51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Mirj, must tell you that this has become my go to recipe every Friday. I have made it using brown sugar and I've tried using honey though I do use less sweet than called for in the recipe. I do have to add quite a bit more flour after the cycle is done to make the dough workable. My trick for a beautiful brown challah is to bake for 10 minutes at 375 and then the next 20 min. at 350. Turns out beautiful every time. Last week I made chocolate meringues out of the left over egg whites. They were a hit also.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KOSHER KOOK September 06, 2012

Wow! This was so good and really suprisingly easy. We buy challah bread whenever we can because I thought it would be too hard to make, but I was wrong! I did use regular white sugar because I wasn't sure if you use packed or loose brown sugar. TIP for the NOVICE BAKER LIKE ME :) The dough is very easy to work with and you don't need to put flour down on the surface to roll it out. Just take each strand in your hands and roll it between them like you would to make a play-doh "snake" - letting gravity do some of the work. Next time I might put some foil on top for part of the baking because we like a really light colored crust, but the bread does turn out really beautifully so don't feel that you have too. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe, Mirj!!!

Update: I made these again today - wonderful - but I added a cup less flour than it needed, so I kneaded about a cup into the dough after the bread machine cycle. Then I let it rise for about an hour in a slightly warm oven. I baked it at 350 for 20 minutes with the convection oven and it was To-Die-For!!! Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz August 11, 2011

This is great, thanks for the recipe, only thing I changed was I added 4 teaspoons of vital wheat gluten. It baked up great and looks pretty tastes good toooo !!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Whiskerkitty March 06, 2011

I make this all the time. It comes out every time. I use 1 cup Splenda in place of sugar and add 1 cup of flour (for a total of 5 1/2 cups). I also use Bread Flour. It comes out perfect every time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queen.cat_6151095 April 08, 2010

Best challah recipe I've tried, and it has the added benefit of using the bread machine to mix, rise, knead, etc. my favorite thing to do with leftover challah is cut into thick slices and make into French toast. You have to let the bread soak in the egg mixture for quite a while, but it comes out crisp on the outside and creamy like custard in the center.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayray67 March 10, 2015

Perfect! Crispy crust. Soft, doughy inside. Victory!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eberkson876 January 24, 2015

This made a fantastic, rich challah with a texture that reminded me of brioche. Next time I will add more flour, or decrease the water, since the texture was too loose to braid (luckily, I was making a round loaf). Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
topdog ollie September 26, 2014

Made it today for the first time. Read the reviews about it being too sweet, so I changed it to 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1 tbsp of brown sugar. Turns out really well! I do like the texture. The crust is crispy and light, and the inside is moist and soft. Really interesting texture. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
June F. June 28, 2014

Excellent bread! This was my first time making (and eating!) challah and I loved it! I did add about an extra cup of flour and thought I would need more but after rising for an hour (I used my Kitchenaid mixer to make the dough), it became much more manageable. My kitchen smelled amazing while the bread was baking and the bread itself was sweet, soft and so airy. So easy to make and well worth it. I've also halved the recipe, using only 2 egg yolks and I didn't need any additional flour. The dough doesn't look like it rises much but once it cooks, it puffs up quite a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen in Victoria, BC May 08, 2014

This was my first attempt at Challah but I had an old friend who made it very well and would deliver fresh baked loaves to my house as surprise gifts. So I do know what it taste like at its best. I have wanted to make it since. I loved the final product from this recipe but the dough was very sticky as other reviewers have stated. I dusty the table heavily and just added flour as I went just to keep if from sticking to the table and to my hands as I worked and I didn't get the pretty ropes I usually get when I make my Pulla. Still after it was baked the loaves were gorgeous and delicious. I don't know much about making Challah to know if the dough should be that wet. I didn't knead more flour in, instead as I stated before I added as I went from my heavily dusted table. When I first started out baking I would use Corian counter tops to kneed and form loaves, and I am glad I switched to a wooden surface because I know this would have been a mess sticking on the Corian. I thought the flavor was rich and unique and I did love the bread. The crust was just amazing too. I followed the recipe exactly except that I weighed my bread flour instead of measuring it- 544 grams of bread flour. I also added some various dough enhancers - 1/2 tsp diastatic malt, 1/8 tsp ascorbic acid, 1 tsp lecithin and 3 tsp vital wheat gluten. I made it for tonight's dinner and it was wonderful. Hopefully it will be good tomorrow at breakfast and lunch as well. I am giving it 5 stars but truthfully I don't know if it was suppose to be so sticky but working the flour in as I formed the bread did work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaththee December 31, 2013
The Best Bread Machine Challah