Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Banana Bundt Cake (Dorie Greenspan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Banana Bundt Cake (Dorie Greenspan)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 04, 2010

      This is a fabulous recipe! Very moist, packed with banana flavour! I also added in 2 cups of chopped apples to it, turned out perfect! It definitely tastes better the next day. I made a simple vanilla glaze to drizzle over the top. Thank you, blucoat, for sharing this wonderful recipe, definitely will be making it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      This is the best banana cake I have tried and will be the only one I use now. I frosted the cake with a brown sugar frosting and my guests were licking their plates clean. Added bonus is that this cake uses only 1/2 C butter in the batter. Be sure to use a 12 cup bundt pan - mine was slightly smaller and the batter spilled over in the oven. Cook's error, not the recipe. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      Very good, very moist. I substituted half the sugar for brown sugar to deepen the flavor and poked the cake w/a chopstick to create holes then poured a maple syrup & water reduction over it. I used about 1/4 cup maple syrup and about a 1-2 Tbls of water....I then let that reduce for a few minutes and poured it all over the cake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2011

      Great taste, very moist. famliy like it very much

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      I was very happy with this cake. its the fist cake I have ever made and it was easy and the directions were great. thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2012

      This banana cake truly is the best. It is moist, This is the second time I have used this recipe. The first time I used all yogurt instead of sour cream. This time I am using half cup of sour cream and half cup of buttermilk. This recipe is very versatile, meaning you can add things to it like the other people who commented on this did. I added 1 cup of walnut pieces which is very good. You can also add some raisins. Do yourself a favor and try this recipe it is sure to please. My neighbors loved it too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      I loved this cake as a base for the chocolate chip banana cake with peanut butter glaze that I made. I followed the recipe exactly but made the following changes:
      My bananas weren't as ripe as I'd like them so I added two tablespoons of light brown sugar and a tablespoon of bourbon to the mash. I also added 1 1/2 cups of mini semi sweet chocolate chips at the end. The glaze I made was 2 cups powdered sugar, 1/3 cup creamy peanut butter and 1/3 cup cold water whisked together until smooth. Everyone LOVED it! Thanks for a fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2014

      This is a five star banana bread. I loved it and didn't even think it needed nuts which I was initially concerned about. To quote a family member, "Perfection..I don't even like banana bread but I like this one." It's very moist and I made the recipe exactly how it reads using low fat sour cream and four very large overly ripe bananas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      This is a moist delicious cake! We loved it! I used sour cream (didn't have plain yogurt) it was just perfect! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2014

      Love it!! :) I made it with the lemon icing...and it was even better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2013

      Read all the reviews, decreased the butter to one stick, decrease the sugar to 3/4 white and 3/4 dark brown, and added one more banana, then tossed in pecan bits to use up the bag. Baking in the oven now in 2 loaf tins as that is what I needed for tomorrow. House smells amazing. Flavor report: very deep banana flavor, the reduced maple syrup w/water is a great idea as its just a bit dry. Very glad I reduced the sugar as it was not too sweet, perfect for our tastes. Served w/room temp cream cheese for those who wanted it and it was gone in no time.<br/>Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      It truly is the best banana bundt cake! If you want a med dense super moist cake use this recipe to the T plus both the yogurt and sour cream(I used vanilla yogurt). I did it and the cake was gone in 2 days with great reviews. I used a caramel glaze on top for a scrumptious touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      It is awesome! I made this recipe for a cast iron, mini animal cake pan, test run. They looked great and tasted great. My family and all my taste tester friends(and their kids) loved this cake. I will be making them for my son's 1st birthday and I know they will be a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2012

      I impressed myself with this one! I used 4 VERY ripe bananas and low-fat sour cream. I found it to be slightly sweeter and more moist than banana bread. I used a plain, vanilla glaze instead of the lemony one. My co-workers loved it and wanted the recipe. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Banana Bundt Cake (Dorie Greenspan)

    Serving Size: 1 (85 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.4
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    38%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.8 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 55.7 mg
    18%
    Sodium 248.2 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.7 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 25.8 g
    103%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites