have cilantro or bay leaves but I thought it tasted good without them. Next time I will make sure I have those on hand. I also added a can of navy beans just to stretch the soup for our large family. Everyone loved it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      This was a fantastic soup, didn't change a thing and it was lapped up. will do again often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      This soup is awesome! I love, love, love it. Everytime I share it with a friend, they ALWAYS ask for the recipe. I've made it over a dozen times and get cravings for it when it's been awhile. This is so good-you must try it for yourself and see!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      delicious soup! all my friends asked for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      Very, VERY good!! My DH was so happy!! I followed the recipe almost exactly, except only had 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes, so diced and added 2 plum tomatoes in addition, and also used shredded rotisserie chicken, maybe the equivalent of one or two chicken breasts. Excellent flavor! I thought the sour cream & fried tortilla strip garnishes topped it off perfectly. I think it would also accomodate corn, black beans or green chilies well, too. Thank you for a new favorite - we loved it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2006

      This was the best tortilla soup we have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly. We topped our soup with fresh avocado, chips, sour cream, and tomato. It was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      Yum! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      I make my own chicken stock (lower sodium). I grilled my chicken, then shredded it. Awesome! I have to double this, next time, as it was totally gone. A unaminous multi-thumbs up; great spices, lots of flavor and pretty low fat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      Very Good! My mother has bragged to everyone and now they want me to make it for them too. I added a can of corn only by my father's request and it didn't hurt a bit. Great Job!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      This is, indeed, the best tortilla soup! I made this last night with homemade chicken stock, added some corn, and crockpot chicken taco meat (#4957) to produce the most incredible soup. YUM! My DH couldn't stop eating this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.6
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    51%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 778.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked chicken breast halves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites