Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / The BEST Baked Potato Soup Ever! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    The BEST Baked Potato Soup Ever!

    Average Rating:

    44 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 44

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2010

      All I can say is OMG!! This is the most awesome soup I have ever eaten. I did fry some bacon and use the grease in my roux. I didnt have any thyme, but I did add 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder. I will definately make this again. Thanks Jeanette!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      DELICIOUS! I had Baked Potato Soup recently at lunch and when I came home I headed straight to 'Zaar to find a way to make it at home. I decided on this recipe. The only additions I made to it where I added a tub (I belive it was 12 ounces) of sour cream and I also added a cup of cheddar cheese to the soup (in addition to what you serve on top -- I like a really cheesey baked potato!). Instead of topping the soup with the bacon I just threw it in the pot as well after I fried it up (I drained the bacon greese). It was fantastic. Just like a baked potato and my 13 month old would cry if I did not share with her. Can't wait to make this for my Mom who HATES potato soup! Thanks for sharing! EDIT: Made it for Mom and she LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2014

      Perfect soup for a cold winter night. Made exactly as written. I baked my potatoes so they would have more flavor than microwaved. DH made bakewell biscuits to go with---yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      I made this soup as written with the exception of the thyme. All I had was a blend that had some thyme, rosemary and sage and I only used 2 Tbs.of the cornstarch. OMG it was so good, all of my guest raved about it! I should have made a bigger batch, lol I do wonder if the cornstarch is really needed though. I think if it simmers long enough and you get the ratio of baked potato right it should thicken up all by itself. I think I'll try it next time without and post and update. I still give it 5 stars for taste. It really is the best I've ever tasted! Thanks for sharing! It's going in my recipe file box!<br/><br/>UPDATE: I made again by request of family and left out cornstarch. In my opinion better without it. It's thick enough without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      I loved this recipe. I used the bacon grease and added 1/2 tsp minced garlic to the minced onion, from four strips of minced bacon I cooked to add at the end, for my roux. Also we have a small snow storm going on so I had to use what I have on hand. Being out of fresh potatoes to bake, I cut up one can of small potatoes I had in my pantry. Since our family likes bold flavours I also added 2 chicken boullion cubes I dissolved in the 1 1/2 cups water (instead of two). My daughter is a "potato soup expert" (according to all of our family) and she loved it! Thank you so much for your post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2013

      This was a no brainer. , The taste was fantastically wonderful. It was thick and I thinned it with milk. You could also thin it with chicken broth. I left the baked potato a little chuny I can not think of anything that would improve this recipe. Any good restaurant would be proud to serve this soup, Thanks for a easy and great tasting recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      This was very tasty, easy and all the ingredients were in my pantry. This will be a regular soup for us for fall and winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      While searching for good,basic starter recipes for my daughter , found this and it sounded so good and easy. Since we already had left-over baked potatoes, didn't take much encouragement, and boy am I glad I tried it. Only change is to kick up the servings significantly, or somebody might miss out on thirds, or fourths! Thanks to the chef for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2012

      Great cream of potato soup! I had a large leftover baked potato. Just the right size. I used Sysco chicken base for the broth and I had thyme leaves, basil and dried parsley flakes.
      I used grated carrot and slivers of sweet orange and yellow peppers for garnish. I needed to stay away from bacon and cheese for awhile. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      Yummy! I did tweak it a bit - and I think I simplified it. First off, you can eliminate both the cornstarch AND the instant potatoes if you boil the potatoes first, save the water. Then fry the onions and add 2 cups of the starchy potato water and the broth. After you add back the potatoes, and add the cream, puree with an immersion blender (indispensable!) - you can control the smoothness of the soup. Finally, just before serving, stir in some shredded cheddar cheese into each bowl and top with the bacon and chives. IDK, didn't really care for the thyme in it. Next time I just might try a little garlic or a dash of nutmeg - or maybe both.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2012

      Good but I thought it needed more flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2012

    • on February 06, 2012

      Great Soup! I beleive I've cooked "Baked Potato Soup" once before, but this was the best. This soup tasted about as good as Cheddars. Leaving out 1/2 to a 1/4 of the heavy whipping cream would be fine! I doubled the recipe and only added 1/2 of the suggested amount as the recipe called for. YUMMY! I also did what one other person did; I added the bacon, green onions and the cheese into the soup. It was great! Will make it again and still cut downin the fat though . . . and oh . . . I forgot I added seasoned salt and of course real garlic. ENJOY Y'ALL PEOPLE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Okay I am about to either disgust you or excite your inner gastronome! I came across this recipe as I searched for a potato soup recipe to use up left overs - namely heavy whipping cream. However I also wanted to use up my crab rangoon filling from Crab Rangoon (which is essentially crab meat and cream cheese) So here is how I tweaked it. I cheated and boiled potatoes for lack of time. I boiled them in chicken broth but saved the broth after boiling and rinsing the potatoes. To this starchy broth I added more to get the needed 4 cups. This allowed me to skip the corn starch per the recipe. I also added four cheese instant mashed potatoes per a review to add the cheese flavor. Finally I added 1 1/2 c whipping cream as I wanted to use all I had remaining. Very good recipe and the crab gave it a little bit of a chowder flavor perfect for my cold new years eve!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      Very good soup! And easy too! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

      I made this with a few changes. I used chicken-style vegetable broth and Silk soy creamer in place of the cream (WAY less calories and fat). It was delicious! I sprinkled some cheese on top along with some bac'n pieces, so delicious. I wouldn't recommend skipping the toppings, the soup is 100 times better with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      This is one RICH soup... however, it could have part to do with some things I left out. I made as laid out except for the fact that I forgot about the water, and I only added in half of the heavy whipping cream (taking down the fat content), and completely left out the salt (we have enough salt in our diet). I did double this, and it doubled well. In the begining I was a little bit worried as I had lumps in it everywhere, but, after I let it simmer, the lumps were gone, and I was in heaven! Thank you so much! Next time I might add a little garlic to it as well. And maybe a pinch more basil. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Excellent recipe!!! I cut the butter in half and used half and half to try to lighten it up a little and it was delicious. The hubby had two bowls and raved. So easy to make and so tasty...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Wonderfully creamy soup. I love the addition of the instant mashed potatoes and the fact that the cheddar cheese and bacon bits are sprinkled on top. Quick and easy to do. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      Thanks. This was good! I'm still searching for the best potato soup, but it's definitely worth the effort. I did not use cornstarch as I hate the stuff and refuse to use it! I didn't miss it one bit as the instant mashed potatoes added plenty of thickness. I would make it again as it is quick and easy, and it has good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for The BEST Baked Potato Soup Ever!

    Serving Size: 1 (420 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 603.4
     
    Calories from Fat 352
    58%
    Total Fat 39.1 g
    60%
    Saturated Fat 23.3 g
    116%
    Cholesterol 124.8 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1661.4 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.2 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 16.0 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites