Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "The Best" Banana Bread (or Muffins!) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "The Best" Banana Bread (or Muffins!)

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2012

      Easy to follow recipe. Cut the recipe down to one loaf, used two bananas, used 1/2 cup honey & 1/2 cup brown sugar, whole wheat flour, and honey mead instead of water. So delicious without being too sweet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      Real easy recipe. I quartered the recipe and easily made 16 muffins. I was out of butter so I used Crisco plus 1.5 tsp each of butter flavor and vanilla. I then topped them with buttercream icing mixed with cinnamon. They turned out pretty good. I added pics. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      I halved the recipe and got 3 dozen muffins. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Very nice banana bread muffins indeed! My family really appreciated the walnuts and semi-sweet chocolate chips! Unfortunately, I didn't have enough bananas, so I had to halve the recipe...no worries, worked out just great. I did use milk in place of water, had it on hand, so why not? I used all the muffin tins I had available, and decided to use the last little bit of batter to fill my madeleine cookie form pan...saved me a little time and they turned out really cute. Thanks Silent Cricket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      This was good bread. I added a touch of both rum and coconut flavoring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Truly comfort food this banana bread! Perfect texture, not too sweet and easy to slice even while warm. I changed the number of servings to 1 loaf. 2 1/2 ripe bananas were enough. Realized too late that I didn't have baking soda in the house, and so decided to use 1 tsp of baking powder instead of 1/4 tsp as recommended for 1 loaf. I wonder why the soda was required in the first place. It was really good without it. I am sure I will make this again. Didn't use nuts or choc chips - my family prefers this plain and simple. Thank you SilentCricket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I'm so glad I decided to go with this banana bread recipe over others. I had made this recipe for the first time for my classmates for the last class of the semester and it was a HUGE hit! I had so many people telling me how good the bread was. The banana bread was on the moist and slightly dense side, which is how Iike my banana bread. I added walnuts. I might add chocolate chips next time. This recipe is one I wills store in my "go-to" box. I plan on making the banana bread in the next week or so and give those to my friends. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I had cold butter so I dumped it in a large bowl, added the sugar and put in the oven at 170* stirred a couple of times and the mixing was done, then added the other ingredients.I had a huge bowl of mashed bananas that I had sprinkled with lemon juice and covered and put in the refrigerator. I also added a mashed plantain that was too ripe. I found this recipe and I am so glad I did! I made banana bread loafs, large and small muffins. I made individual cakes in flat bottom round custard pans. I crushed walnuts and did not add chocolate chips but added vanilla extract.I had never used water before in the mix, always buttermilk or milk. This recipe is tops on my list now. A real keeper. I will forever use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      I've already made this recipe 3 times in the last 2 weeks... EVERYONE loves it! Thank you :) Today, I'll be bringing these to a Halloween party. I've tried other recipes, and this out ranks all others in my opinion!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      I followed the recipe exactly. Only omitted chocolate chips. The bread tastes good and it rose pretty well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      the best the best thats one I keeps!!! Thank you so much SilentCricket for this AWESOME recipe! :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      Best recipe in my 35 years of making banana nut bread. Very moist. Outstanding taste. Easy to cut recipe in half. Thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2007

      I had to make something for a bake sale, and came across your recipe. I liked that it made SO MANY muffins. They were a big hit, and lots of people gave compliments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      This is a very good banana bread. I got 4 loafs but next time for me I will only make 2 loafs instead of 4. The banana bread in the smaller loaf pans did not rise as nicely as the larger one. I used 2 cups of chopped pecans. Turned the oven off at 35 minutes and retested the toothpick came out in 5 minutes perfectly clean. I will not use as much water in the next batch for us they are very moist. They are on their way to friends homes tomorrow well minus one. thanks for posting. I will make this again after I collect more banana's!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      Really nice recipe. I doubled the chocolate chips, which improved it (duh). Use a good brand of chocolate chips for this recipe. My wife, who had not found a good banana muffin recipe yet, really loved it. And my 3 year old daughter is now an addict for these things. Warning: The chocolate chips tended to settle on the bottom if the butter is too soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      There were umpteen recipes for banana bread/muffins. Lucky me I chose this one. Very easy to put together. After I added the bananas, baking soda, salt & baking powder, it sort of curdeled, however I went ahead as I prayed that all would come together & it did. I made 12 muffins and 4 mini loafs (made 1/2 batch). I made a cream cheese frosting. I do not know how something so good could be better but it did. This was so moist that they melted in your mouth.I did not put nuts or cc's in. A special thank you to SilentCricket for an awesome recipe from Pat Merwin

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2006

      I lvoed the recipe and so did everyone at work.A very easy & quick recipe. I didnt have quite enough bananas so used unsweetened applesauce to make up the difference and that made it even more moist.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      I'm not afraid! I made the whole recipe! It was awesome! Can't wait to make more for family. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2005

      Used this recipe for minimuffins for the nursery kids when my DS turned one. Big hit! Nice and moist but not sticky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      This bananna bread was GREAT!!!! It was so moist and tasty! Great flavor. I'm going to make this one everytime I have left ofver banannas!!! Thanks for the great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "The Best" Banana Bread (or Muffins!)

    Serving Size: 1 (62 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 60

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 175.7
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    32%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 37.0 mg
    12%
    Sodium 218.4 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 16.4 g
    65%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites