44 Reviews

All I can say is OMG!! This is the most awesome soup I have ever eaten. I did fry some bacon and use the grease in my roux. I didnt have any thyme, but I did add 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder. I will definately make this again. Thanks Jeanette!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TammyLouise February 21, 2010

DELICIOUS! I had Baked Potato Soup recently at lunch and when I came home I headed straight to 'Zaar to find a way to make it at home. I decided on this recipe. The only additions I made to it where I added a tub (I belive it was 12 ounces) of sour cream and I also added a cup of cheddar cheese to the soup (in addition to what you serve on top -- I like a really cheesey baked potato!). Instead of topping the soup with the bacon I just threw it in the pot as well after I fried it up (I drained the bacon greese). It was fantastic. Just like a baked potato and my 13 month old would cry if I did not share with her. Can't wait to make this for my Mom who HATES potato soup! Thanks for sharing! EDIT: Made it for Mom and she LOVED it!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristin February 25, 2009

I made this soup as written with the exception of the thyme. All I had was a blend that had some thyme, rosemary and sage and I only used 2 Tbs.of the cornstarch. OMG it was so good, all of my guest raved about it! I should have made a bigger batch, lol I do wonder if the cornstarch is really needed though. I think if it simmers long enough and you get the ratio of baked potato right it should thicken up all by itself. I think I'll try it next time without and post and update. I still give it 5 stars for taste. It really is the best I've ever tasted! Thanks for sharing! It's going in my recipe file box!<br/><br/>UPDATE: I made again by request of family and left out cornstarch. In my opinion better without it. It's thick enough without it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
emaildanaturner August 11, 2014

Perfect soup for a cold winter night. Made exactly as written. I baked my potatoes so they would have more flavor than microwaved. DH made bakewell biscuits to go with---yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynda Of Virginia January 05, 2014

This was a no brainer. , The taste was fantastically wonderful. It was thick and I thinned it with milk. You could also thin it with chicken broth. I left the baked potato a little chuny I can not think of anything that would improve this recipe. Any good restaurant would be proud to serve this soup, Thanks for a easy and great tasting recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bill mayes May 04, 2013

Okay I am about to either disgust you or excite your inner gastronome! I came across this recipe as I searched for a potato soup recipe to use up left overs - namely heavy whipping cream. However I also wanted to use up my crab rangoon filling from Crab Rangoon (which is essentially crab meat and cream cheese) So here is how I tweaked it. I cheated and boiled potatoes for lack of time. I boiled them in chicken broth but saved the broth after boiling and rinsing the potatoes. To this starchy broth I added more to get the needed 4 cups. This allowed me to skip the corn starch per the recipe. I also added four cheese instant mashed potatoes per a review to add the cheese flavor. Finally I added 1 1/2 c whipping cream as I wanted to use all I had remaining. Very good recipe and the crab gave it a little bit of a chowder flavor perfect for my cold new years eve!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy in Kansas December 31, 2010

I loved this recipe. I used the bacon grease and added 1/2 tsp minced garlic to the minced onion, from four strips of minced bacon I cooked to add at the end, for my roux. Also we have a small snow storm going on so I had to use what I have on hand. Being out of fresh potatoes to bake, I cut up one can of small potatoes I had in my pantry. Since our family likes bold flavours I also added 2 chicken boullion cubes I dissolved in the 1 1/2 cups water (instead of two). My daughter is a "potato soup expert" (according to all of our family) and she loved it! Thank you so much for your post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momma of 24 January 28, 2014

This was very tasty, easy and all the ingredients were in my pantry. This will be a regular soup for us for fall and winter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sophia & Maya's Mom October 19, 2012

While searching for good,basic starter recipes for my daughter , found this and it sounded so good and easy. Since we already had left-over baked potatoes, didn't take much encouragement, and boy am I glad I tried it. Only change is to kick up the servings significantly, or somebody might miss out on thirds, or fourths! Thanks to the chef for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rodney h. October 13, 2012

Great cream of potato soup! I had a large leftover baked potato. Just the right size. I used Sysco chicken base for the broth and I had thyme leaves, basil and dried parsley flakes.
I used grated carrot and slivers of sweet orange and yellow peppers for garnish. I needed to stay away from bacon and cheese for awhile. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Montana Heart Song June 02, 2012
The BEST Baked Potato Soup Ever!