57 Reviews

Best challah recipe I've tried, and it has the added benefit of using the bread machine to mix, rise, knead, etc. my favorite thing to do with leftover challah is cut into thick slices and make into French toast. You have to let the bread soak in the egg mixture for quite a while, but it comes out crisp on the outside and creamy like custard in the center.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayray67 March 10, 2015

Perfect! Crispy crust. Soft, doughy inside. Victory!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eberkson876 January 24, 2015

This made a fantastic, rich challah with a texture that reminded me of brioche. Next time I will add more flour, or decrease the water, since the texture was too loose to braid (luckily, I was making a round loaf). Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
topdog ollie September 26, 2014

Made it today for the first time. Read the reviews about it being too sweet, so I changed it to 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1 tbsp of brown sugar. Turns out really well! I do like the texture. The crust is crispy and light, and the inside is moist and soft. Really interesting texture. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
June F. June 28, 2014

Excellent bread! This was my first time making (and eating!) challah and I loved it! I did add about an extra cup of flour and thought I would need more but after rising for an hour (I used my Kitchenaid mixer to make the dough), it became much more manageable. My kitchen smelled amazing while the bread was baking and the bread itself was sweet, soft and so airy. So easy to make and well worth it. I've also halved the recipe, using only 2 egg yolks and I didn't need any additional flour. The dough doesn't look like it rises much but once it cooks, it puffs up quite a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC May 08, 2014

This was my first attempt at Challah but I had an old friend who made it very well and would deliver fresh baked loaves to my house as surprise gifts. So I do know what it taste like at its best. I have wanted to make it since. I loved the final product from this recipe but the dough was very sticky as other reviewers have stated. I dusty the table heavily and just added flour as I went just to keep if from sticking to the table and to my hands as I worked and I didn't get the pretty ropes I usually get when I make my Pulla. Still after it was baked the loaves were gorgeous and delicious. I don't know much about making Challah to know if the dough should be that wet. I didn't knead more flour in, instead as I stated before I added as I went from my heavily dusted table. When I first started out baking I would use Corian counter tops to kneed and form loaves, and I am glad I switched to a wooden surface because I know this would have been a mess sticking on the Corian. I thought the flavor was rich and unique and I did love the bread. The crust was just amazing too. I followed the recipe exactly except that I weighed my bread flour instead of measuring it- 544 grams of bread flour. I also added some various dough enhancers - 1/2 tsp diastatic malt, 1/8 tsp ascorbic acid, 1 tsp lecithin and 3 tsp vital wheat gluten. I made it for tonight's dinner and it was wonderful. Hopefully it will be good tomorrow at breakfast and lunch as well. I am giving it 5 stars but truthfully I don't know if it was suppose to be so sticky but working the flour in as I formed the bread did work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaththee December 31, 2013

I love this recipe. I've been making it for years! I use 5 cups of flour and it comes out perfect every time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love to try new recipes October 31, 2013

The best challah I've had to date! It's actually great for rolls too! Thanks for a great dough recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefhomemaker January 29, 2013

This challah needs so much more flour than it calls for. I weighted my ingredients for accuracy and I agree with other reviewers that said that it was too sticky to deal with. After I took it out of the machine I probably added at least two cups of bread flour. Even then it was still too sticky to braid, but I was able to put it on the baking sheet, let it rise, and then bake it. It came out decent after that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbcinsd September 16, 2012

I'm an avid Challah fan and was completely disappointed in the recipe. It was VERY sticky and a lot of extra flour had to be added. Even when the dough cycle was completed, it was still sticky and hard to remove from the machine.
After baking it in the over, it was nothing short of bland. I'm very picky and precise, therefore I know there was no errors in ingredient measurements.
I hate having to report negatively on a recipe, but this one fell way short of amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
killabianca July 22, 2012
The Best Bread Machine Challah