Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2011

      I made this last night for my BF and two of his male friends. It was completely gone. They loved it!! I cooked the chicken according to the "Crock Pot Shredded Chicken in Beer" recipe and let it simmer for another hour or so after I shredded it so it would absorb as much of that flavor as possible. I added diced green and red peppers with the onions, cilantro, and tortillas, and then added a can of whole kernel corn and a can of black beans with the chicken stock. I put it on low and let it simmer uncovered for about an hour and a half, stirring every 15-20 minutes or so. I didn't even have to add the cayenne pepper. The taste was concentrated and spicy and the broth thickened to our liking. I served it with shredded cheese, fried corn tortilla crisps, and sour cream on the side. Will DEFINITELY be making this again. Thank you so much LorenLou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Awesome soup! I used 1/4t Chipotle instead of the cayenne (and it was plenty spicy) I also didn't have any corn tortillas, so I used 2 flour ones instead. Next time I'll definitely get use corn tortillas.. And like other reviewers, I added a can of rinsed/drained black beans and a can of corn. I'm glad I did because otherwise there would have been way too much broth for our liking. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2010

      So easy, so flavorful. This has become a new family favorite. Using a rotisserie chicken makes an easy recipe even easier Who'd a thunk that the corn torillas would basically "melt" into the soup as a thickener. I've made this twice in the past two weeks and plan to take a double bathch to a Super Bowl party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      This is the best chicken tortilla soup i have ever had! My family absolutely loved it! The flavors were incredible and it was just perfect on cold day. I wouldn't change a thing to this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2011

      This is the perfect tortilla soup! I cubed the chicken into bite sized pieces, seasoned it before cooking, and sautéed it. I also added a can of corn with everything in the beginning and added green onions in with the chicken. Since the tortillas cook into the soup, I garnished with crumbled tortilla chips along with the avacados, sour cream, and cheese. When all the garnishes mixed into the soup, it was perfect! It was so yummy and a good comfort food for a rainy day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This was really delicious! I made a few changes...I only used 3 tablespoons of oil. I added a packet of Hot and spicey Taco mix, 1 cup frozen corn, 1 can black beans- rinsed and drained, 1 tsp Lea & Perins, 1 tsp of pickapeppa, 2-3 green onions chopped, 1 can of chick peas- rinsed and drained, 2 tsp lime juice, 2 cans of diced tomatoes with jalapenos and 2 boxes of chicken stock. I also sprinkled the chicken breasts with some cumin while cooking. We garnished with shredded mexican mix cheese, sour cream, chives and tortilla scoops. YUMMY!!! Thanks so much for a great recipe starter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2011

      tweaked a little. seasoned chicken breasts with some onion/garlic herb seasoning and cracked black pepper, baked for about 45 min or so. sauteed onions, garlic, cilantro, and pepper (didn't use tortillas). added the tomatoes, boiled. added cumin, chili powder, bay leaves, a shake of gumbo file, and a few sprinkles of (sabor latino) adobo seasoning. added chicken stock, creamed corn, black beans, and more minced garlic, boiled. followed the rest the same but took a bit of the soup broth and wisked with 1/4-1/2 cup harina flour. and threw in a bag of frozen mixed sante fe vegetables. LOVED!! ate with shredded cheese and crushed tortilla chips. thanks LorenLou!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      This is a great recipe!!! I made a couple of changes in how I prepared it. After cooking the onions, garlic cilantro and corn tortillas, I added the tomatoes and cooked on very low heat for about 1 1/2 hours stirring and scraping bottom of pan often creating a very thick roux. I then proceeded as recipe stated adding 1 can of rinsed and drained black beans, and 2 c. of frozen corn. Everybody loved it!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      This is my new favorite soup! My super energetic 4-year-old daughter asks for seconds, and she's usually ready to bolt from the dinner table! I do like to add black beans and corn which are shown in the picture but not listed as ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I am going to give this 5 stars, but I wish that I could give it more! This soup is fantastic! I am in love! I added the can of corn and black beans as one reviewer had suggested and it was awesome! I will warn you that it is a bit spicy, so adjust the seasoning accordingly. VERY GOOD SOUP!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      This soup was fantastic! I used two large boneless, uncooked chicken breasts cut into bite-size chunks, sprinkled them with salt, pepper, cayenne and cumin - threw that in while I satueed the veggies (to which I added some celery). Also added in some rinsed black beans and substituted parsley for cilantro (bf HATES it), and used diced tomatoes with chilies. I brought everything up to a boil and then kept it at a simmer for about 3 hours and it thickened up beautifully. I cut remaining tortillas into thick strips which I fried in vegetable oil and sprinkled with sea salt, cumin and a little cayenne - super yummy on top of the soup with some sour cream, mexican blend cheese and a squeeze of lime. This recipes is amazing as is, and can withstand substitutions and additions beautifully to accomodate your own personal preferences.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      This is a great recipe! It's simple and the flavor is wonderful! I knew I was going to have a hectic day so I made it in the crockpot. I boiled my chicken and then shredded it. I followed step 2 in a fry pan and then put all ingredients in my crock pot on low for 6 hours. I only used 4 tbsp oil and I added a can of corn and a can of pinto beans. My MIL stopped by after it had cooked only 3 hours and had a small bowl and she thought is was good then even though the tortillas had not completely broken down. My family loved it and I have to agree with them- it tasted wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I am a huge fan of tortilla soup and I have been looking for a good recipe. I tried another recipe on this website and it wasn't very good. THIS recipe, however, was sooo tasty! I just added corn and black beans and we all loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2014

      This soup recipe is DELICIOUS. I'm a New Yorker from Texas and have been searching for years for a great, authentic tortilla soup recipe?This is IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      Hubby and I love this. I like the idea of adding the corn tortillas in the soup. We add cheese and sour cream on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2013

      This is a very simple, easy but yet extremely good chicken tortilla soup! It was my first attempt at making Chicken Tortilla soup and this recipe is a KEEPER!!! It can be easily modified to your liking, which I have done. I feel that my changes didn't alter the recipe too much so I am giving it a five star. I followed the ingredients listed but added one green diced pepper and one can of sweet corn (drained). Instead of using one big can of diced tomatoes, I changed it to 1 small can of petite diced tomatoes and 1 can of pureed tomatoes (we aren't crazy about eating a lot of pieces of tomatoes, even when they are small). I also pureed my soup with an handheld stick blender (diced tomatoes, drained sweet corn and chicken were added AFTER I blended the soup, didn't want those to be blended/pureed. When using a stick blender into the soup, it turns the corn tortilla into more of a soup thickener and not everyone likes soggy corn tortillas, I know I don't so I just pureed the soup and it turns it thick enough that the chicken and corn doesn't go at the bottom of the bowl, so you get a mouth full of all the goodness in each bite!!! :) I wanted to add black beans too but didn't have any on hand, it was delicious without and it would have been good with it as well. Oh, I also used my Ninja chopper to dice my chicken into small bits, because I love the texture of bits of chicken in a soup instead of big chucks. Add the chicken separately in bowls if you have someone that doesn't like chicken in your family, that is more of a vegetarian (like my oldest daughter that isn't crazy about chicken).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2013

      yum! Easy simple perfect! I didn't even have enough cumin, less than half, but still wonderful! I used half the cayenne but would have liked all was hoping kids would eat the soup but they weren't a fan anyway so next time I may just make for adults :) I didn't try the tortilla part of the recipe but may someday, I had a bag of tortilla stips as a topping. thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      OMG!! For a year my husband has been ordering chicken tortilla soup at a local restaurant and paying $4 for a small bowl - way too much in my opinion. I finally took the time to find a recipe online and made it this weekend. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a can of rinsed black beans and a can of drained whole kennel corn. Made it on Sunday afternoon and put in the fridge - ate it for dinner on Monday without any of the fancy garnish because frankly I didn't have any of it in the house and I was too tired and hungry to go to the grocery store after work. Again - OMG!! So very good - spicy but not overpowering. So glad that this was the chicken tortilla recipe that I found and chose to make. It will definitely be made many times in my house - maybe next time with the garnish!! Thank you LorenLou.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2013

      The title is spot on. This is the BEST Chicken Tortilla soup! I've made it several times now and everyone loves it. I usually use shredded rotisserie chicken and add a can of drained black beans. Easy to make and sooo good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      this was amazing! I followed the recipe almost exactly except i added kidney beans... delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (367 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.6
     
    Calories from Fat 168
    51%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.0 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 7.2 mg
    2%
    Sodium 778.9 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    18%
    Sugars 8.5 g
    34%
    Protein 10.0 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked chicken breast halves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes