Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2012

      Everybody loved this! I added some lime juice at the very end!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      After having this recipe saved for ages, I finally decided to give it a try today! It is FANTASTIC! The only thing I did differently, which probably added a ton more cooking time is I cooked a pack of Boneless Skinless Chicken breast last night in my slow cooker. I added about 4 cups or so of hot water with about 6 chicken boullion cubes (melted in that water) then added it into the crock pot to slow cook the chicken in. I find that shredded chicken is so much nicer after coming out of the slow cooker. Then I added that to this recipe today. I also added about 1/2 11oz can of green giant yellow corn niblets..it's awesome! I REALLY want to add some black beans so bad.. but 2 kiddies and the other half hate beans..:( one day, I will add it for myself! thank you so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

    • on October 28, 2011

      Pretty good. Heavier on tomatoes than my usual. DH likes my usual one better, but I like this one a lot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      This was really good. BUT, the 2 Tablespoons of cumin scared me at first...seemed like an awful lot. Then I checked and saw that Emeril had a recipe with 1 1/2 Tablespoons, so I figured it was alright. I've never had tortilla soup that didn't have some veggies in it, maybe that's a California thing. So I put in 3 ribs of celery and 5 carrots. I see with the extra veggies I need a couple more cups of stock, so all that cumin will be ok.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      my kids and I loved this! This is an awesome recipe, thanks tons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      This is good, although a little heavier on the oil than I would like. It had a thin layer of oil accumulate while simmering. Irregardless, it tasted good. Maybe add some black beans next time?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This is very good. I make this to use up extra corn tortillas from taco night. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

    • on January 03, 2010

    • on December 27, 2009

      very good recipe. I did thinsg a little different but it turned out just as delicious. I cooked the cilantro, tortilla strips, onion, and garlic in a frying pan. After 2-3 minutes I added the diced tomatoes. Once it came to a boil, I added that and the rest of the ingrediants to a crock pot and had that heating for a few hours. I also used a pre-made roasted chicken from the grocery store and it was excellent. I will be making this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      This one is great! Reminds me of home (Texas.) I added a can of corn too. If you're from Texas you might want to add more chili powder or cayenne to kick it up a notch, I followed the recipe exactly and my kids loved it. This one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      This did turn out good in the end, but I reduced the cayenne to 1/4 tsp. and added an extra cup of chicken broth because it was really spicy for my tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      This was really good. I added some leftover rice with the chicken. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Thanks LorenLou! Excellent and easy recipe! I had a house full of teenage boys, my husband and myself - we all devoured this! We all loved the flavors and the heartiness of this soup. It is not TOO heavy, it has the right consistency, not too soupy or too thick, and the spice combinations are perfect. I added a bit of roasted chipotle powder to my own bowl because I like it spicy. For those that don't want too much heat, this is just right as it is. Onto my "make again" list it goes! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This was my first attempt at Chicken Tortilla Soup, so I am not sure how it is supposed to taste. I will say that this recipe went into my keepers pile very quickly. I did make a few changes (more like additions) with jalapenos (i like it hot) and corn. I, too, reduced the oil in half and used 14 oz of fire roasted diced tomatoes with 14 oz of spicy salsa. I also used red and green peppers. Finally, I just baked my garnishing tortillas. They were great -- crunchy and healthier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Delicious! We're enjoying this right now. We both love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      This soup was delicious! I used a whole chicken and the broth from that. I also added 1/2 cup of celery finely chopped and a red and green bell pepper cut in strips to the soup...I garnished with cheese, chips, avocado, and fresh cilantro. It was a huge hit. My family loved it so much...this will definitely be something we will make a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      This soup is amazing will definitely make it again. Went with a little less seasonings bc i didn't have quite enough and it was still great. Also had no bay leafs so I used thyme about a tsp and left it in. Thanks for a GREAT recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      I thought this was great and will make it again. I used bone-in chicken breasts that I roasted and then shredded, 6 corn tortillas, a drizzle of olive oil, heaping tbsp. of chopped garlic, large onion, 15 oz. can of petite diced tomatoes, 1.5 tbsp. of cumin, 2 tsp. of chili powder, and 32 oz. of chicken stock. I added 1/2 C. of black beans and a handful of frozen corn. It was yummy topped with chunks of avocado, sour cream, jack cheese, and fried tortilla strips. I had to pick the beans out of hubby's serving to get him to eat it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.6
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    51%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 778.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked chicken breast halves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites