Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Browned Beef Stew Ever Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Browned Beef Stew Ever

    Average Rating:

    136 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 136

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2010

      This recipe has been included in book#246531. This has the hearty, old-fashioned taste that I've been looking for. The meat cooked up so tender, and the gravy was really delicious! I added a few fresh mushrooms and 1/4 cup of barley I had on hand. The whole family loved it and it is a perfect dinner for a cold evening! Thanks for posting this terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      After reading numerous recipes and reviews, I settled on this one for my 1st ever stew. Yumm! I added a packaged of onion soup mix to the flour to coat the meat, would add onions at the same time as the meat next time so they cook more. Added 2 carrots in the beginning and no extra carrots or onions at the end. Added 1 cup red wine (mmmm) for 4 total cups of liquid with the beef broth. Also used 5 red potatoes total and added them at the same time as the liquid so they would cook all the way through. I served over egg noodles for a one-dish meal. Was about 90 min total cooking time and so worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      I have to agree with the name! This is the best beef stew I've ever made, and I've made a few! I've made it twice now, and the the second time I made a few changes that made it just a teensy bit better! I added about a cup of red wine with the beef broth, some crushed red pepper flakes and rosemary and about a cup and a half of frozen peas at the very end. Served it up with Irish Soda Bread rolls...perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      LOVED this stew! Really delicious recipe. I added garlic, can of diced tomatoes and red wine in the first steps. I also added fresh mushrooms and frozen peas in the last hour. I forgot the bay leaves! Thanks for all the suggestions - this was a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      This was delicious and just what we needed for the first real snow day of the year! I made it exactly as directed except I didn't have any parsley.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      WOW! My family loved this recipe! My only complaint is I wish we would have doubled it! I made my own beef broth with the bouillon cubes as I did not have enough canned and it worked out perfectly. I only used one pound of stew meat and cut it up into bite size pieces and they were so tender. Left out the celery just based on family preference and only cooked mine for 1.5 hours and it was perfect! Thanks will definately be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      This stew was really good. I only wish the gravy was a little smoother. I followed the recipe to step 5 then put it all in my crockpot. I used 3 medium potatoes and 4 carrots and I think it needed more of both. I also used 3 cups of very flavorful homemade stock and needed 2 more cups of water to cover it all. I didnt have thyme, so I added dill, marjoram and rosemary. Also, some worchestershire. Thanks for sharing, I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2013

      Yum! I rarely make soups or stews, but on this cold January night, this was perfect! My husband gobbled it up and we really enjoyed the flavor.

      We don't normally have carrots on hand so I subbed corn instead. Served with crescent rolls. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      THIS IS SO GOOD! I didn't add the finely chopped doubled veggies (wanting to cut down on steps/time) I added celery salt and garlic salt. My kids loved this. This is our 2nd time making it. Thank you for the great stew!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      I doubled the meat used 2 cups beef broth, 1 cup red wine, one can golden mushroom soup with a can of water bc I didn't have any more beef broth. I added one Lipton onion soup and one Mccormicks beef stew seasoning to the flour. I don't like potatoes in soups or stews so I skipped that part. Over buttered egg noodles with biscuits. Yummy comfort food by the fire watching The Grinch!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      I used this recipe for my first try at beef stew. I did everything according to the recipe, and it turned out wonderfully! Thanks for posting, Christina!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2012

      This was delicious and even the pickiest eaters in my family enjoyed it without picking things out of it! I added about 1/2 cup red wine and will probably put in a full cup next time. The flavor was excellent, but I might add an extra carrot or two next time for color balance. Plus, carrots are yummy.

      I also served over buttered egg noodles, which added a little depth to the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      Turned out great. I made my own beef broth rather than using canned. Was a little thin so I added some more flour mixed with cold water toward the end. I did end up adding a little more salt and pepper at the end to taste. Served with a spicy foccacia bread on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      Excellent recipe! Just like my Mom used to make. Recommend it highly! I would scale back the salt a little bit (maybe to 1/2 or 3/4 teaspoon) - you can add more later to taste. Even a little salty it was still a 5 star recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2012

      I made this tonight for the family, and loved it. I used Round Steak. I was low on beef bouillon base, so just used 1/2 broth, 1/2 water, and then added 1 cup water (I actually doubled the recipe). I added some mushrooms at the end also. My kids gave it a "B", so it wasn't TOPS on their list, but they ate it. :) I will do this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      This has become one of my standby recipes! Well worth the time investment. I usually omit the celery and add parsnips. I also put the potatoes in sooner (about 45 min into the total cooking time) to get them as soft as I want.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      This recipe is great as-is, but now I make some changes based on time constraints and my own taste. First, I like a clear broth, so I coat the meat only in flour, adding the salt and pepper separately, using 1/2 the oil and no added extra flour. I make it easier by not adding the finely minced onion and carrot--I cut all the vegetables large. I use bouillon cubes to make the broth, but I only use 2 cubes to make it more watery, and the end result is just right. I like to make dumplings (Dumplings) for this if I have time. If I have fresh parsley, I'll add it to the dumplings too...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      Great stew, just make sure you stir it often enough because mine burned at the bottom a bit. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2012

      Really good beef stew. I did as recommended and added 1 cup of red wine. It was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      Very good. We enjoy the addition of a cup of red wine.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Browned Beef Stew Ever

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 473.8
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    37%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1792.4 mg
    74%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 6.6 g
    26%
    Protein 32.3 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites