124 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM. So moist, excellent flavor. I may just toss my other banana bread recipe. I love how sweet the crust is. I did the buttermilk trick (lemon juice and lowfat milk), and added pecans instead of chocolate chips; I just like that flavor more. I did make 3 mini loaves, but they were done in about 45 minutes. This banana bread is wonderful. Thank you, Tracy!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ceruleanseven May 27, 2009

This is an EXCELLENT recipe. Delious banana bread. I made it at a friends house. She said her sons would not eat it if I put the chocolate chips in it so I omitted them I did as you suggested and made it into 2 loaves instead of one and you are right!! It was nice and moist. I wasn't sure how it would taste without cinnamon in it and it turned out really good. The taste of the banana really came though. I will definitely make it again and if I make it for myself I will add the chocolate chips. Thanks for a great recipe Tracy

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntWoofieWoof July 13, 2003

This is a delicious banana bread recipe. I think I will make two loaves as suggested next time, because one loaf browns too much way before the centre is cooked. Even overbrowned, it tasted great though. Great.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookinmom76 December 08, 2009

INCREDIBLE! Deliciously moist, wonderful banana flavor. I brought some for my boyfriend's family, and now they absolutely adore me! I cut back on the butter and added 1/4 cup of sour cream, and then topped with cinnamon streusel halfway through the baking process. With the extra batter I also made 6 additional banana bread muffins. In the future, I would recommend lowering the temperature and extending the baking time, but all in all, scrumptious banana bread that will disappear in no time!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shawna Sprinkles April 08, 2009

I made this bread last night for a back to school treat for my daughter, and she loved it!. I made two loaves and they were so moist. I did cut back to only 1 cup of sugar and it did not compromise the taste one bit. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon. Great recipe!!!!! A keeper for sure, thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
What I didn't learn from MOM September 05, 2008

I've made this recipe SO many times, and get rave reviews each and every time! I have yet to add the chocolate chips...I usually top mine with walnuts :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chunx June 14, 2011

I have so many banana bread recipes on file that I forgot to rate this one, and it kept getting lost in the shuffle. I had some buttermilk to use up, and made this recipe. Delicious! This is the one I'll go to from now on! Perhaps it should be re-named, though, because of the chocolate chips. I will admit that I used a mixer and did not make this by hand, but the bread still came out with a beautiful, soft, moist texture and great flavor. I made 4 mini-loaves with this recipe (6x3-inches), and ate one-third of one before I got them all wrapped! I definitely recommend making this in mini-loaves. They baked perfectly in 40 minutes--I placed the pans on a large baking sheet. Do try this recipe! Thanks, Tracy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graciebonica May 16, 2010

This is a wonderful recipe! My family will love this on Thanksgiving. I did a couple of things different because of an old recipe of my mom's. I added 4 huge bananas and used evaporated milk with a tablespoon of vinegar to sour. The bread turned out to a beautiful cracked finish, like my mom's. The vinegar and soda makes the bread rise more and reduces the gas from the bread. Just an old trick. Totally awesome recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jesus7777j November 24, 2009

Not the best, not the worst. Flavorful, but come out very mooshy, dense, & greasy. I prefer a firmer, sliceable texture. I followed the recipe exactly and made it twice. You could see the grease bubbles boiling in the pan as it cooked. The bottoms came out dark & fried-tasting. The bottom of the mini-pan had a visible layer of oil when I flipped it out of the pan. The batch with chocolate chips definitely tasted better than the batch without. One batch made a loaf pan's worth - the other batch yielded a mini-loaf plus 12 muffins baked in nutcups.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MEPeralto December 14, 2008

De-lich! I tripled the recipe and handed out mini loaves as X-Mas gifts at work... where I am now very popular! Ah... but will it last into the new year? :) Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pawness November 28, 2003
The Best Banana Bread