453 Reviews

My family loves blueberry muffins and this one is the best yet. I chose to substitute cinnamon for the nutmeg. Great texture and taste. Not overly sweet. Kitchen even smells wonderful afterward. 20 minutes was perfect. I also used 2 c blueberries. I love the butter -instead-of-oil in this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheriKahles62 January 17, 2014

OKay...never written a review before but have to say made these today with fresh blueberries. THE BEST blueberry muffins I have ever had! I do a lot of baking and have tried many blueberry recipes and this was sooooo delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki.jessup_10706717 December 06, 2013

I've had a lot of blueberry muffins in my life and this is the best recipe I've come across so far. I used a full cup of milk instead of 1/2 cup cause it came out too doughy...and 2 cups of blueberries instead of 2 1/2 cause it did look like it was too much....but i did top some blueberries some of them individually.I used frozen instead of fresh cause it's not blueberry season and blueberries are expensive but I didn't thaw them cause I didn't want the juice to leak and make my muffins blue but they turned out just fine. Next time I'll try using yogurt in place of the butter cause I'm trying to be healthy but it probably won't be as fluffy. I used unsalted butter, pure vanilla extract and organic sugar....the brand I use just happens to be just as expensive as regular sugar but use what you have.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alexa d. October 18, 2013

I don't think these were the absolute best muffins. It has potential for improvement, the flavours are there but I found the blueberry quantity to be far too much. I only estimated over 1 cup and i felt maybe 1 cup is plenty. The blueberries just sunk to the bottom and ended up like an unsweetened blueberry jam in the centre. The batter was way too thick as well, it almost turned into a dough with only half a cup of milk. They did come out soft, with the addition of milk, but they didn't rise the way i like them to. So there is room for improvement there, I also didn't love the addition of nutmeg, i think cinnamon would be a better choice. The batter actually does taste good, just not as good after baking as the blueberries killed the sweetness. I give this recipe 3 stars overall, Thanks for sharing. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Latte September 21, 2013

Absolutely beautiful! I substituted the flour for gluten free baking mix, perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smbk004 September 08, 2013

LOVE LOVE LOVE these muffins. These are so incredibly easy. I have used fresh blueberries as well as frozen and they are always awesome. One thing I do to make it extra special is add a butter based crumble on top and WOW does it make it that much better. Everyone loves these. Thanks KRUSTY for this great recipe and making me look like an awesome chef!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iamaudra August 21, 2013

The hubby and I agree that this really is a GOOD blueberry muffin recipe. It's not super sweet so the flavor of the blueberries really comes out. I can see adding a little bit of lemon juice to the recipe as well. I will be making these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef DMR June 24, 2013

This is a great tasting muffin. The reason for the 4 star rating is that since I don't use paper muffin cup, my muffins stuck to the tins even after generously coating them with butter! Will make this again but am now aware of the sticking situation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim June 09, 2013

These were a ok tasting basic blueberry muffin. Nothing wowed us about them. But they were ok.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sweetp January 27, 2013

Followed recipe exactly. To me, these were just average. I don't mean to be negative, but I really have had better. Bland flavor, needs something more. Maybe they will be better in the morning after they have been sitting a while. We'll see!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
r&c2011 June 07, 2012
The Best Blueberry Muffins