Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The BEST Baked Potato Soup Ever! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The BEST Baked Potato Soup Ever!

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2009

      I did make a few changed. However this came out scrumptious. I used an envelope package of instant potatoes (four cheese), 8oz sour cream, and 1 1/2 cups heavy cream. I also just threw the bacon in the soup since everyone here likes it. I'm not an onion lover at all and I was skeptical about the onion in it, but the flavors all blended very well. I will mention that before adding the extra cream and sour cream the soup was a bit salty. Will be making again. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      Looks exactly like the copycat recipe for Tony Roma's soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

      Absolutely Amazing! I used fat free half and half and light butter, and I cannot tell the difference. Great taste and easy to make. My five year old daughter help make it and she suggested less pepper next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      My 8 year old daughter made this tonight with my help. Perfect! She was very proud. This will be our Potato Soup recipe from now on. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Awesome!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      this is delicious will be making it often

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2008

      I made this for our small group last night and it was wonderful. Perfect for a cold night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      A very delicious, comforting soup! It's snowing like mad here and I wanted to make something hot, but easy. This surely fit the bill! The only changes I made were to add 1/4 cup more potato flakes (since I didn't have cornstarch on hand), omitted one cup of the water, and just dumped a cup of shredded cheddar cheese in the whole pot, since I knew we all wanted cheese anyway :D. I did everything else as written and it came out wonderfully! I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      This soup was AWESOME!! If I could give it more than 5 stars I would! The only changes I made were: Cut onion down to 1/2 cup, and cut the water down to 1 cup. I used 5 cups of chicken broth, and I added 1 1/2 cups of heavy cream. I also added 1/2 tsp of minced garlic. Because my dh doesn't like them I didn't use the basil or thyme, I substituted season salt. My dh requested next time I make it, I add some ham, so I will do that, but WOW this is a great basic recipe that you can tailor to your specific tastes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      This was awesome. Great comfort food. I used 3 medium potatoes. This came out yummy. I will be adding this to my meal plans for sure. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      I agree, this IS the BEST baked potato soup ever!! I made it for a Relief Society social, and got tons of compliments. This soup is super easy to make, and the flavor really reminds me of Tony Romas baked potato soup. I like to serve this soup with cornbread muffins...perfect for a chilly Autmn evening!! This recipe has permanent place on our menu!! Thanks so much for submitting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I made this soup as written and all I can say is AMAZING! My family devoured it and asked how soon we'd be having it again! I served this with cornbread and honey butter. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      The name of this recipe says it all! My 18 month old girl absolutely loved this soup!!! She had seconds! So tasty and comforting! Thank you so much for posting. It reminded me of a soup I had at a restaurant just recently - Granite City.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      This Soup is AWESOME! The only problem is I like is exactly the way it is with one exception(the onions because I cannot eat them) and hubby likes it kind of bland.. I have to make it with half the spices.. This is so easy to make.. The biggest pain is peeling the potato's.. though I do always forget to get half n half or whipping cream.. and milk works just as well.. THANKS

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2006

      This is by far the best potato soup I've ever had. It's rich and creamy with tons of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2006

      Excellent potato soup! It has a nice creamy texture without being too heavy. I added some garlic and increased the salt and pepper but otherwise made no changes. It was excellent topped with shredded marble cheese, bacon, green onions, and a touch of sour cream. I will definitely be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      We love this recipe and make it at least once or twice a month during the winter. We have added ground sausage, diced ham, creamed corn and the shredded cheese to the soup. Its a wonderful basic potato soup recipe and we are so glad we found it. Thank you Jeanette for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      This potato soup was delicious. It was very easy to make and I will definitely make this again. My teenage daughter loves potato soup and gave this recipe a "thumbs-up." My husband also enjoyed it. I used fat-free half-&-half. The next time I make it, I may use a little less pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2004

      This soup brings on rave reviews and many requests for the recipe. It is very much like my traditional old fashioned potato soup. The addition of the instant mashed potatoes and the herbs make for a wonderfully flavorful soup. Makes a great family meal and special enough for company. I have made it using the butter in the roux and with the bacon drippings..loved both! The half and half makes for an excellent soup but for an absolute taste treat go for the heavy cream. This recipe is a real winner,thanks for sharing Gerry 999

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2004

      This soup was good. I did have a problem with the instant mashed potatoes maybe because I used potato pearls/buds instead of the flake kind and they didn't dissolve very well in the liquid which was quite thick...I think that using bacon grease instead of butter for the roux would also be an improvement.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The BEST Baked Potato Soup Ever!

    Serving Size: 1 (420 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 603.4
     
    Calories from Fat 352
    58%
    Total Fat 39.1 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 23.3 g
    116%
    Cholesterol 124.8 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1661.4 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes