106 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This soup was fantastic! I used two large boneless, uncooked chicken breasts cut into bite-size chunks, sprinkled them with salt, pepper, cayenne and cumin - threw that in while I satueed the veggies (to which I added some celery). Also added in some rinsed black beans and substituted parsley for cilantro (bf HATES it), and used diced tomatoes with chilies. I brought everything up to a boil and then kept it at a simmer for about 3 hours and it thickened up beautifully. I cut remaining tortillas into thick strips which I fried in vegetable oil and sprinkled with sea salt, cumin and a little cayenne - super yummy on top of the soup with some sour cream, mexican blend cheese and a squeeze of lime. This recipes is amazing as is, and can withstand substitutions and additions beautifully to accomodate your own personal preferences.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Danielle Powers November 16, 2008

This is a great recipe! It's simple and the flavor is wonderful! I knew I was going to have a hectic day so I made it in the crockpot. I boiled my chicken and then shredded it. I followed step 2 in a fry pan and then put all ingredients in my crock pot on low for 6 hours. I only used 4 tbsp oil and I added a can of corn and a can of pinto beans. My MIL stopped by after it had cooked only 3 hours and had a small bowl and she thought is was good then even though the tortillas had not completely broken down. My family loved it and I have to agree with them- it tasted wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenJellyBean November 11, 2008

I am a huge fan of tortilla soup and I have been looking for a good recipe. I tried another recipe on this website and it wasn't very good. THIS recipe, however, was sooo tasty! I just added corn and black beans and we all loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soniablade_20 September 24, 2008

This soup recipe is DELICIOUS. I'm a New Yorker from Texas and have been searching for years for a great, authentic tortilla soup recipe?This is IT!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k8woods October 26, 2014

Hubby and I love this. I like the idea of adding the corn tortillas in the soup. We add cheese and sour cream on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homey December 30, 2013

This is a very simple, easy but yet extremely good chicken tortilla soup! It was my first attempt at making Chicken Tortilla soup and this recipe is a KEEPER!!! It can be easily modified to your liking, which I have done. I feel that my changes didn't alter the recipe too much so I am giving it a five star. I followed the ingredients listed but added one green diced pepper and one can of sweet corn (drained). Instead of using one big can of diced tomatoes, I changed it to 1 small can of petite diced tomatoes and 1 can of pureed tomatoes (we aren't crazy about eating a lot of pieces of tomatoes, even when they are small). I also pureed my soup with an handheld stick blender (diced tomatoes, drained sweet corn and chicken were added AFTER I blended the soup, didn't want those to be blended/pureed. When using a stick blender into the soup, it turns the corn tortilla into more of a soup thickener and not everyone likes soggy corn tortillas, I know I don't so I just pureed the soup and it turns it thick enough that the chicken and corn doesn't go at the bottom of the bowl, so you get a mouth full of all the goodness in each bite!!! :) I wanted to add black beans too but didn't have any on hand, it was delicious without and it would have been good with it as well. Oh, I also used my Ninja chopper to dice my chicken into small bits, because I love the texture of bits of chicken in a soup instead of big chucks. Add the chicken separately in bowls if you have someone that doesn't like chicken in your family, that is more of a vegetarian (like my oldest daughter that isn't crazy about chicken).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveMy2Angels December 18, 2013

yum! Easy simple perfect! I didn't even have enough cumin, less than half, but still wonderful! I used half the cayenne but would have liked all was hoping kids would eat the soup but they weren't a fan anyway so next time I may just make for adults :) I didn't try the tortilla part of the recipe but may someday, I had a bag of tortilla stips as a topping. thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m November 30, 2013

OMG!! For a year my husband has been ordering chicken tortilla soup at a local restaurant and paying $4 for a small bowl - way too much in my opinion. I finally took the time to find a recipe online and made it this weekend. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a can of rinsed black beans and a can of drained whole kennel corn. Made it on Sunday afternoon and put in the fridge - ate it for dinner on Monday without any of the fancy garnish because frankly I didn't have any of it in the house and I was too tired and hungry to go to the grocery store after work. Again - OMG!! So very good - spicy but not overpowering. So glad that this was the chicken tortilla recipe that I found and chose to make. It will definitely be made many times in my house - maybe next time with the garnish!! Thank you LorenLou.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LovesToCook from Illinois October 22, 2013

The title is spot on. This is the BEST Chicken Tortilla soup! I've made it several times now and everyone loves it. I usually use shredded rotisserie chicken and add a can of drained black beans. Easy to make and sooo good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DesertRose15 October 17, 2013

this was amazing! I followed the recipe almost exactly except i added kidney beans... delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StephyO November 08, 2012
The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup