51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this recipe. I've been making it for years! I use 5 cups of flour and it comes out perfect every time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love to try new recipes October 31, 2013

The best challah I've had to date! It's actually great for rolls too! Thanks for a great dough recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefhomemaker January 29, 2013

This challah needs so much more flour than it calls for. I weighted my ingredients for accuracy and I agree with other reviewers that said that it was too sticky to deal with. After I took it out of the machine I probably added at least two cups of bread flour. Even then it was still too sticky to braid, but I was able to put it on the baking sheet, let it rise, and then bake it. It came out decent after that.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lbcinsd September 16, 2012

I'm an avid Challah fan and was completely disappointed in the recipe. It was VERY sticky and a lot of extra flour had to be added. Even when the dough cycle was completed, it was still sticky and hard to remove from the machine.
After baking it in the over, it was nothing short of bland. I'm very picky and precise, therefore I know there was no errors in ingredient measurements.
I hate having to report negatively on a recipe, but this one fell way short of amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
killabianca July 22, 2012

I hate to be a fly in the ointment and be the only one not gushing about this recipe, but I found it to very sticky and had to add extra flour to get the dough workable and smooth. I ran out of time to make the braid and just put it in a pan. When baked, the flavor was too 'yeasty' for my taste. I may try it one more time using less water, maybe one less egg yolk and certainly less yeast. I looked at other challah bread recipes and most used on ly 2 1/4 teaspoons of yeast, as opposed to this recipe that uses 1 Tablespoon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sock8bunny222 April 02, 2012

Thank you so much for posting this! My preschooler and I make this recipe together by hand every couple of weeks and divide it into four smallish loaves, rather than two large ones (we don't eat much bread during the week). I add a tad more sugar and salt, as well as some golden raisins; I also add honey to the egg wash. When we have leftovers, it makes an amazing bread pudding! I'll miss this challah over Pesach ...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarahGB March 31, 2012

I don't usually write reviews, and for me to take the time to write a review it means that I REALLY liked something. I love this bread! Easy and delicious! I put a little more sugar 'cause I like my bread sweet. I've been trying a lot of different bread recipes for the past months and this was the only one who turned out really great. This one is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coelha78 March 01, 2012

Very easy using the bread Machine. I made one reg. loaf and one braid, both turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound December 19, 2011

Tried many, many recipes, and now only use this one. Perfect combo of taste and texture. I have started freezing one challah so that we don't eat two in 24 hours. 2 adults and 2 kids under the age of 5 should not be that piggish! I serve it with honey butter. Tried other recipes because of high cholesterol and there was no comparison. I gave my husband the choice tonight of the 'usual challah' recipe OR a decadent dessert, but not both. He chose the challah. If you knew my husband, you'd know the value of that compliment. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little giggly's mom December 16, 2011

Unbelievable!! I made two loaves yesterday and they are both gone! About to make two more, but I'll have to hide them I think! Thought I was in for a disaster when I took the dough out of the bread machine and it was extremely sticky, but I threw a bit more flour over the dough and kneaded it a little and it was perfect. I've never tasted better challah and wont be buying from the shop again. Thanks for this fabulous recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sally in Sydney May 31, 2011
The Best Bread Machine Challah