138 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reading numerous recipes and reviews, I settled on this one for my 1st ever stew. Yumm! I added a packaged of onion soup mix to the flour to coat the meat, would add onions at the same time as the meat next time so they cook more. Added 2 carrots in the beginning and no extra carrots or onions at the end. Added 1 cup red wine (mmmm) for 4 total cups of liquid with the beef broth. Also used 5 red potatoes total and added them at the same time as the liquid so they would cook all the way through. I served over egg noodles for a one-dish meal. Was about 90 min total cooking time and so worth it.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawn2701 March 11, 2011

This recipe has been included in book#246531. This has the hearty, old-fashioned taste that I've been looking for. The meat cooked up so tender, and the gravy was really delicious! I added a few fresh mushrooms and 1/4 cup of barley I had on hand. The whole family loved it and it is a perfect dinner for a cold evening! Thanks for posting this terrific recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TasteTester January 31, 2010

I have to agree with the name! This is the best beef stew I've ever made, and I've made a few! I've made it twice now, and the the second time I made a few changes that made it just a teensy bit better! I added about a cup of red wine with the beef broth, some crushed red pepper flakes and rosemary and about a cup and a half of frozen peas at the very end. Served it up with Irish Soda Bread rolls...perfect!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Captain's Lady January 09, 2011

This stew was really good. I only wish the gravy was a little smoother. I followed the recipe to step 5 then put it all in my crockpot. I used 3 medium potatoes and 4 carrots and I think it needed more of both. I also used 3 cups of very flavorful homemade stock and needed 2 more cups of water to cover it all. I didnt have thyme, so I added dill, marjoram and rosemary. Also, some worchestershire. Thanks for sharing, I will make this again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Island Girl 525 January 17, 2010

LOVED this stew! Really delicious recipe. I added garlic, can of diced tomatoes and red wine in the first steps. I also added fresh mushrooms and frozen peas in the last hour. I forgot the bay leaves! Thanks for all the suggestions - this was a keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisa in Acworth, GA October 22, 2009

Great stew, just make sure you stir it often enough because mine burned at the bottom a bit. Thank you.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katanashrp April 11, 2012

This was delicious and just what we needed for the first real snow day of the year! I made it exactly as directed except I didn't have any parsley.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purdyboy December 06, 2010

WOW! My family loved this recipe! My only complaint is I wish we would have doubled it! I made my own beef broth with the bouillon cubes as I did not have enough canned and it worked out perfectly. I only used one pound of stew meat and cut it up into bite size pieces and they were so tender. Left out the celery just based on family preference and only cooked mine for 1.5 hours and it was perfect! Thanks will definately be making again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef_Beauchamp July 06, 2010

Yum! I rarely make soups or stews, but on this cold January night, this was perfect! My husband gobbled it up and we really enjoyed the flavor.

We don't normally have carrots on hand so I subbed corn instead. Served with crescent rolls. Will make again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
decarli1 January 20, 2013

THIS IS SO GOOD! I didn't add the finely chopped doubled veggies (wanting to cut down on steps/time) I added celery salt and garlic salt. My kids loved this. This is our 2nd time making it. Thank you for the great stew!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbenjamin5 January 14, 2013
The Best Browned Beef Stew Ever