Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Slow-Cooker Favorites

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    Top Slow-Cooker Dishes

    52 Low-and-Slow Meals
    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    You Can Slow Cook That?!

    Try Potatoes, Pizza or Cake
    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Slow-Cooker Desserts

    Effortless One-Pot Treats
    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    228 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 228

    Sort by:

    • on April 25, 2010

      Can you say addicted??? Delicious as it is, but I substitued 1 can of red enchilada sauce for the tomato sauce and liked it even better. I am a tortilla soup connoisseur and this recipe way surpassed my expectations. Also fed it to my picky boyfriend and he went back for 2nds and 3rds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2011

      This was good. I enjoy the taste, but next time I will cut out the tomato products. I find that I prefer a brothy soup rather than a tomato soup (even though I love tomatoes!), which is something I didn't realize until I made it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      This is the closest I've found to what we miss in San Antonio. I followed the recipe exactly, including the chipolte Tabasco sauce, (minus the optional chipolte pepper). Don't forget the cilantro!

      I also cut flour tortillas into strips using a pizza slicer and fry them instead of using tortilla chips from a bag. It makes a HUGE difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2011

      Very good recipe - although I had to make some changes based on availability and making the recipe easier. Normally I follow recipes to a "T", but the absurd high price of tomatoes (3x what they were a few weeks ago - no kidding) caused me alter the recipe slightly.

      Instead of the 15oz can of diced tomatoes, 3-4 tomatoes (diced), and 2 anaheim peppers, I used a 28oz can of diced tomatoes, 1 can of Rotel, and 1 can of diced green chilies. It was cheaper and I think it stayed within the parameters of what the recipe tried to accomplish.

      The soup was very good, and with no added fat pretty healthy to boot. Using the rotisserie chicken is a great idea, as you can usually find them for $5 - $6 around here - which is about what you'd pay for a whole frozen chicken. Plus you'll probably have some extra chicken meat left over to boot!

      I may try the black beans in the soup next time as well like some other reviewers have suggested. This is definitely a keeper though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      To save time I used whole boneless, skinless, frozen chicken breasts and increased the cook time. About an hour before it was finished I took the chicken breasts out and shredded them and returned them to the pot. I also added a can of corn (drained) and a can of white beans (drained). We loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      The name "The Best" is spot on! I thought I'd have trouble finding Anaheim peppers cuz I'd never heard of them - nope - easy to find! This soup is VERY easy to make but the flavor is complex so it tastes as though you've been slaving away in the kitchen all day. I made it exactly as the recipe specified - absolutely delightful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      I'm allergic to tomatoes, but my DH loved it. Insted of anaheim chilies and 3-4 tomatoes, I used 2 cans of rotel. I also used chipotle bouillon. This was my first time making tortilla soup and I will definately make it again with this recipe. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      Absolutely wonderful!!! The ingredients for garnishing stated in the recipe are crucial, making a delightful topping to go with the savory soup. Followed the recipe exactly except that I used a couple drops of Ghost Pepper sauce instead of Tabasco. It was a very nice kick! Will make it again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      My family absolutely loves this soup. They are begging me to make it once a week and I'm happy to oblige! We add 2 cans of corn and 2 cans of black beans (both undrained) which makes for a perfect broth. Otherwise we follow the recipe exactly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      Made this last night and everyone loved it! I cooked it all day on low instead of 5-6 hours on high since I was at work. I am not a fan of spicy food, but everyone else is, so we compromised and left out the jalapenos. We still found it spicy, but not too spicy for me. I will be making it again since my husband said it was his favorite soup ever!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Thank you for an awesome recipe! This is now my favorite soup. I've made it dozens of times and it always turns out great. I prefer organic chicken cooked just until not pink in Knorr chicken broth, then shredded with a fork. I then use the broth as the soup base. Corn and black beans make great additions.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      Incredible! Cut the tobasco back to 1tsp, included the chipotle powder, and then added 9 sliced and halved corn tortilla strips at the end. Cubed uncooked chicken breast, but will try the shredded next time by allowing it to cook in the soup and then shredding it towards the end of cooking time. Perfect after a cold night at the baseball field. Was enjoyed by adults AND children! Thank you so much!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      Very good, albeit a little spicy for some members of my family. The toppings smooth out the heat. I served with Seasoned Tortilla Strips

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      This smelled wonderful cooking and tasted delicious! I roasted a 3ish lb chicken and made stock from the carcass & drippings. I used 2 jalepenos (no chilies) and used a large can of petite diced tomatoes (no fresh). I did not have chipotle peppers. I did add a can of drained, rinsed blak beans and a can of drained corn. We really enjoyed this! We also served it well drained and served over chips (like nachos) and loved that too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2010

      I made your soup for several dinner guests who raved about the flavor. My crock pot was too small, but I just put all the ingredients in a large pot, put it in the fridge, and warmed on the stove for an hour before serving. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      This soup is so yummy! A+++ I added a can of kernel corn, a can of black beans, and more chicken to make the soup heartier and it was a huge hit. I also sliced up flour tortillas and cooked them on a baking sheet for 3 minutes to put on top of the soup instead of crushed shells. I can't wait to make this again. So nice on a cold winter day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2014

      Really delicious. You don't need the cheese - we added it, but the flavor was a bit lost. I added two chipotle peppers (whole) while it cooked and fished them out at the end. It gave it a great smokey flavor and a good kick without overdoing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2014

      OK, I'm convinced. I have only read half of the reviews and will be making this for supper tomorrow. I will be using a whole chicken that I cooked for it's own broth and adding the black beans and corn per other reviewers suggestions. I am giving this 5 stars in advance because all of the ingredients are ones that I know I already love. Thanks Jill4man for a wonderful recipe. turbotess

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2014

      Fantastic soup. I used two jalapenos (seeds removed) instead of one and doubled the garlic. Used half of one medium-sized red onion which came out to be about 3/4 cup of chopped onions. Definitely use rotisserie chicken, as it was delicious. However, my favorite part about this soup was the rich, delicious broth, and I felt that because of the amount of chicken there wasn't enough of it. Next time I think I'll cut the chicken in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (647 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.0
     
    Calories from Fat 180
    45%
    Total Fat 20.0 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 72.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1729.4 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 31.6 g
    63%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites