10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am in awe of how easy it was to make these and yet how absolutely perfect they turned out!!! The density of the bread was perfect and it tasted great too- I made mine using wheat flour and it worked great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Decorative Memories March 22, 2010

Tried this tonight and it was yummy! Next time I think I will cut down the sugar a little and bake a little longer for "sturdier" bowls. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swkrobin November 04, 2009

I cannot speak highly enough of this recipe. I doubled in and made 7 large bowls and made croutons with the leftover dough. The dough was a pleasure to work with (and I am no good at shaping dough.) I let the dough rise uncovered in the oven that I had slightly heated with a pan of water. Instead of scraping out the insides, I pressed the middle into the sides and bottoms for reinforcement. Then I sprayed the insides and outsides of the bowl with cooking spray and retoasted the bowls for 15 minutes after my company arrived. They were beatiful as well as delicious and the talk of the evening! This dough was absolutely perfect. I am so pleased that I used this recipe and will use it again and again. Thank you so much for posting it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
little giggly's mom May 03, 2009

This recipe deserves more than 5 stars. It is easy, the dough is easy to work with and the bread bowls are out of this world. They are just the right consistency - sturdy enough to hold soup, yet soft, yeasty and flavorful at the same time. These are better than ANY bread bowl I've ever had at a restaurant. If you use them while they're hot, it's amazing how hot they will keep the soup once it's ladled in. The bread was so good that I am thinking of using for dinner rolls as it's as good or better as my current favorite recipe. Just perfect. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nanners September 13, 2009

These turned out great, we used them tonight for chili. If I were to do it again (and I will), I'd probably cook them just a bit longer to get more of a crispy crust. My kids enjoyed "sampling" the warm bread as we dug out the bowls.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter Near July 18, 2009

I thought these were way too sweet and they did not rise well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikbell June 21, 2014

These were very easy to make. Next time I will cut sugar to 1-2 TBS. I did use extra virgin olive oil instead of the softened butter. I will be using this recipe as my go to bread bowl recipe. Thanks so much

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pyrlgyrl March 02, 2014

These were pretty good and pretty fast. I used 1 1/2 cups of bread flour (wheat) and 1 1/2 cups of Whole Wheat Flour. We actually made this recipe into 2 large bread bowls. They came out the same size as the ones you would get at Panera Bread. We let them rise double in size in a regular size cereal bowl then put them on a pan and baked. They cooked for 18 minutes. Even forgot the butter one time and they still turned out great! Will definitely keep this recipe for future. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Litl Irish Angel November 07, 2013

These rolls were very tasty. The only problem I had was that the dough didn't rise as much as I hoped it would. I was looking for the rolls to double in size but that didn't happen. So I ended up with 4 small pieces that were too small for bread bowls. Even so, they were greatly enjoyed. I will make again and try doubling the recipe. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid September 19, 2013

These didn't really work for me. Although I am not a novice bread maker, I've never attempted homemade bread bowls before, and I was really looking forward to these. However, the dough was very wet in my bread machine and I had to add more flour just to keep it from being on the soupy side. Once the dough was done, it looked and felt great and shaped well, but then rather than rising up they just sort of smooshed out to the sides and I had what looked like large hamburger buns rather than bread bowls. If I had put them in a smaller pan with sides I'm sure they would have risen like they should have, but I wanted crispier sides instead of the soft kind you get like when dinner rolls stick together in a pan. That said, the flavor of these was outstanding and I think I will try this recipe again and see if I can't get it to work correctly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RSL December 05, 2010
The Best Bread Bowls for the Bread Machine