26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Easy to follow recipe. Cut the recipe down to one loaf, used two bananas, used 1/2 cup honey & 1/2 cup brown sugar, whole wheat flour, and honey mead instead of water. So delicious without being too sweet!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spencerkaitlin March 16, 2012

Real easy recipe. I quartered the recipe and easily made 16 muffins. I was out of butter so I used Crisco plus 1.5 tsp each of butter flavor and vanilla. I then topped them with buttercream icing mixed with cinnamon. They turned out pretty good. I added pics. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hs0829 July 31, 2011

I halved the recipe and got 3 dozen muffins. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
casuallyrad June 24, 2011

Very nice banana bread muffins indeed! My family really appreciated the walnuts and semi-sweet chocolate chips! Unfortunately, I didn't have enough bananas, so I had to halve the recipe...no worries, worked out just great. I did use milk in place of water, had it on hand, so why not? I used all the muffin tins I had available, and decided to use the last little bit of batter to fill my madeleine cookie form pan...saved me a little time and they turned out really cute. Thanks Silent Cricket.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jug O'Mud September 26, 2010

This was good bread. I added a touch of both rum and coconut flavoring.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shabby Sign Shoppe April 01, 2010

Truly comfort food this banana bread! Perfect texture, not too sweet and easy to slice even while warm. I changed the number of servings to 1 loaf. 2 1/2 ripe bananas were enough. Realized too late that I didn't have baking soda in the house, and so decided to use 1 tsp of baking powder instead of 1/4 tsp as recommended for 1 loaf. I wonder why the soda was required in the first place. It was really good without it. I am sure I will make this again. Didn't use nuts or choc chips - my family prefers this plain and simple. Thank you SilentCricket.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy-O October 12, 2009

I'm so glad I decided to go with this banana bread recipe over others. I had made this recipe for the first time for my classmates for the last class of the semester and it was a HUGE hit! I had so many people telling me how good the bread was. The banana bread was on the moist and slightly dense side, which is how Iike my banana bread. I added walnuts. I might add chocolate chips next time. This recipe is one I wills store in my "go-to" box. I plan on making the banana bread in the next week or so and give those to my friends. Thanks for the great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nette22 May 12, 2009

I had cold butter so I dumped it in a large bowl, added the sugar and put in the oven at 170* stirred a couple of times and the mixing was done, then added the other ingredients.I had a huge bowl of mashed bananas that I had sprinkled with lemon juice and covered and put in the refrigerator. I also added a mashed plantain that was too ripe. I found this recipe and I am so glad I did! I made banana bread loafs, large and small muffins. I made individual cakes in flat bottom round custard pans. I crushed walnuts and did not add chocolate chips but added vanilla extract.I had never used water before in the mix, always buttermilk or milk. This recipe is tops on my list now. A real keeper. I will forever use.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song November 23, 2007

I've already made this recipe 3 times in the last 2 weeks... EVERYONE loves it! Thank you :) Today, I'll be bringing these to a Halloween party. I've tried other recipes, and this out ranks all others in my opinion!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teenah October 27, 2007

I followed the recipe exactly. Only omitted chocolate chips. The bread tastes good and it rose pretty well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB October 07, 2007
"The Best" Banana Bread (or Muffins!)