Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Bread Machine Challah Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Bread Machine Challah

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2010

      This is a beautiful bread and so very easy! I made it in my bread maker (do not use the quick dough setting) and the braiding came out really pretty! The texture is lovely and the dough was easy handling! I followed the directions exactly and was not disappointed! I did bake mine for an addittional 15 minutes, covered with some foil...shiny side up. I sprinkled sesame seeds on mine too and yum yum yum! I highly recommend this recipe! Jelly :wave: Had to add this bit of advice - if you use the longer setting on your bread machine you won't have to let it rise as long... once it is finished with it's cycle in the bread maker. I get lot's of other things done and seems to be much easier! I just made this bread again for the zillionth time and I can't thank Mirj enough for the recipe!!! She is a super star!!! This is my fourth baking experience with this wonderful bread I made it for friends and for the Farm Cooking with Andi of Longmeadow Farm event! I am so proud of this bread! Everytime I make it is is a success!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

    • on February 17, 2010

      this recipe produces magnificent bread. The entire Kosher by Design series by Susie Fishbein is outstanding. I've modified the recipe using half whole wheat flower and I get outstanding results. Further, I brush the challah with egg several times while its baking. Note, it directs: "Remove immediately when the machine beeps." Failure to do this can result in a spill over. Great bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      What wasn't perfect about this? The BEST thing was the short amount of time....2 hrs in the bread machine & 1 hour afterwards. (I realized when I got home from work @ 3PM that we had no challah, but this was ready in time! ~phew~) I followed the recipe exactly . The taste and texture were absolutely AMAZING....had to wrap up the loaf mid-meal or I would have eaten the whole thing. And LOVE having a second loaf in the freezer for next week! Next time I may try to get 3 smaller loaves out of this recipe because these loaves are BIG & way too yummy to not finish in one sitting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      i never planned on making this recipe, due to the high number of egg yolks, but it happened i made meringue earlier so i had the yolks left over, so i tried it. i needed to use more flour than the recipe said, and it came out soft, and very tasty. almost crumbly. very successful and i will be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Absolutely sensational!!! When I was little, I can remember my great-grandmother (Bubby) making challah every Friday... The recipe went with her when she passed away 20 years ago. A friend of mine's boyfriend is Jewish, so I went looking for a challah recipe, since he hadn't had challah since he was a child. I couldn't believe how it brought back memories! Was just as good as my Bubby's!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Made this for Thanksgiving. I've made challah many times, but never in the bread machine. It produced excellent results with very little effort. This will now be the only way I make it from now on. Makes very good toast also!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I used my bread machine and quick yeast ( quick dough cycle --not quick bread--on my machine) Made one loaf-HUGE and tasty. I will make again- TODA MIR I made this gaian tonight-just one loaf, as directed, in the bread machine. After braiding, I let the loaf rise about 1 hour before baking-the chalah came out wonderful again! Thanks Mirj

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      My good friend HotPepperRosemaryJelly told me about this recipe and how she gets great raves every time she takes it some where. Since I needed something to bring to a party tonight I decided to make this recipe. Also this was the first time I used my ABM to make just dough plus using a recipe from this site for making bread. So I didn't know what to expect, however it was super easy and I followed the directions except I didn't add any seeds on the bread. I highly recommend this recipe and I would give it 10 STARS if I could! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2009

    • on April 07, 2009

      I never had Challah before, so I don't have a point of reference, but this had such a wonderful taste. I followed the directions and it came out very nicely. Will make again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      First time making challah, used the bread machine, and it is fantastic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      This makes spectacular challah. We let it rise after braiding for as long as possible, maybe like 4-6 hours, and it comes out airy and puffy and delicious. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Heavenly! I am somewhat new to breadmaking, but this is by far me and my boyfriend's favorite. Followed the recipe exactly and came out perfect! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      This bread is so good, everybody loved it. I am new to breadmaking and this was easy. It was so pretty I was impressed with myself.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2008

      My family loved this! It did not last! It rose beautifully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I have been making Challah for years....but this is the BEST recipe. Never a crumb left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      This is the best challah bread recipe I have ever had. My bread came out wonderful and the family was overjoyed! I followed it exactly and had no problems. I love this recipe, I just backed two loaves this morning :o) Shabbot Shalom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      I tried this recipe another time after failing at it twice before. Turns out 3rd time's a charm. The difference? I put wet ingredients at the bottom (another recipe book had suggested that I should have put dry ingredients first). The first two tries I attempted, I got a dough that was so sticky and wet that it was not workable even with additional dough. Unbelievably, switching around the order got me a beautiful dough and a fabulous challah. I'm glad I kept at it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      I made a few batches at a time and when I went to the freezer to defrost them for Shabbat I saw that my kids had been nibbling on them right from the freezer!! Really loght and fluffy! I subbed Splenda for the sugar and it came out great! I make it now every week - thanks again Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Bread Machine Challah

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.8
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    28%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 92.3 mg
    30%
    Sodium 229.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites