Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The Best Banana Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The Best Banana Bread

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2009

      YUM. So moist, excellent flavor. I may just toss my other banana bread recipe. I love how sweet the crust is. I did the buttermilk trick (lemon juice and lowfat milk), and added pecans instead of chocolate chips; I just like that flavor more. I did make 3 mini loaves, but they were done in about 45 minutes. This banana bread is wonderful. Thank you, Tracy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2003

      This is an EXCELLENT recipe. Delious banana bread. I made it at a friends house. She said her sons would not eat it if I put the chocolate chips in it so I omitted them I did as you suggested and made it into 2 loaves instead of one and you are right!! It was nice and moist. I wasn't sure how it would taste without cinnamon in it and it turned out really good. The taste of the banana really came though. I will definitely make it again and if I make it for myself I will add the chocolate chips. Thanks for a great recipe Tracy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      This is a delicious banana bread recipe. I think I will make two loaves as suggested next time, because one loaf browns too much way before the centre is cooked. Even overbrowned, it tasted great though. Great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      INCREDIBLE! Deliciously moist, wonderful banana flavor. I brought some for my boyfriend's family, and now they absolutely adore me! I cut back on the butter and added 1/4 cup of sour cream, and then topped with cinnamon streusel halfway through the baking process. With the extra batter I also made 6 additional banana bread muffins. In the future, I would recommend lowering the temperature and extending the baking time, but all in all, scrumptious banana bread that will disappear in no time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I made this bread last night for a back to school treat for my daughter, and she loved it!. I made two loaves and they were so moist. I did cut back to only 1 cup of sugar and it did not compromise the taste one bit. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon. Great recipe!!!!! A keeper for sure, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2011

      I've made this recipe SO many times, and get rave reviews each and every time! I have yet to add the chocolate chips...I usually top mine with walnuts :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      I have so many banana bread recipes on file that I forgot to rate this one, and it kept getting lost in the shuffle. I had some buttermilk to use up, and made this recipe. Delicious! This is the one I'll go to from now on! Perhaps it should be re-named, though, because of the chocolate chips. I will admit that I used a mixer and did not make this by hand, but the bread still came out with a beautiful, soft, moist texture and great flavor. I made 4 mini-loaves with this recipe (6x3-inches), and ate one-third of one before I got them all wrapped! I definitely recommend making this in mini-loaves. They baked perfectly in 40 minutes--I placed the pans on a large baking sheet. Do try this recipe! Thanks, Tracy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      This is a wonderful recipe! My family will love this on Thanksgiving. I did a couple of things different because of an old recipe of my mom's. I added 4 huge bananas and used evaporated milk with a tablespoon of vinegar to sour. The bread turned out to a beautiful cracked finish, like my mom's. The vinegar and soda makes the bread rise more and reduces the gas from the bread. Just an old trick. Totally awesome recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Not the best, not the worst. Flavorful, but come out very mooshy, dense, & greasy. I prefer a firmer, sliceable texture. I followed the recipe exactly and made it twice. You could see the grease bubbles boiling in the pan as it cooked. The bottoms came out dark & fried-tasting. The bottom of the mini-pan had a visible layer of oil when I flipped it out of the pan. The batch with chocolate chips definitely tasted better than the batch without. One batch made a loaf pan's worth - the other batch yielded a mini-loaf plus 12 muffins baked in nutcups.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      De-lich! I tripled the recipe and handed out mini loaves as X-Mas gifts at work... where I am now very popular! Ah... but will it last into the new year? :) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2003

      Awesome! i just threw in the entire bag of chocolate chips. makes two loafs. thanks for a great treat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2003

      Delicious!!! This was Bon Appetite!! Everyone loved this moist and tasty bread.The addition of the choc. chips was a different twist for us but,very GOOD!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2014

      OH SO YUMMMY - made with 1/2 Wholemeal, 1/2 White flour, used only 1/2 the sugar (still more than sweet enough) and 4 Bananas. Made the buttermilk as suggested. Baked in 6 mini loaf tins (5.5cm x 10cm) for 30 mins. Love the crispy top & loved by especially my 6 year old son and his friend. Thanks for the Recipe Tracy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      I absolutely love, love , love this recipe. every time I make it , it does not last more than 1 hour in my home. The banana bread is barely cool, sometimes not even, before its gone. Great with the chocolate chips, and also great without.<br/>Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2013

      Very moist, loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2013

      Great banana bread, I just didn't see the note to adjust the time down when making two loaves. So mine were a little brown. Otherwise they would have been really stellar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2012

      What an awesome recipe! Have made it several times and it's never failed! Have omitted the chocolate chips, added nuts - that's about the only thing I change up. Have made muffins, bread and bundt cakes with this - Will sometimes poke it with a fork right out of the oven and pour a powdered sugar/milk glaze over it. Everyone loves it - easy, quick and you can't mess it up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      This is yummy bread! Seems pretty buttery and luscious! I'd love to play around with making it healthier. My poor bread didn't come out of tin very well, but we are more than happy to eat shredded bits! Thanks for sharing! My DH loved it!!! I made it in 2 tins anad I gave it about 55mins, need to grease my tins better... added choco chips and I think I would love it with walnus too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      sadly, not a fan of the texture or flavor of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      I made some changes to make it healthier and they turned out AMAZING! I only used 1/2 cup of margarine and substituted the rest with cinnamon applesauce. I also only used about 1 1/4 cup of sugar (I would have used 1 cup, but my bananas weren't completely black). Instead of eggs, I used Ener-G replacer so they are cholesterol free and vegan. I also used a cupcake pan instead of making a whole loaf and baked them for 30 minutes. That way I can freeze them and pull them out one serving at a time. Overall, they're moist and delicious. Keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The Best Banana Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 528.2
     
    Calories from Fat 200
    37%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.4 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 92.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 563.7 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.2 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 49.6 g
    198%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites