279 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I logged into this website for the first time in over 4 years to rate these brownies. They literally are THE. BEST. BROWNIES. I've been making the recipe for years, following it perfectly, and I've never been disappointed. I do always double the recipe and bake by checking every couple minutes. <br/>There are brownies on this website with more ratings than these, they're not as good. Make these now. :)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil'chef_3 May 06, 2013

I followed the recipe except didn't have vanilla extract. Came out great! Gooey & a shiney flaky top. Those who said it was cake like changed the recipe. They are not cake like at all. Just don't over cook! I doubled and baked at 350 the for 30 minutes. So easy my 3 year old mixed everything after I measured it for her. So even without vanilla, they are great. I know the oil seems like a lot, but its needed. They are brownies after all, not supposed to be good for you.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcorns September 14, 2011

chocolate heaven right here!! this is my go to brownie recipe! sometimes ill use melted butter I always add 1/2 cup cocoa powder and sometimes I throw in some chocolate chips or chopped up Reese cups!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anniek36 May 02, 2013

These really might be the best brownies! They are really good and the perfect mixture between cake and cookie. Just one thing: I knew when measuring that half a cup is way too much oil. I used one fourth cup and they came out fine. And of course, you can substitute actual melted chocolate for the cocoa powder.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2586571 February 09, 2011

I am an advanced, and well-experienced home cook. I am baffled at the 5 star rating on these brownies. I followed the recipe to a T, I used good quality cocoa, and was not impressed. They are cloyingly sweet, and are missing the rich chocolate flavor I love. Mine were also very thin, despite following the recipe exactly as written, and yes, my baking powder is fresh. I suppose we are all looking for different things when it comes to brownies-but these most certainly dont earn the title the best brownies from me. sugar left a granular texture, and I should have known to use butter instead of a neutral oil.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Athina M Levesque March 24, 2015

Was the best homemade brownies I have ever made, nice and fudgy on the inside and the perfect flaky outside, I added a tablespoon of peanut butter and only half the vanilla. I also made a double batch in a larger pan, absolutely perfect!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sparkypixx August 23, 2013

I baked these brownies for the first time today and they were SOOO good! My family polished them off within five minutes and mind you, they are all very picky eaters. HEAVEN IN MY TUMMY, LITERALLY!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
harpreetkalsi June 20, 2013

Didn't get to finish my review! To the individuals saying that they were too thin, you must be doing something wrong. I also used an 8x8 and mine were perfect! Maybe try incorporating your dry ingredients a little better to disperse your baking powder.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rook_cook May 31, 2013

I wish I had a better cocoa powder, because I think that would have made a difference. Really nice texture and taste. Fudgey but not overly dense. Next time, I will use butter instead of oil.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soxendine May 27, 2013

Excellent brownies, I cooked them for my nieces 15th birthday, everyone loved them.
I replaced the oil with butter, and doubled the recipe. Thanks Juanessa.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PuenteTriana April 03, 2011
The Best Brownies