Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    105 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 105

    Sort by:

    • on December 12, 2008

      This soup made a very tasty, filling dinner for a cold rainy Tuesday night. I too added black beans and some chipolte powder for extra spice. Next time I would only use about 2 Tbls of oil - 6 was way too much for us! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I loved this soup! I added black beans and carrots and omitted cilantro because I didn't have any. This was delicious. Oh, I also used blue corn chips since I didn't have tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      This soup is excellent! I halved the recipe; used tortilla chips instead; tomatoes with basil and balsamic vinegar; dried cilantro; a whole tablespoon of chili powder and leftover rotisserie chicken. I used too many chips making it thicker than it should have been. (At this point it was super good.) So I added two cups of water and about a half a jar of Pace salsa. It changed the flavor a bit, but it was just as excellent in a different way. Awesome, awesome recipe!! And fast! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      I have given this recipe out every time I have served it to guest!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      really great flavor! the only thing i'd change next time around is to use bite-sized chunks of chicken instead of shreds - just a personal preference, since i don't care for the texture of most meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

    • on April 24, 2008

      This was great, we doubled the recipe for a big family dinner. We also used flour tortillas because our family prefers them! I had to add extra oil to the frying tortillas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      Simply delicious. I've been looking a long time for this recipe! Thanks Loren!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This was an awesome soup. The taste was perfect for myself and hubbie. I added only 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp cayenne and that was right on for us. Only thing is, next time I think I will add between 5 - 6 tortillas in the beginning, to make it more brothy. That way, I think it will be more reminiscent of the soup we had in Chiapas. Thanks so much for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      I agree, this is the best tortilla soup I've made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      This soup will warm your toes on the coldest nights! To make the soup heartier, I added a can each of garbanzo beans, black beans and corn toward the end of the cooking time. And to kick up the heat a notch, I substituted a mince jalapeno pepper for the cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was loved by all! I coated only 2 large chicken breasts with old bay seasoning and cooked them in 2 tablespoons olive oil in my dutch oven. I removed the cooked chicken and let cool. I added another tablespoon oil to the chicken drippings to sautee the garlic and onions. I also added 1/2 anaheim chili, 2 diced celery ribs, and a diced red bell pepper. Instead of the diced tomato, I chopped 2 medium tomatoes and added a can of diced green chilis. Instead of the cumin and chili powder, I used a Hot Taco Packet. I too added the shredded chicken to simmer for the 30 minutes. I love the texture and taste of this tortilla soup and I loved serving it with the crispy fried tortilla chips and sour cream!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      I make this ALL the time now. I add corn and black beans to make it a little more thick, but otherwise perfect place to start. Thank you!!!// Made it again tonight, this time with hominy. good stuff!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      Very good soup!! I'm not big on cilantro so I use just a couple teaspoons of it, and it still tastes great!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      My first try with the recipe zaar and it was awesome. Incredibly easy and delicious. Thanks LorenLou.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      This was an AWESOME recipe! I made it for the first time a few weeks ago and it was gone the next day--just between my boyfriend and I! I then made it to bring on my family Thanksgiving trip (it was gone in one sitting!) and after I made the batch for the trip felt guilty and made another batch for the BF--which was gone in a couple of days! I add black beans and corn and it's PERFECT! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2007

      Wow!!The soup is delicious! I told my husband to buy me some tortillas and he ended up buying my 96 count! Like I know what to do with all those tortillas. Lol. Well know I do! I added 9 corn tortillas and also like the other reviewer, I added corn, black beans, green chilies, and parsley (instead of cilantro). I had never made tortilla soup before and I will be making this a lot. This soup is so thick and has strong flavors. Thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I really loved this soup. I also added mexicorn and black beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2007

      Oh sweet mystery of life at last I've found you! Exactly the recipe I've been looking for. A few personal ammendments, I used: Veggie oil instead of canola. 1Tbl minced garlic outta the jar 2Tbl dried parsley instead of cilantro (boyfriend hates it) 3 10oz cans Rotel diced tomatoes/green chilies Homemade chili powder (#22859... SO much better than storebought, you've GOT to try it!) Brown Chicken Stock (#56806) 1 Can Drained Sweet Kernel Corn 1 Can Drained Black Beans Once I reduced the heat, I transferred this to my crock pot and added the chicken, salt, & cayenne. Left it on low overnight. Absolutely divine taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Absolutely delicious! It does take time, but it is very good. I've made it twice already. I did leave out the tomatoes the first time because of personal preferences, however, it was good with the tomatoes and without! Great recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.6
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    51%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 778.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked chicken breast halves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites