Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Biryani Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Biryani

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on March 05, 2010

      It was ,no doubt, the best biryani ever. It just had the taste of a restaurant biryani. The meat was completely tender and I disagree with everyone who thinks the rice quantity was more, because it turned out to be perfect for me. Please post some more recipes of different kinds of biryani. Thanks a lot..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2011

      I just tried out this recipe this weekend for my friends and they LOVED it, but I didn't make 9 cups of rice I added exactly half of that and it turned out FANTASTIC every body enjoyed it and I thought its awesome... thank you for the great recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      A good recipe - however mine looked a little different to the photo but tasted very nice. Biryani takes a long time to make and you need patience. The best biryani in London has got to go to Kadiri's in London who claim to be the Kings of biryani. Time to travel back to NW London - shame I live so far away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      I didn't have any plums and ran out of expensive saffron, but I had the rest of the ingredients and really enjoyed making myself some Biryani. The only thing I did differently was mix the freshly cooked Basmati rice with the already-cooked chicken masala. I wasn't sure how it would turn out, but I was so hungry. I couldn't handle looking and smelling delicious food for much longer! I'm sure baking is the traditional method and makes for a nice presentation, but I grew up with some familiarity with Indian cooking...Indian restaurants make plenty of changes to what is considered "traditional" cuisine. Go with your gut and experiment a little.

      After mixing some rice in to create my meal, I did have some left over. Next time, I'll decrease the total amount to cook. I will also buy more saffron...it's not good to cheat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      For a recipe that claims to be the "best biryani" this disappoints. It was pretty good but it seemed to lack the authentic Indian taste I was looking for. The real best biryani recipe search continues.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

    • on May 30, 2008

      I agree that the rice to spice ratio should be cut in half. I have basically been serving off the top layer. The instructions could be more detailed, as well. I had to guess at what needed to be chopped before adding, etc. It was a very tasty dish I will make again however! Thanks. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      This was delicious!!! We loved it! Very flavorful and fragrant! I cut this recipe down for my family by dividing all the ingredients by 4. The chicken mixture smelled so wonderful that I decided to cut the amount of rice by half so the flavor could really shine and I was glad I did. I wasn't able to use an oven for baking, so instead of layering and baking, I just added the rice to the chicken mixture, mixed and heated it thoroughly and served. Excellent!! I am going to make this for a large group next week and can't wait!! Thank you so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2006

      I think there was too much rice in the recipe. I think next time I will make it with half the rice to make it more flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      My whole family loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      very ethnic and delicious i love the spice flavors. yummmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      Thanks for sharing. This was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2006

    • on July 18, 2006

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Biryani

    Serving Size: 1 (471 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 494.1
     
    Calories from Fat 75
    15%
    Total Fat 8.4 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 65.0 mg
    21%
    Sodium 579.4 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.8 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 31.1 g
    62%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    green cardamom pods

    black cardamom pods

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites