107 Reviews

I made this last night for my BF and two of his male friends. It was completely gone. They loved it!! I cooked the chicken according to the "Crock Pot Shredded Chicken in Beer" recipe and let it simmer for another hour or so after I shredded it so it would absorb as much of that flavor as possible. I added diced green and red peppers with the onions, cilantro, and tortillas, and then added a can of whole kernel corn and a can of black beans with the chicken stock. I put it on low and let it simmer uncovered for about an hour and a half, stirring every 15-20 minutes or so. I didn't even have to add the cayenne pepper. The taste was concentrated and spicy and the broth thickened to our liking. I served it with shredded cheese, fried corn tortilla crisps, and sour cream on the side. Will DEFINITELY be making this again. Thank you so much LorenLou!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beanie06 March 31, 2011

Awesome soup! I used 1/4t Chipotle instead of the cayenne (and it was plenty spicy) I also didn't have any corn tortillas, so I used 2 flour ones instead. Next time I'll definitely get use corn tortillas.. And like other reviewers, I added a can of rinsed/drained black beans and a can of corn. I'm glad I did because otherwise there would have been way too much broth for our liking. Thanks for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TattooedMamaof2 March 08, 2011

So easy, so flavorful. This has become a new family favorite. Using a rotisserie chicken makes an easy recipe even easier Who'd a thunk that the corn torillas would basically "melt" into the soup as a thickener. I've made this twice in the past two weeks and plan to take a double bathch to a Super Bowl party.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tintern February 02, 2010

This was really delicious! I made a few changes...I only used 3 tablespoons of oil. I added a packet of Hot and spicey Taco mix, 1 cup frozen corn, 1 can black beans- rinsed and drained, 1 tsp Lea & Perins, 1 tsp of pickapeppa, 2-3 green onions chopped, 1 can of chick peas- rinsed and drained, 2 tsp lime juice, 2 cans of diced tomatoes with jalapenos and 2 boxes of chicken stock. I also sprinkled the chicken breasts with some cumin while cooking. We garnished with shredded mexican mix cheese, sour cream, chives and tortilla scoops. YUMMY!!! Thanks so much for a great recipe starter!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thea January 19, 2008

This is the best chicken tortilla soup i have ever had! My family absolutely loved it! The flavors were incredible and it was just perfect on cold day. I wouldn't change a thing to this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SouthernCookin'Queen November 21, 2011

This is the perfect tortilla soup! I cubed the chicken into bite sized pieces, seasoned it before cooking, and sautéed it. I also added a can of corn with everything in the beginning and added green onions in with the chicken. Since the tortillas cook into the soup, I garnished with crumbled tortilla chips along with the avacados, sour cream, and cheese. When all the garnishes mixed into the soup, it was perfect! It was so yummy and a good comfort food for a rainy day!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mirespada June 19, 2011

tweaked a little. seasoned chicken breasts with some onion/garlic herb seasoning and cracked black pepper, baked for about 45 min or so. sauteed onions, garlic, cilantro, and pepper (didn't use tortillas). added the tomatoes, boiled. added cumin, chili powder, bay leaves, a shake of gumbo file, and a few sprinkles of (sabor latino) adobo seasoning. added chicken stock, creamed corn, black beans, and more minced garlic, boiled. followed the rest the same but took a bit of the soup broth and wisked with 1/4-1/2 cup harina flour. and threw in a bag of frozen mixed sante fe vegetables. LOVED!! ate with shredded cheese and crushed tortilla chips. thanks LorenLou!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes November 16, 2011

This is a great recipe!!! I made a couple of changes in how I prepared it. After cooking the onions, garlic cilantro and corn tortillas, I added the tomatoes and cooked on very low heat for about 1 1/2 hours stirring and scraping bottom of pan often creating a very thick roux. I then proceeded as recipe stated adding 1 can of rinsed and drained black beans, and 2 c. of frozen corn. Everybody loved it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
'Lil Southern Belle April 24, 2010

This is my new favorite soup! My super energetic 4-year-old daughter asks for seconds, and she's usually ready to bolt from the dinner table! I do like to add black beans and corn which are shown in the picture but not listed as ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stone5313 March 08, 2010

I am going to give this 5 stars, but I wish that I could give it more! This soup is fantastic! I am in love! I added the can of corn and black beans as one reviewer had suggested and it was awesome! I will warn you that it is a bit spicy, so adjust the seasoning accordingly. VERY GOOD SOUP!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookandcookagain December 02, 2009
The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup