Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Bread Machine Challah Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Bread Machine Challah

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on September 06, 2012

      Mirj, must tell you that this has become my go to recipe every Friday. I have made it using brown sugar and I've tried using honey though I do use less sweet than called for in the recipe. I do have to add quite a bit more flour after the cycle is done to make the dough workable. My trick for a beautiful brown challah is to bake for 10 minutes at 375 and then the next 20 min. at 350. Turns out beautiful every time. Last week I made chocolate meringues out of the left over egg whites. They were a hit also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      Wow! This was so good and really suprisingly easy. We buy challah bread whenever we can because I thought it would be too hard to make, but I was wrong! I did use regular white sugar because I wasn't sure if you use packed or loose brown sugar. TIP for the NOVICE BAKER LIKE ME :) The dough is very easy to work with and you don't need to put flour down on the surface to roll it out. Just take each strand in your hands and roll it between them like you would to make a play-doh "snake" - letting gravity do some of the work. Next time I might put some foil on top for part of the baking because we like a really light colored crust, but the bread does turn out really beautifully so don't feel that you have too. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe, Mirj!!!

      Update: I made these again today - wonderful - but I added a cup less flour than it needed, so I kneaded about a cup into the dough after the bread machine cycle. Then I let it rise for about an hour in a slightly warm oven. I baked it at 350 for 20 minutes with the convection oven and it was To-Die-For!!! Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2011

      This is great, thanks for the recipe, only thing I changed was I added 4 teaspoons of vital wheat gluten. It baked up great and looks pretty tastes good toooo !!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2010

      I make this all the time. It comes out every time. I use 1 cup Splenda in place of sugar and add 1 cup of flour (for a total of 5 1/2 cups). I also use Bread Flour. It comes out perfect every time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      Made it today for the first time. Read the reviews about it being too sweet, so I changed it to 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1 tbsp of brown sugar. Turns out really well! I do like the texture. The crust is crispy and light, and the inside is moist and soft. Really interesting texture. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2014

      Excellent bread! This was my first time making (and eating!) challah and I loved it! I did add about an extra cup of flour and thought I would need more but after rising for an hour (I used my Kitchenaid mixer to make the dough), it became much more manageable. My kitchen smelled amazing while the bread was baking and the bread itself was sweet, soft and so airy. So easy to make and well worth it. I've also halved the recipe, using only 2 egg yolks and I didn't need any additional flour. The dough doesn't look like it rises much but once it cooks, it puffs up quite a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      This was my first attempt at Challah but I had an old friend who made it very well and would deliver fresh baked loaves to my house as surprise gifts. So I do know what it taste like at its best. I have wanted to make it since. I loved the final product from this recipe but the dough was very sticky as other reviewers have stated. I dusty the table heavily and just added flour as I went just to keep if from sticking to the table and to my hands as I worked and I didn't get the pretty ropes I usually get when I make my Pulla. Still after it was baked the loaves were gorgeous and delicious. I don't know much about making Challah to know if the dough should be that wet. I didn't knead more flour in, instead as I stated before I added as I went from my heavily dusted table. When I first started out baking I would use Corian counter tops to kneed and form loaves, and I am glad I switched to a wooden surface because I know this would have been a mess sticking on the Corian. I thought the flavor was rich and unique and I did love the bread. The crust was just amazing too. I followed the recipe exactly except that I weighed my bread flour instead of measuring it- 544 grams of bread flour. I also added some various dough enhancers - 1/2 tsp diastatic malt, 1/8 tsp ascorbic acid, 1 tsp lecithin and 3 tsp vital wheat gluten. I made it for tonight's dinner and it was wonderful. Hopefully it will be good tomorrow at breakfast and lunch as well. I am giving it 5 stars but truthfully I don't know if it was suppose to be so sticky but working the flour in as I formed the bread did work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2013

      I love this recipe. I've been making it for years! I use 5 cups of flour and it comes out perfect every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2013

      The best challah I've had to date! It's actually great for rolls too! Thanks for a great dough recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      This challah needs so much more flour than it calls for. I weighted my ingredients for accuracy and I agree with other reviewers that said that it was too sticky to deal with. After I took it out of the machine I probably added at least two cups of bread flour. Even then it was still too sticky to braid, but I was able to put it on the baking sheet, let it rise, and then bake it. It came out decent after that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      I'm an avid Challah fan and was completely disappointed in the recipe. It was VERY sticky and a lot of extra flour had to be added. Even when the dough cycle was completed, it was still sticky and hard to remove from the machine.
      After baking it in the over, it was nothing short of bland. I'm very picky and precise, therefore I know there was no errors in ingredient measurements.
      I hate having to report negatively on a recipe, but this one fell way short of amazing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      I hate to be a fly in the ointment and be the only one not gushing about this recipe, but I found it to very sticky and had to add extra flour to get the dough workable and smooth. I ran out of time to make the braid and just put it in a pan. When baked, the flavor was too 'yeasty' for my taste. I may try it one more time using less water, maybe one less egg yolk and certainly less yeast. I looked at other challah bread recipes and most used on ly 2 1/4 teaspoons of yeast, as opposed to this recipe that uses 1 Tablespoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2012

      Thank you so much for posting this! My preschooler and I make this recipe together by hand every couple of weeks and divide it into four smallish loaves, rather than two large ones (we don't eat much bread during the week). I add a tad more sugar and salt, as well as some golden raisins; I also add honey to the egg wash. When we have leftovers, it makes an amazing bread pudding! I'll miss this challah over Pesach ...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2012

      I don't usually write reviews, and for me to take the time to write a review it means that I REALLY liked something. I love this bread! Easy and delicious! I put a little more sugar 'cause I like my bread sweet. I've been trying a lot of different bread recipes for the past months and this was the only one who turned out really great. This one is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      Very easy using the bread Machine. I made one reg. loaf and one braid, both turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2011

      Tried many, many recipes, and now only use this one. Perfect combo of taste and texture. I have started freezing one challah so that we don't eat two in 24 hours. 2 adults and 2 kids under the age of 5 should not be that piggish! I serve it with honey butter. Tried other recipes because of high cholesterol and there was no comparison. I gave my husband the choice tonight of the 'usual challah' recipe OR a decadent dessert, but not both. He chose the challah. If you knew my husband, you'd know the value of that compliment. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Unbelievable!! I made two loaves yesterday and they are both gone! About to make two more, but I'll have to hide them I think! Thought I was in for a disaster when I took the dough out of the bread machine and it was extremely sticky, but I threw a bit more flour over the dough and kneaded it a little and it was perfect. I've never tasted better challah and wont be buying from the shop again. Thanks for this fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Great bread! I used all purpose flour and regular white sugar. I also used the egg whites that I had left over to cover the bread just before I baked it. It was ready in just 15 - 20 minutes. It really was delicious! My kids especially loved it!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Great recipe. Definitely the best of the 3 I've tried so far in my bread machine. It did cook quicker than 30 minutes; more like 20.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      I used this dough to make cinnamon swirl bread, and it turned out perfectly. Lovely texture, perfect. I will be using this one again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Bread Machine Challah

    Serving Size: 1 (101 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 278.8
     
    Calories from Fat 79
    28%
    Total Fat 8.8 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 92.3 mg
    30%
    Sodium 229.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 8.4 g
    33%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites