12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was awesome! We had gone blueberry picking and I wanted to make a blueberry cheesecake that incorporated fresh blueberries in the pie, and not just for a topping. This recipe fit the bill and was absolutely delicious. I used a store-bought graham cracker crust and was not able to fit all the filling in (I used a very generous helping of bluberries, which might have contributed to the overflow problem). Anyway, I filled the crust to above the brim and the resultant pie looked a bit like a blueberry muffin! I served it without the coolwhip and sour cream topping, and nobody missed it. Other than using a store-bought crust, the only other modification I made was under duress, I did not have any lemon extract. I was tempted to use lemon juice as a sub or ignore this ingredient altoghter, but luckily did a google search and learned that lemon juice is too acidic to sub for lemon extract. But I did learn that I could sub lemon zest. I had a fresh lemon in my fridge but no 'zesting" equipment, so I painstakinly peeled the yellow outer layer off my lemon w/ a carrot peeler and one of my boys chopped it fine and we threw in about 2 teaspoons of lemon peel - and WOW did it add a fabulous taste to the cheesecake! I also used reduced fat cream cheese - but could never have discerned that in the end product. I plan to use this fabulous recipe every summer!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellee August 15, 2008

This cheesecake was AMAZING! So creamy and the lemon was a fresh tasty complement to the blueberries. I wasn't sure about the frosting/icing, but went with it. Good thing, too, it was a perfect topper for this cake. It was so good, we all stuffed ourselves silly! My husband requested blueberry cheesecake for his birthday - this will definitely become an annual tradition!! Thanks so much for a great recipe!! :-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JTBung September 21, 2009

I have been making this recipe since the summer and its been such a hit, thank you again!<br/><br/>Amber

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dutchbaroque R. October 27, 2013

Substitutions I made were used palm sugar in the granola crust and xylitol for the sugar and made it sugar free.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Real Cake Baker November 04, 2012

I've made many cheesecakes before and this was THE BEST CHEESECAKE I have ever made or eaten anywhere. It was very creamy and I appreciated the careful instructions about the baking of the cake. I followed explicitly, it jiggled when you said it would. I was concerned it wasn't done, but you said it would be done after additional 20 min in the open, off oven and after chill time. It was perfectly creamy. I think I have always over cooked mine. A million thanks sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmejhunt July 04, 2012

Big, big problem...I have this delicious cheesecake and I can't stop eating it. Luckily I used low-fat cheese and whipped cream or I'd be in really big trouble. My cake looks exactly like the picture and it has a really fresh blueberry flavor (not cooked even though it is baked). I also added a little sugar to the topping as it was a bit too tangy for me as is but still perfect. Made for My-3-Chefs '08.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan June 10, 2008

Very good cheesecake. The fresh blueberries stay firm and very fresh tasting. I made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it. I made a few small changes that worked fine. I eliminated the flour and salt - it made no difference. And for the topping I used whipped cream instead of cool whip. Again, worked fine. <br/>Although the recipe was a big hit, i thought it was a bit too much creaminess with the creamy topping. So next time I'm going to try it with a blueberry sauce on top rather than the whipped cream topping. I will definitely make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roadpartner July 16, 2014

Absolutely delicious!! I had some blueberries and wanted to make something other than pie or coffee cake. I made this to take to my in-laws and there wasn't a sliver left. I didn't have sour cream so I substituted greek yogurt for the cheese cake and vanilla yogurt in with the whipped cream. I will definitely make this again. It's an easy recipe that tastes great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myneli July 13, 2014

If you want best results, make sure the cheesecake has refrigerated for the six hours this recipe states. I didn't have a pan that was tall enough, so I used two shorter 9' pans. I added another tablespoon of butter to the crust because I thought it was too dry. The recipe also could've used another half cup or so of blueberries. The topping is optional.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrysanthemum May 23, 2014

Had a friend ask for blueberry cheesecake for his birthday - not the one with the sauce on top, blueberries in it. I believe this is the second cheesecake I've made that was actually baked. He was thrilled and I was too. My pans were 7, 8 and 10 inches so what to use when it called for 9". So, I went with the 8" thinking that the 10" might be too large. I don't think this would have been the case. I thought I poured plenty of the cheesecake part in the pan and still had a ton left. So, I quick whipped up some more base and actually got a 7" and 8" out of the one recipe and it was plenty thick. Now I will say I think I could have used a little more of the cool whip/sour cream topping and I did mix up just shy of another batch of the graham crumbs but otherwise, was plenty for the two sizes. I can't imagine how thick it would have been in one 10". Regardless, delicious and quite simple as well. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. Always a challenge to make a new recipe for someone when you don't know what it will taste like. Oh, I also mixed up a little blueberry sauce and drizzled it on top for color and I used frozen blueberries for the whole thing. Delicious!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hubleyddavis March 16, 2013
The Best Blueberry Cheesecake